Notices
Like Tree19Likes

Better spot lock. Rhodan vs new minn-kota

Old 03-02-2019, 05:59 AM
  #41  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: pasedena , MD
Posts: 872
Default

I have an xi5 and it can hold the stern of my boat 2' off pilings at the Chesapeake Bay bridge tunnel in .stiff current. Couldn't be happier after a few years
cast n' blast is offline  
Old 03-02-2019, 08:26 AM
  #42  
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 34
Default

Originally Posted by cast n' blast View Post
I have an xi5 and it can hold the stern of my boat 2' off pilings at the Chesapeake Bay bridge tunnel in .stiff current. Couldn't be happier after a few years
i have been really toying the idea for one to tog/sheepshead fish the pylons at the bridge tunnel.
Nclaytor is offline  
Old 03-03-2019, 08:03 AM
  #43  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 141
Default

I have a Rhodan, and was under a causeway and it must have lost gps signal, it went crazy started going in circles, wide open.. And it self deployed once, at speed.. Anyone else have that experience?

Otherwise the spot lock works dead on..
sweeper is offline  
Old 03-03-2019, 12:57 PM
  #44  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Annapolis MD
Posts: 848
Default

I have a new Ulterra and it works as advertised. I'll get a video next to a stationary object once my boat is rebuilt. Here is a video from last May, holding a 23 regulator and my 25 C hawk, connected together in a 12-15 knot wind.

NickBOE is offline  
Old 03-03-2019, 01:28 PM
  #45  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: marmora nj
Posts: 5,394
Default

got a 28ft southport and would love to have the rhodan with I believe the 84 inch shaft what is a good price for one and what are you guys paying for the install . gotta quote up here in s. jersey for 8k . sounds A little high . please give me some ideas on cost and thank you in advance pm me or Richard.f.schad@ampf.com
finman is offline  
Old 03-03-2019, 01:33 PM
  #46  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 187
Default

Originally Posted by sweeper View Post
I have a Rhodan, and was under a causeway and it must have lost gps signal, it went crazy started going in circles, wide open.. And it self deployed once, at speed.. Anyone else have that experience?

Otherwise the spot lock works dead on..
All the trolling motors discussed in this thread operate on a gps positioning system. The unit must have clear line of sight to the satellites orbiting the earth in order to hold position. Your problem arose because of the causeway obstructing the line of sight. I've had similar trouble when fishing near oil rigs at certain times of day (presumably due to the location in the sky of the satellites the trolling motor was attempting to communicate with)
ldifulco3 is offline  
Old 03-03-2019, 02:09 PM
  #47  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 141
Default

Originally Posted by ldifulco3 View Post
All the trolling motors discussed in this thread operate on a gps positioning system. The unit must have clear line of sight to the satellites orbiting the earth in order to hold position. Your problem arose because of the causeway obstructing the line of sight. I've had similar trouble when fishing near oil rigs at certain times of day (presumably due to the location in the sky of the satellites the trolling motor was attempting to communicate with)
Yes exactly! I was within close quarters to the abutments and it scared the crap outta me
sweeper is offline  
Old 03-03-2019, 02:15 PM
  #48  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,382
Default

Originally Posted by NickBOE View Post
I have a new Ulterra and it works as advertised. I'll get a video next to a stationary object once my boat is rebuilt. Here is a video from last May, holding a 23 regulator and my 25 C hawk, connected together in a 12-15 knot wind.
That is pretty damned impressive!
NickBOE likes this.
hjorgan is offline  
Old 03-03-2019, 02:55 PM
  #49  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Carolinas
Posts: 106
Default

Originally Posted by HuntersDad View Post
Rhodan on a Calcutta cat. love it. owned it for 3 years and would never change to another brand. spot lock works as advertised.
Being a cat probably has a lot to do with the success also, as they are very stable horizontally for sure, like a sled.
Capt Grady 23 Gulfstream is offline  
Old 03-04-2019, 06:08 AM
  #50  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: CMCH NJ
Posts: 2,388
Default

Originally Posted by NickBOE View Post
I have a new Ulterra and it works as advertised. I'll get a video next to a stationary object once my boat is rebuilt. Here is a video from last May, holding a 23 regulator and my 25 C hawk, connected together in a 12-15 knot wind.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2tk389yFvOA
What model did you get? I have a 23 Key west not high off water that the 72" might work
Spooled is offline  
Old 03-04-2019, 12:39 PM
  #51  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1,361
Default

Originally Posted by hjorgan View Post
Question about Rhodan..... I have fished on a Minn Kota boat. The spot lock was great BUT if you hit anchor,, it drifts for 15 to 20 feet then hauls ass back to the anchor spot at max speed! So if you are fishing a shallow flat for spooky fish, this can (and has) shut down the bite. Does Rhodan have an "ease back to the spot" option or does it do an aggressive dash for the anchor coordinates?

This is either the original i-Pilot or the Gen 1 Ulterra. Gen 2 doesn't do that.
FishLife is offline  
Old 03-04-2019, 01:49 PM
  #52  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: St. Petersburg
Posts: 19
Default

Have you tried adjusting your boat scale on the Minn Kota remote?
LongyzBetter is offline  
Old 03-04-2019, 03:51 PM
  #53  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 144
Default

Originally Posted by finman View Post
got a 28ft southport and would love to have the rhodan with I believe the 84 inch shaft what is a good price for one and what are you guys paying for the install . gotta quote up here in s. jersey for 8k . sounds A little high . please give me some ideas on cost and thank you in advance pm me or Richard.f.schad@ampf.com
That price seems very high. Rhodan, 3 agm group 31's and 3 bank charger around $4500.00 it's not that hard to mount and wire. I would think install $1500 tops.
Animal1 is offline  
Old 03-12-2019, 04:47 PM
  #54  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Annapolis MD
Posts: 848
Default

Originally Posted by Spooled View Post
What model did you get? I have a 23 Key west not high off water that the 72" might work
I got the 72". What is your measurement to the waterline?
NickBOE is offline  
Old 03-12-2019, 05:11 PM
  #55  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Annapolis MD
Posts: 848
Default

Originally Posted by Spooled View Post
What model did you get? I have a 23 Key west not high off water that the 72" might work
I got the 72". What is your measurement to the waterline?
NickBOE is offline  
Old 03-13-2019, 05:46 PM
  #56  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Florida
Posts: 172
Default

I have the 84" Rhodan, I have used it for about a month now. It is great to hold in 1'-2' seas, does a good job auto piloting between close spots, micro adjusts on ledges and objects. Has held me fast in vaca cut during full tide, no problem under 7 mile. Is challenged by super choppy/high wind (20+) gulf situations because even though the waves are not high, the chop makes the boat buck and the bow rises the motor out of the water. This is more due to the stern heavy boat I have than the motor. Battery life has been remarkable. I would not know about the other makes because this is the only one I have owned. Rhodan is a great small company that has been helpful. I know that I would never buy anything from Johnson Outdoor Products so minn kota was out of the question for me.
FOODCHAIN is offline  
Old 03-14-2019, 05:05 AM
  #57  
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 94
Default

I have had my Rhodan for a few months now on my 27 ft cat and love it ! Used it up off Long Island in the fall and currently on the west coast Florida. Holds the boat within a few feet and the 5ft jockey button is great. The customer service at Rhodan is top knotch!
fallrun is offline  
Old 03-15-2019, 04:30 AM
  #58  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location:
Posts: 482
Default

Re MK spot lock: had Version 1 for 7 years. Better than a sharp stick in the eye, but 'spot lock' only if your spot was like 15 ft circle. Installed Version 2 (with the puck) and it is way better at holding on a spot. Way better. I have not used the Rhodan so no real world experience to comment with.
JohninFla is offline  
Old 03-15-2019, 04:42 AM
  #59  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: St Petersburg, FL
Posts: 592
Default

Originally Posted by Pipeliner345 View Post
awesome. Could you please make a video of the spot lock in action near a stationary object for reference. Im looking for real world examples ........and not advertisements. Although i can't bash my minn-kota, been a great motor, i'm extremely put out with them over their claims of a 5' circle with spot lock when they came out. I have the older version. It's more like 15 to 20' ft circle. Nowhere near the claim so i do not trust manufacturers advertising. I know none of them are going to be spot on but at the prices i want the best spot lock out there. I need it with garmins livescope.
I was an early adopter with the Minn Kota ipilot, I never saw them say 5’ circle for the original version. It worked as advertised, 15-20’. I don’t remember them ever advertising 5’.

I upgraded to the new spot lock version and it is dead on, the jog feature is sweet. I have never had a Rhodan, so I can’t compare to that. I know Rhodan is doing great and seem to have a wait for their motors, I think the only big advantage they offer is the 84” shaft.
FishLife likes this.

Last edited by scrapper01; 03-15-2019 at 04:58 AM.
scrapper01 is offline  
Old 03-16-2019, 08:51 AM
  #60  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 620
Default

Originally Posted by Flatout71 View Post
The spot lock v 2.0 is what the new Ulterras have now. It is spot on and does great. Version prior was not impressive, I am guessing a lot of comments above are based on the old version. Yes...I have had both.
Just upgraded my 2015 riptide to the latest ulterra. Will let you know later on today when I take it for a spin. The riptide kept you within 50 ft of your spot in any random heading...
pablor is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread