Notices
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Draggin Fly

How much braid to peel off a full spool

Reply

Old 01-13-2018, 04:20 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Kent Island, MD
Posts: 346
Default How much braid to peel off a full spool

I just picked up a couple of reels from another tht member. They came completely full of braid. I want to peel off enough braid to allow for a couple hundred yards of mono. Is there a way to remove just the right amount? I'm not even sure how much to remove to begin with, but would rather avoid peeling off not enough, tying on mono, filling mono to learn its only half of what I want, pulling off mono, pulling off more braid only to do it again.

I'm thinking that I could put the braid on another spinning reel that I have because it is empty which could give me an idea of what I pulled off. I need to put braid on that anyway. Is there a better, more calculated approach to this?

Does the reel spool typically have lines that mark different capacities? They are Tld50's if that helps.

Thanks
diad is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2018, 04:49 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Fort Pierce
Posts: 238
Default

TLD50s wont have any marks on the spool. You will want a line counter if you're trying to be precise to the yard on your top shots. 50s gather about 38 inches per crank on a full spool.
mr.redfish79 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2018, 07:48 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 11,095
Default

It also depends what size mono you're using... I think it will be kind of tricky unless someone has actually measured the depth of the braid before putting the mono on or if you know how much braid they have on them. You'd have to check with somebody that spools lots of reels to know how much braid more or less to take off.
VanW is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2018, 08:17 AM
  #4  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Pensacola
Posts: 25
Default

Originally Posted by diad View Post
I just picked up a couple of reels from another tht member. They came completely full of braid. I want to peel off enough braid to allow for a couple hundred yards of mono. Is there a way to remove just the right amount? I'm not even sure how much to remove to begin with, but would rather avoid peeling off not enough, tying on mono, filling mono to learn its only half of what I want, pulling off mono, pulling off more braid only to do it again.

I'm thinking that I could put the braid on another spinning reel that I have because it is empty which could give me an idea of what I pulled off. I need to put braid on that anyway. Is there a better, more calculated approach to this?

Does the reel spool typically have lines that mark different capacities? They are Tld50's if that helps.

Thanks
as is done with a fly reel??there must be a better way, but, this would work

Remove all braid from both reels.
Place 200 yards of selected mono on an empty reel(1st).
Connect braid to mono, and spool over(on top of) mono to desired capacity.
Connect braid to second reel, and re-spool braid and selected mono.
__________________
Scott1115 likes this.
Draggin Fly is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2018, 08:54 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 413
Default

Originally Posted by Draggin Fly View Post
as is done with a fly reel??there must be a better way, but, this would work

Remove all braid from both reels.
Place 200 yards of selected mono on an empty reel(1st).
Connect braid to mono, and spool over(on top of) mono to desired capacity.
Connect braid to second reel, and re-spool braid and selected mono.
__________________
This works
You need an identical reel (or one with identical capacity)
tvguy243 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2018, 01:40 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Alabama
Posts: 169
Default

Originally Posted by Draggin Fly View Post
as is done with a fly reel??there must be a better way, but, this would work

Remove all braid from both reels.
Place 200 yards of selected mono on an empty reel(1st).
Connect braid to mono, and spool over(on top of) mono to desired capacity.
Connect braid to second reel, and re-spool braid and selected mono.
__________________
Record how much of each line, then you will know in the future.
Beehaw is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2018, 02:46 PM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Kent Island, MD
Posts: 346
Default

What about this?
Assuming the braid diameter is .50mm 80lb. Not sure it the braid is 80lb or 65lb. What if I strip off 400 yards and then add back ~200 yards of 90mm mono at .80mm on top? I can pick up a line counter to accurately measure it.
Does anyone see an issue with this other than the mono will not be exactly 200yards?
Thanks
diad is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2018, 02:58 PM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 2,491
Default

Originally Posted by diad View Post
What about this?
Assuming the braid diameter is .50mm 80lb. Not sure it the braid is 80lb or 65lb. What if I strip off 400 yards and then add back ~200 yards of 90mm mono at .80mm on top? I can pick up a line counter to accurately measure it.
Does anyone see an issue with this other than the mono will not be exactly 200yards?
Thanks
Don’t overthink it. Just pull off around what you need in braid use a cheapo line counter like Berkeley. do the conversion see how much mono you need...add mono

Make a mark on the reel with a Sharpie where braid should end.
sammythetuna is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2018, 05:51 PM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Folly Beach, SC
Posts: 245
Default

There are top shot calculators online you can find with google search
Water Bound is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2018, 06:01 AM
  #10  
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 82
Default

A clip on line counter..Shakespeare?..would work, i believe. You could easily check it's accuracy with a rule.
fiveeyes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2018, 05:26 AM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Sienna Plantation, TX.
Posts: 1,514
Default

Originally Posted by diad View Post
I just picked up a couple of reels from another tht member. They came completely full of braid.
My first rule is strip ANY and ALL line from a pre-owned reel. Call me a cynic, but I trust no one. Any pre-owned reel that I buy gets completely stripped, broken down, cleaned, lubed, and re-spooled with NEW line.
popeyeiii is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2018, 07:55 AM
  #12  
THT SponsorCaptains Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Harrington Park, NJ USA
Posts: 416
Default

Take the reels to a tackle shop; there's a very good one about 15 minutes drive from you. Island Tackle Outfitters in Chester. Ask for Dave Tolbert.
Basil is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2018, 09:52 AM
  #13  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Kent Island, MD
Posts: 346
Default

Lol Basil! I am in island tackle every few weeks or so. I do plan to let them help me.

I did use a few hundred yards of the 80lb braid for some BG6500's that I got. Topped them with 30lb mono.

Thanks everyone
diad is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: