Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > SportFishing and Charters Forum
Reload this Page >

RPM control gage for maintaining correct rpm while trolling...

Notices

RPM control gage for maintaining correct rpm while trolling...

Old 07-06-2014, 07:12 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4
Default RPM control gage for maintaining correct rpm while trolling...

Is there a product I can buy that will allow me to keep the rpm I select on my control lever for my 150 E-Tec? The control lever doesn`t stay locked in and I keep losing rpms while trolling and it is impossible to select the correct rpms with the imprecise control lever. Trolling for salmon/steelhead in lake Michigan.
Fishfakir is offline  
Old 07-06-2014, 11:18 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 385
Default

Isn't there usually a screw you can tighten on the handle that will allow you to raise and lower the tension it takes to add or remove throttle? My last few boats have had it. You can tighten it a bit and the throttle will stay in position that it is placed in better without moving.
Danyelfell is offline  
Old 07-06-2014, 02:32 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Chesapeake, Va
Posts: 1,717
Default

Replace the throttle cable.
capt.holiday is offline  
Old 07-07-2014, 07:17 AM
  #4  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4
Default

I thought there was a gage with a dial that you could just turn to the rpms you want and it would maintain that speed. The throttle cables are new as is the engine. I will try the screw tightening thing first. Thanks for the replies.
Fishfakir is offline  
Old 07-07-2014, 10:00 AM
  #5  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4
Default

OK ….tried the screw deal but couldn`t find one to tighten. Everything is internal.
Fishfakir is offline  
Old 07-07-2014, 02:25 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: NE Alababa
Posts: 400
Default

Sounds like you're looking for Auto Pilot. Several companies make it. Never used it. But that's one of it's many functions, as far as I know.
x2mosg is offline  
Old 07-07-2014, 03:13 PM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Prairieville, LA
Posts: 518
Default

A/P only steers the boat, I can use troll control on my verados, but only cause they are fly by wire and have a vessel view.
Standard throttle cable, I think you are out of luck without spending a pile of $$.
Geauxkart is offline  
Old 07-07-2014, 03:14 PM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 880
Default

You are looking for a troll mode feature which I believe is only available if you have electronic controls.
captwill_80 is offline  
Old 07-08-2014, 05:39 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Chesapeake, Va
Posts: 1,717
Default

What about a gps?

Rpms mean little it relation to speed over ground. Going against the current, down sea, even waves will change your speed. A gps will allow you to find and maintain it.
capt.holiday is offline  
Old 07-09-2014, 05:07 AM
  #10  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4
Default

Originally Posted by capt.holiday View Post
What about a gps?

Rpms mean little in relation to speed over ground. Going against the current, down sea, even waves will change your speed. A gps will allow you to find and maintain it.
I understand what you are saying capt.holiday but there is so much slop in the system that when I need to change rpms to maintain correct lure speed it is almost impossible to get the rpms right again because the shift lever arm requires so much movement forward or backwards to get a response. I am beginning to see the need for a new product that is electronically connected to a Sub Troll-like device that will detect a change in lure speed and either speed up or slow down the rpms to keep the speed where it needs to be in order to get correct lure action.
Fishfakir is offline  
Old 07-09-2014, 08:14 AM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Quepos Costa Rica
Posts: 3,724
Default

I think you should replace the handle. Maybe take it apart and find the plastic bushing that is used for friction, and see if you can modify it to make it tighter. It's a shame, because here there are lots of people that work on lathes, that's a more common thing, and when my levers loose their tightness, we make new nylon bushings so they tighten up, and there isn't any more throttle walk.

I don't remember many lathes in the US though, maybe you could find a machine shop to do the job, but they are soo high there it might be cheaper to buy the new control handle. It's worth taking it apart though, maybe there is something that squeezes down on the nylon bushing that can be tightened, never hurts to look...
SailFishQuepos is offline  
Old 07-09-2014, 08:57 PM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 385
Default

You got to pop the cover off. They all have a tension screw. Or atleast everyone I have had that was cable.
Danyelfell is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread