Notices

Wind-on Loops?

Reply

Old 05-05-2005, 09:11 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member

Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Wanchese, NC
Posts: 10,387
Default Wind-on Loops?

How big do you make your windon loops? Trying my hand at making wind ons. I made up two last night and the are very easy to make. My end loop is around 2" is this about right. Just big enough to change out with a med skirted bait easily. Thanks Mark
offshore3144 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2005, 10:16 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Southern California
Posts: 401
Default RE: Wind-on Loops?

Mark, I may not be following you correctly, but my wind on leaders being with a loop-to-loop connection to top shot, the opposite end of the wind on I end with a ball bearing swivel, and snap. The BBSnapSwivel is what I attach my leader leadered lures/spreader bars to. This is going to help reduce or eliminate twisting of the line particularly with fish like tuna who are doing the circle thing during the last of their fight. Good Luck with this season
Fish Magician is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2005, 10:22 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member

Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Wanchese, NC
Posts: 10,387
Default Re: Wind-on Loops?

Capt. Mike Fisher ,
Thanks for the Info. I understand what you are saying.Do you use a short bimini on your topshot for the loop ? How big are the loops on your wind-ons at the loop to loop connection. Thanks again Mark
offshore3144 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2005, 08:37 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Southern California
Posts: 401
Default Re: Wind-on Loops?

To join my wind on leaders to the braided line, I use a bimini in both the mono and the braid I make the loops about 10-12" long in both, that way a spool of Jinkai will pass through the loop. I want enough loop so I can work with it quickly, especially if I have to change one in a hurry. Just take your time and make sure they center up with each other...I pass the spool through about three times to strengthen the connections.
Fish Magician is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2005, 09:52 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member

Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Wanchese, NC
Posts: 10,387
Default Re: Wind-on Loops?

Capt. Mike Fisher Thanks! Tight Lines Mark
offshore3144 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: