The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

Go Back   >
Search


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-11-2009, 08:06 PM   #1
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location:
Posts: 840
Default splicing dacron to spectra

I have a couple of 80 wides with about 400 yards of good dacron on them. Would like to add hollow core and then a top shot of mono. Is it easy to splice dacron to hollow core? Any suggestions on the best way to do it? Thanks in advance.
Hepatitis Sea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 09:27 PM   #2
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member

 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Wanchese, NC
Posts: 10,037
Default Re: splicing dacron to spectra

Splice a loop in the dacron then slice a loop in the spectra then do a Double Cats-paw ( Double Loop to Loop) Mark
Single loop to loop on the top and a double loop to loop on the bottom.
offshore3144 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 12:25 AM   #3
Senior Member

 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quebec, Canada and Pirates Cove, OBX, NC
Posts: 20,170
Default Re: splicing dacron to spectra

Quote:
offshore3144 - 1/11/2009 11:27 PM Splice a loop in the dacron then slice a loop in the spectra then do a Double Cats-paw ( Double Loop to Loop) Mark Single loop to loop on the top and a double loop to loop on the bottom.
That's the way to go
auguste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 05:03 AM   #4
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member
THT sponsor
 
John_Madison CT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Old Lyme, CT
Posts: 12,384
Default Re: splicing dacron to spectra

Agreed, loop to loop.
John_Madison CT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 07:15 AM   #5
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location:
Posts: 840
Default RE: splicing dacron to spectra

Thanks guys.
Hepatitis Sea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 08:28 AM   #6
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member

 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Wanchese, NC
Posts: 10,037
Default Re: splicing dacron to spectra

Hepatitis Sea Just make sure you make your loops big enough to get your Spectra Spool through...Mark
offshore3144 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 01:39 PM   #7
Senior Member

 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quebec, Canada and Pirates Cove, OBX, NC
Posts: 20,170
Default Re: splicing dacron to spectra

Mark

Do you have access to site or video that shows how to whip (?) like you do on your bows and wind ons?
auguste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 02:07 PM   #8
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member

 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Wanchese, NC
Posts: 10,037
Default Re: splicing dacron to spectra

Gus this is a video I made a few years ago. Some of the things have changed but the basic concepts are in the videos. There are 9 short videos on making a Bridal windon. Whipping is near the end but I am not sure which section. They are in order parts 1-9. There is a post here somewhere where someone did a post on the spectra splice. Here is a drawing on how I whip the ends. You can also apply a little glue on the whip when done. I like to use Sato Spectra Flex Glue You can get it at SaltwaterTackle.com



Glue link:
http://www.limboland.net/Merchant2/m...&Store_Code=ST

Video Links:
http://s5.photobucket.com/albums/y15...indoVideo1.flv
http://s5.photobucket.com/albums/y15...VideoPart2.flv
http://s5.photobucket.com/albums/y15...VideoPart3.flv
http://s5.photobucket.com/albums/y15...VideoPart4.flv
http://s5.photobucket.com/albums/y15...VideoPart5.flv
http://s5.photobucket.com/albums/y15...VideoPart6.flv
http://s5.photobucket.com/albums/y15...VideoPart7.flv
http://s5.photobucket.com/albums/y15...VideoPart8.flv
http://s5.photobucket.com/albums/y15...VideoPart9.flv
offshore3144 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 02:29 PM   #9
Senior Member

 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quebec, Canada and Pirates Cove, OBX, NC
Posts: 20,170
Default Re: splicing dacron to spectra

Thanks Mark
auguste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 02:46 PM   #10
Senior Member

 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quebec, Canada and Pirates Cove, OBX, NC
Posts: 20,170
Default Re: splicing dacron to spectra

Mark

Videos 7 and 8 are exactly what I needed.

Could not remember how to handle the tag ends so that they did not unravel.

Thanks
auguste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 03:43 PM   #11
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Metairie,LA
Posts: 3,669
Default Re: splicing dacron to spectra

Quote:
offshore3144 - 1/12/2009 9:28 AM

Hepatitis Sea Just make sure you make your loops big enough to get your Spectra Spool through...Mark
You could make a close splice ... small n neat.


REDWEISER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 05:25 PM   #12
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member

 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Wanchese, NC
Posts: 10,037
Default Re: splicing dacron to spectra

Nice red I will have to try your knot sometime is it as strong as a double loop splice? Does the spectra ever slip? Thanks mark
offshore3144 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 06:52 PM   #13
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Metairie,LA
Posts: 3,669
Default Re: splicing dacron to spectra

((I will have to try your knot sometime is it as strong as a double loop splice?))
Nope ... along with some other knots like a bimini but quite strong and easy to tie on the boat.

((Does the spectra ever slip?))
Nope ... if tied properly.

Red
REDWEISER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 07:17 PM   #14
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location:
Posts: 840
Default Re: splicing dacron to spectra

Thanks again guys. We'll give it a shot this weekend.
Hepatitis Sea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 06:56 AM   #15
Senior Member

 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quebec, Canada and Pirates Cove, OBX, NC
Posts: 20,170
Default Re: splicing dacron to spectra

Solved the serving problem . . . thanks Mark
auguste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 07:37 AM   #16
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member

 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Wanchese, NC
Posts: 10,037
Default Re: splicing dacron to spectra

Gus just make sure you serve it tight. I tighten the serving spool till the dacron or spectra starts to spin around the mono then I just back the tension off till the dacron or spectra stops spinning.....Mark
offshore3144 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 07:41 AM   #17
Senior Member

 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Quebec, Canada and Pirates Cove, OBX, NC
Posts: 20,170
Default Re: splicing dacron to spectra

It is very tight

Also, I have the same serving tool as you do . . . Mike G picked it up for me
auguste is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:43 AM.


©2009 TheHullTruth.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.9.3.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.