Notices
Like Tree18Likes

planned obsolescence -garmin

Old 05-13-2019, 06:44 AM
  #21  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: mass/Point Judith, RI dockage
Posts: 11,819
Default

Originally Posted by aquaholic23 View Post
I have garmin and touch wood its been pretty good, but i did have a ap problem, and a update fixed it, what i dont understand is.......... If you install everything and it all works well then a year later it stops working, why would you need a update, it freaking worked fine and i didnt add anything to the system, something infiltrated the system, but how ????? Could someone explain
It could be a lot of things. You have a networked system, with the various components sending everything from data to error codes at the mfd. So you could go for years without ever hitting an error condition until one of those components does something it never did before and for which the current code in the plotter misinterprets and mishandles. Now by that point others have seen this issue and a fix is available.

Here's an example: When you met your wife, had she gone through menopause yet? If not, I'll bet you received a whole bunch of error conditions you never saw before.
gerg is offline  
Old 05-13-2019, 10:35 AM
  #22  
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Pompano Beach
Posts: 50
Default

What I don't understand about Garmin is that, even with the new ones, you can't name a spot that is longer than a certain amount of characters. We got all the technology in the world now and I can't name my spot "Islamorada Yellowtail 50 Feet #2", I have to name it "Isla YTAIL2" so all the characters can fit.

The most ridiculous part to me is that you can't put a PASSCODE LOCK on it. This would solve 2 HUGE things:

1. People having their spots stolen (yes, this is a thing, I know some captains that only have their precious spots loaded only on an SD card that they take in/out each trip because people steal them at night in the marinas).

2. Deter THEFTS. You mean to tell me we can't put a passcode lock on something that is a GPS and costs $3000+? Or you can't register it to your account by serial #, so if you mark it as stolen or missing, the next time it's powered on and connects to GPS, it auto-locks itself and pings its location to the owner and authorities?

We're almost halfway through 2019 and something that's not much bigger than an iPad, and costs $3000, can't do what should be basic features by this point.
clarkefishing is offline  
Old 05-13-2019, 11:19 AM
  #23  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 1,224
Default

Simrad = Lowrance. No thank you!

Garmin hasn't done me wrong yet.
Vitamin_Sea is offline  
Old 05-13-2019, 11:30 AM
  #24  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 524
Default

Originally Posted by gerg View Post
In apples case, you can't talk to someone on the phone, you can't send send a product in for service. You can't even drop it off at an apple store. You have to make an appointment and talk to some kid who took a few days of training and gets to ask the wizard in the back room once you've explained the problem.

It takes 3 hours out of my day to do this. I'd rather buy a different brand and go about my life.
You said you can't talk to someone at Apple? I did, and sent my MacBook Pro in using their shipping information to a repair facility in Texas. Unit has a bad screen which they replaced for free OUT OF WARRANTY, had it back in 2 days. I was given the option to take it to the Genius bar or ship it in to have it replaced.

There are also several placed that will repair screen batteries and the such on Apple products. UBreakIfix is just one of them.
trit21 is offline  
Old 05-13-2019, 11:38 AM
  #25  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: pompano beach, florida
Posts: 4,676
Default

So Simrad, Raymarine and other similar electronics companies aren’t going to ask you to have the most recent software update as a starting Point?? I doubt it
dpdash is offline  
Old 05-13-2019, 12:10 PM
  #26  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 73
Default

What is the USCG and cruise ships using?
Admiral Halsey is offline  
Old 05-13-2019, 12:28 PM
  #27  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 676
Default

Originally Posted by Admiral Halsey View Post
What is the USCG and cruise ships using?
I always thought the military was Garmin?
Lu 1967 is offline  
Old 05-13-2019, 01:10 PM
  #28  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: mass/Point Judith, RI dockage
Posts: 11,819
Default

Originally Posted by Lu 1967 View Post
I always thought the military was Garmin?
The government agencies don't have a free hand to chose who to buy from. They buy under contracts according to federal law. Usually, it has to be a US manufacturer for electronics, or at least a country not on an embargo list.

The "military" doesn't use off the shelf consumer electronics unless it's a really non critical system. The coast guard might, but again, they have to comply with federal procurement laws and government policies.

It isn't as simple as give me the best.
gerg is offline  
Old 05-13-2019, 01:16 PM
  #29  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 657
Default

Gerg are you saying its that time of the month for my garmin, now i get it,how stupid of me, man o man, men just cant take a hint lol

Last edited by aquaholic23; 05-13-2019 at 02:17 PM.
aquaholic23 is offline  
Old 05-13-2019, 06:45 PM
  #30  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: WPB, Fl.
Posts: 10,331
Default

Originally Posted by aquaholic23 View Post
I have garmin and touch wood its been pretty good, but i did have a ap problem, and a update fixed it, what i dont understand is.......... If you install everything and it all works well then a year later it stops working, why would you need a update, it freaking worked fine and i didnt add anything to the system, something infiltrated the system, but how ????? Could someone explain
Network vs isolation?

gofastsandman is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread