The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum (https://www.thehulltruth.com/index.php)
-   Semperfifishing - Marine Electronics & Transducer Sales (https://www.thehulltruth.com/semperfifishing-marine-electronics-transducer-sales-135/)
-   -   Garmin GT 52HW TM Real World Review (https://www.thehulltruth.com/semperfifishing-marine-electronics-transducer-sales/727782-garmin-gt-52hw-tm-real-world-review.html)

kmoose 01-12-2016 06:59 PM

Garmin GT 52HW TM Real World Review
 
1 Attachment(s)
Well I was fortunate enough to get my hands on a new GT 52 HW to mount on my inshore sled and all I can say is WOW! Both the SideVu and traditional high, wide chirp produced spectacular imagery on my 7610xsv. Haven't had it out past 20 or so feet but the inshore views are way more than I expected. This will definitely be a must have for inshore work! Many thanks to Gil (Semperfifishing) for providing me with this "hot off the press" transducer. We had talked much about the new Garmin ducer line and I was anxious to see for myself..... certainly no disappointments on my end!

I'll let the sounder porn speak for itself!

kmoose 01-12-2016 07:00 PM

1 Attachment(s)
More

kmoose 01-12-2016 07:04 PM

1 Attachment(s)
And more

TooleNaples 01-13-2016 05:45 AM

What do you think the max depth to get good down-view and side-view readings will actually be - 300 feet?

semperfifishing 01-13-2016 08:56 AM

A big thank you to Ken (kmoose) for taking the time to try out some of these new transdcuers for us here on THT.

Ken will be getting more transducers and head units to try so stay tuned for his excellent posts.

I wanted everyone to a look at the GT52HW first as it will be bundled with the new Garmin echoMAP 73sv,93sv and the Striker 7s.
The GT52HW can also be used with the xs and xsv systems.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/xq90/910/plEsnE.jpg

One thing to notice is the new GT52HW is 6" ...far more manageable than the 9" of the GT50 or GT51 at their 9".


http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/xq90/903/78BSFT.jpg




http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/xq90/911/kJMNMt.jpg

kmoose 01-13-2016 12:06 PM


Originally Posted by TooleNaples (Post 8605131)
What do you think the max depth to get good down-view and side-view readings will actually be - 300 feet?

The specs rate the maximum range at 800" for the traditional chirp end of this ducer so I fully expect that 300" will be no issue for the H-W sonar.

The side and down view max out at 500'. From my experience in testing side and down view functions with this and Garmin's most powerful ducer options it comes down to perspective of an object that is at the farthest end of useful range. Personally I don't find imaging from SideVu past 250' very useful for what I do but some may. The DownVu will likely be effective as advertised as I have found the imagery produced is very good for identifying structure.

Bottom line is H-W traditional chirp is the real game changer in this ducer. The target separation is far better than I've seen in previous models so it is for sure a great fish finder. That said the high end of the range shows great bottom detail as well. Very similar in performance to higher end 200khz traditional sonar. It truly is a best of both worlds.

Garmin advertises this ducer as a "fresh water" ducer but I completely disagree with that implied limitation. In my eye it is the perfect coastal transducer with ample capabilities to find fish and bottom to at least 100' and probably deeper.

semperfifishing 01-13-2016 01:25 PM


Originally Posted by kmoose (Post 8606664)

Garmin advertises this ducer as a "fresh water" ducer but I completely disagree with that implied limitation. In my eye it is the perfect coastal transducer with ample capabilities to find fish and bottom to at least 100' and probably deeper.

:thumbsup:

Agreed..this is a great unit for coastal fishing and other salt areas of less than 200'.

The goods thing is the new echoMAP CHIRP 94sv and 74 sv can be ordered with this transdcuer instead of the GT51 for anyone who sees the GT52HW as a good option.




http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/xq90/911/kJMNMt.jpg

MightyMach 01-13-2016 09:06 PM


Originally Posted by semperfifishing (Post 8606968)
:thumbsup:

Agreed..this is a great unit for coastal fishing and other salt areas of less than 200'.

The goods thing is the new echoMAP CHIRP 94sv and 74 sv can be ordered with this transdcuer instead of the GT51 for anyone who sees the GT52HW as a good option.

PM sent to you Gil

semperfifishing 01-20-2016 06:18 PM

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/xq90/905/UcXgF1.png

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/xq90/910/EWGySW.png

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/xq90/633/O7ThhF.png





http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/xq90/922/OOyxEv.png

SHAD




http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/xq90/911/kJMNMt.jpg

cldomson1 01-22-2016 05:58 PM


Originally Posted by kmoose (Post 8606664)
The specs rate the maximum range at 800" for the traditional chirp end of this ducer so I fully expect that 300" will be no issue for the H-W sonar.

The side and down view max out at 500'. From my experience in testing side and down view functions with this and Garmin's most powerful ducer options it comes down to perspective of an object that is at the farthest end of useful range. Personally I don't find imaging from SideVu past 250' very useful for what I do but some may. The DownVu will likely be effective as advertised as I have found the imagery produced is very good for identifying structure.

Bottom line is H-W traditional chirp is the real game changer in this ducer. The target separation is far better than I've seen in previous models so it is for sure a great fish finder. That said the high end of the range shows great bottom detail as well. Very similar in performance to higher end 200khz traditional sonar. It truly is a best of both worlds.

Garmin advertises this ducer as a "fresh water" ducer but I completely disagree with that implied limitation. In my eye it is the perfect coastal transducer with ample capabilities to find fish and bottom to at least 100' and probably deeper.

Kmoose

Are those images with the GT52 set at 800hz? My old Humminbird could be set at 455hz or 800hz. The 800hz was great for shallow water but didn't work at all past 65' deep.

I'm torn between having the 800hz at 350watts for shallow versus the option of 260hz at 500watts for deeper side scan.

I wonder if both ducers could be installed with a splitter or switch to use each depending on depth.

Charlie

Dufrsp31 01-24-2016 08:22 AM

Is there max speed limitations with using side scan with the GT52? I remember something about boat speed limits when structure scan first came out. Just wondering if anything has changed with the newer side scan transducers.

semperfifishing 01-24-2016 09:14 AM


Originally Posted by cldomson1 (Post 8637135)
Kmoose

Are those images with the GT52 set at 800hz? My old Humminbird could be set at 455hz or 800hz. The 800hz was great for shallow water but didn't work at all past 65' deep.

I'm torn between having the 800hz at 350watts for shallow versus the option of 260hz at 500watts for deeper side scan.

I wonder if both ducers could be installed with a splitter or switch to use each depending on depth.

Charlie

Those shots were at 455 khz.



http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/xq90/911/kJMNMt.jpg

semperfifishing 01-24-2016 09:16 AM


Originally Posted by Dufrsp31 (Post 8640672)
Is there max speed limitations with using side scan with the GT52? I remember something about boat speed limits when structure scan first came out. Just wondering if anything has changed with the newer side scan transducers.



There is still the same low speed limitation of the Side and Down Scan elements ....best used under 10 mph.
The traditional element of the GT52HW is effective at far higher speeds.






http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/xq90/911/kJMNMt.jpg

John_Madison CT 01-24-2016 07:59 PM

When can one get the chirp 94sv with Bluechart maps and GT 52 transducer? How much?

semperfifishing 01-24-2016 08:06 PM


Originally Posted by John_Madison CT (Post 8642682)
When can one get the chirp 94sv with Bluechart maps and GT 52 transducer? How much?

I just got some Striker units and some of the new CHIRP ducers..so things are moving in the pipeline...hope to see the echoMAP CHIRP units in the next few weeks


http://www.thehulltruth.com/semperfi...ml#post8642722

Link to pricing:





http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/xq90/911/kJMNMt.jpg

kdnash 01-26-2016 03:07 AM

How does the GT52 compare to the GT23? Which would you select to use with
a 1040xs 200' and shallower?
Thanks
David

semperfifishing 01-26-2016 07:42 PM


Originally Posted by kdnash (Post 8646494)
How does the GT52 compare to the GT23? Which would you select to use with
a 1040xs 200' and shallower?
Thanks
David

http://www.thehulltruth.com/semperfi...s-pricing.html


Garmin GT52HW-TM Plastic, Transom or Trolling Motor Mount Transducer , High Wide CHIRP (150-240 kHz, 250 W)/CHIRP DownVü and CHIRP SideVü (455/800 kHz, 500 W, 12-pin)..this ducer can only be used with echoMAP CHIRP,Striker, and xsv.
It cannot be used wiht a xs 741xs,840xs or 1040xs.


The Garmin GT23M-TM Plastic, Transom Mount Transducer, Mid-Band CHIRP (80-160 kHz, 600 W)/CHIRP DownVü (260/455 kHz, 500 W) (8-pin
This can be used with echoMAP CHIRP, STRIKER, xs and xsv units.
So the GT23 for the 840xs or 1040xs.






http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/xq90/911/kJMNMt.jpg

WRRice 01-27-2016 01:07 PM


Originally Posted by John_Madison CT (Post 8642682)
When can one get the chirp 94sv with Bluechart maps and GT 52 transducer? How much?

What he said.
Is the only difference in the 93 and 94 the included charting? Would it make sense to buy a 93 (it's cheaper) and get a chip?

it looks like the smaller transducer would be easier to mount near an outboard.

semperfifishing 01-27-2016 01:28 PM


Originally Posted by WRRice (Post 8652742)
What he said.
Is the only difference in the 93 and 94 the included charting? Would it make sense to buy a 93 (it's cheaper) and get a chip?

it looks like the smaller transducer would be easier to mount near an outboard.

The 94sv includes US Coastal charts and the GT51 transducer.
The 93sv includes the US Lakes and Rivers charts and the GT52HW transducer.



You can also get the 94sv without transdcuer and add one of your choice.

GT8HW-Tm.
GT22HW-TM
GT23M-TM.
GT52HW-TM.
GT50-TM.
TM150M-TM
GT15-IH.
GT50-TM.

http://www.thehulltruth.com/semperfi...map-chirp.html
Link:

semperfifishing 02-03-2016 02:09 PM

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/xq90/923/AGi6fj.png


OUTLET OF A DAM






http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/xq90/911/kJMNMt.jpg


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:48 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.9.3.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.