Notices
Like Tree7Likes

C10 not receiving engine info?

Old 03-31-2019, 01:12 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Wilmington NC
Posts: 584
Default C10 not receiving engine info?





So I installed the new C10 a couple weeks ago and aside from the trim percentage jumping around (different thread), everything looked good. I was getting voltage, engine temp, hours, etc. Fire it up the other day and no engine info. Did the reset and no change. These software numbers are correct, right?
MaseTime is offline  
Old 03-31-2019, 05:13 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 330
Default

Single or multiple engines? The biggest issue I’ve found on these is properly identifying the engine for each gauge has yielded the greatest result. For example, if you have a single then I think the engine must be labeled as motor “0” on the c10 (I have twins so I might be wrong on that account for a single).

I had to do the same reset and once the proper engine number was allocated everything read as it should.
thecatch22 is offline  
Old 03-31-2019, 05:23 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,657
Default

Tried doing an auto select for data sources?

You are running V 3.5.0 Interface software, which is good for 2013. (Approx) and newer. Any earlier needs V2.9.0

Below is a link to a table showing correct software versions for engine years, interfaces and gauges

Suzuki | Lowrance
Moonlighter475 is offline  
Old 03-31-2019, 06:46 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Wilmington NC
Posts: 584
Default

Originally Posted by thecatch22 View Post
Single or multiple engines? The biggest issue I’ve found on these is properly identifying the engine for each gauge has yielded the greatest result. For example, if you have a single then I think the engine must be labeled as motor “0” on the c10 (I have twins so I might be wrong on that account for a single).

I had to do the same reset and once the proper engine number was allocated everything read as it should.
Thanks catch, it defaults to “center” engine.
MaseTime is offline  
Old 03-31-2019, 06:48 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Wilmington NC
Posts: 584
Default

Originally Posted by Moonlighter475 View Post
Tried doing an auto select for data sources?

You are running V 3.5.0 Interface software, which is good for 2013. (Approx) and newer. Any earlier needs V2.9.0

Below is a link to a table showing correct software versions for engine years, interfaces and gauges

Suzuki | Lowrance
Yep, auto select. And the motor is a 2018.

Regretting buying this thing. Got hooked into the “need more info” crap. Should have listened to my gut.
MaseTime is offline  
Old 04-01-2019, 12:19 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,657
Default

Checkthe link in my last post to see if the C-10 is running recommended sw for 2018 engine.

Low / poor voltage supply to the network can cause such issues too.
Moonlighter475 is offline  
Old 04-01-2019, 03:57 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Wilmington NC
Posts: 584
Default

Originally Posted by Moonlighter475 View Post
Checkthe link in my last post to see if the C-10 is running recommended sw for 2018 engine.

Low / poor voltage supply to the network can cause such issues too.
On my phone heading to work now but looks like c10 has correct sw.

And voltage was 12.4
MaseTime is offline  
Old 04-01-2019, 05:00 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,657
Default

Originally Posted by MaseTime View Post


On my phone heading to work now but looks like c10 has correct sw.

And voltage was 12.4
12.4 is only a 50% charged battery....
Moonlighter475 is offline  
Old 04-01-2019, 06:24 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Wilmington NC
Posts: 584
Default

Originally Posted by Moonlighter475 View Post


12.4 is only a 50% charged battery....
50%? You lost me there. It was at 12.4 during install and while trying to figure out why the trim percentage numbers were randomly jumping around. Engine info was displaying fine during that time.

Day before yesterday, while running the boat, engine info wouldn’t display.

Anyone got a good phone number for Suzuki tech support before I start googling? Right now it looks like I’ve spent $400 and cut a hole in my dash for nothing.

Note to self: try this stuff out before you cut holes.
MaseTime is offline  
Old 04-01-2019, 07:10 AM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,406
Default

The C-10 is a really nice upgrade. Once it's properly configured you'll be glad you cut that hole in your dash. Mine reads 13.6 V.....you might have voltage issues per Monnlighter's comments...also, check your battery connection points....I'm running a Suzuki and they seems to be very sensitive to proper voltage and fully juiced up batteries to maintain it
marketic is offline  
Old 04-01-2019, 07:26 AM
  #11  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Wilmington NC
Posts: 584
Default

Originally Posted by marketic View Post
The C-10 is a really nice upgrade. Once it's properly configured you'll be glad you cut that hole in your dash. Mine reads 13.6 V.....you might have voltage issues per Monnlighter's comments...also, check your battery connection points....I'm running a Suzuki and they seems to be very sensitive to proper voltage and fully juiced up batteries to maintain it
Thank you I’ll check the connections.
MaseTime is offline  
Old 04-01-2019, 11:41 AM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Costa Rica and Sardinia (Italy)
Posts: 2,141
Default

Similar problem here,
2017 DF300AP is not reading anymore my starboard engine data, port engine is fine.
But on the setup pages sparboard engine interface is not showing up either.
Dealer said that they can go bad, so i will need to get a new one to see if that helps (what it probably do)
You may swap the engine interface you have with a known working one to see if engine data is showing up again.
Chris
ChrigelKarrer is offline  
Old 04-01-2019, 12:01 PM
  #13  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Wilmington NC
Posts: 584
Default

Originally Posted by ChrigelKarrer View Post
Similar problem here,
2017 DF300AP is not reading anymore my starboard engine data, port engine is fine.
But on the setup pages sparboard engine interface is not showing up either.
Dealer said that they can go bad, so i will need to get a new one to see if that helps (what it probably do)
You may swap the engine interface you have with a known working one to see if engine data is showing up again.
Chris
So if that’s the issue then a $100 cable won’t last me 6 months. Lasted a year for you? Little more? Good stuff! This is ridiculous. I see lots of issues with this gauge after searching. I should have done more homework.
MaseTime is offline  
Old 04-01-2019, 12:52 PM
  #14  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Jupiter, Florida
Posts: 1,752
Default

Suzuki makes good outboards but the never ending N2K network issues with their engine interface adapters and gauges like the C10 are really, really, frustrating.
It's never just "plug and play" as it should be. I've literally wasted many days of my life trying to get this stuff to work correctly and consistently.
P.S. 12.4 volts is not good.
fly186 is offline  
Old 04-01-2019, 01:07 PM
  #15  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Wilmington NC
Posts: 584
Default

Originally Posted by fly186 View Post
Suzuki makes good outboards but the never ending N2K network issues with their engine interface adapters and gauges like the C10 are really, really, frustrating.
It's never just "plug and play" as it should be. I've literally wasted many days of my life trying to get this stuff to work correctly and consistently.
P.S. 12.4 volts is not good.
Thank you for the additional voltage advice. Just strange that it was 12.4 during install and everything was fine (except trim percentage, a separate issue) and we were running for a good while the other day and it still didn’t work. But I’ll check connections and hook up a battery charger.

What voltage do I need to be at to make this delicate snowflake of a device happy? Seems poorly designed if it can’t deal with that little of a variation in voltage. What do you do when you want to turn your motors off for a while and keep your gauges on? Break out the solar panels??

Sorry to hear you’ve had so many problems with these as well. Seems like we are in a big group the more I search!

MaseTime is offline  
Old 04-01-2019, 01:30 PM
  #16  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Jupiter, Florida
Posts: 1,752
Default

"Delicate snowflake of a device"... that's pretty accurate!
I don't know what the lowest recommended voltage is because I've never seen it documented anywhere. I've also never seen an explanation about WHY a low voltage condition would actually cause a problem on the engine interface adapter cable in terms of hosing up the configuration data. I'm just guessing here, but basically I suspect this is an EEPROM device so the only time it might really get into trouble is if you had a voltage drop during the exact time you were updating the adapter configuration or software. Otherwise it should never lose engine or configuration data because of a low/no voltage event.

Good luck!

Update: Did a little digging about the NMEA 2000 bus voltage specs. There is a white paper on the NMEA Org's website that states the following in the Network Power section:
"The interface circuits must operate over the range of 9.0 to 16.0 Volts DC. The voltage for the interface can either be supplied from the network backbone cable or supplied by a dedicated twisted-pair power cable connected only between a single node and the network power source (the vessel’s battery or one regulated power supply)."
This doesn't mean that 12.2 V is good for the operation of the devices hanging off the N2K network but it would seem to indicate that it should be adequate for the network and interfaces connected to that bus.
The link to that doc is included below for your reading pleasure.
2000-explained-white-paper.pdf
MaseTime likes this.

Last edited by fly186; 04-03-2019 at 09:57 AM.
fly186 is offline  
Old 04-01-2019, 02:00 PM
  #17  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Schmaltz~Herring's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cruising Lake Titikacka On My 18' Bayliner Element With 60 HP Optimax's
Posts: 17,347
Default

My batteries are reading 12.2V without motor running, no problems with the gauge reading and the Garmin is also on the network with no issues.





942XS GARMIN hooked to Zuk network



Schmaltz~Herring is offline  
Old 04-01-2019, 02:04 PM
  #18  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Wilmington NC
Posts: 584
Default

Originally Posted by fly186 View Post
Otherwise it should never lose engine or configuration data because of a low/no voltage event.

Good luck!

Lol “should” seems to be a popular word in regards to this thing.

Thanks man! Fingers crossed I can figure it out but I’ve just about accepted the fact that eventually there will be an external VHF speaker in that hole lol.
MaseTime is offline  
Old 04-01-2019, 02:08 PM
  #19  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Wilmington NC
Posts: 584
Default

Originally Posted by Schmaltz~Herring View Post
My batteries are reading 12.2V without motor running, no problems with the gauge reading and the Garmin is also on the network with no issues.
Thanks Schmaltz, yeah mine was reading 12.4 (motor not running) at install and working fine (except for trim %), and my Garmin was tied in and working fine as well.

Did your trim % calibrate ok?
MaseTime is offline  
Old 04-01-2019, 02:19 PM
  #20  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Schmaltz~Herring's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cruising Lake Titikacka On My 18' Bayliner Element With 60 HP Optimax's
Posts: 17,347
Default

Don't know it's sitting in the garage, I have not had the boat out since the C10 was installed. I think it's calibrated as I had it running on muffs when I took the pic and the mot was trimmed all the way down.
Schmaltz~Herring is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread