Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Please explain these Suzuki Connections?

Notices

Please explain these Suzuki Connections?

Old 03-12-2019, 01:35 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Schmaltz~Herring's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cruising Lake Titikacka On My 18' Bayliner Element With 60 HP Optimax's
Posts: 17,191
Question Please explain these Suzuki Connections?

Presumably, 1 is the fuel sender, 1 is power, 1 presumably goes to the C10, what's the other?? Thanks. Nothing on the network but the C10 and the Fuel sender.



Last edited by Schmaltz~Herring; 03-12-2019 at 02:47 PM.
Schmaltz~Herring is offline  
Old 03-12-2019, 01:45 PM
  #2  
dev
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
dev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: St. Pete
Posts: 416
Default

Originally Posted by Schmaltz~Herring View Post


Presumably, 1 is the fuel sender, 1 is power, 1 presumably goes to the C10, what's the other?? Thanks. Nothing on the network but the C10 and the Fuel sender.
Presumably you meant to attach a pic to that post.
dev is offline  
Old 03-12-2019, 03:13 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Schmaltz~Herring's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cruising Lake Titikacka On My 18' Bayliner Element With 60 HP Optimax's
Posts: 17,191
Default

Pic added.
Schmaltz~Herring is offline  
Old 03-12-2019, 03:21 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4,805
Default

Originally Posted by Schmaltz~Herring View Post
Presumably, 1 is the fuel sender, 1 is power, 1 presumably goes to the C10, what's the other?? Thanks. Nothing on the network but the C10 and the Fuel sender.
perhaps a Suzuki engine?
Fwpratt is offline  
Old 03-12-2019, 04:12 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location:
Posts: 675
Default

Originally Posted by Fwpratt View Post
perhaps a Suzuki engine?
Agree. Rotate picture... cable on far left, looks like tag says, "engine interface", (abbreviated).

Thing is... why would you need a fuel flow sensor? Engine info already gives, (calculates) that.
catch232 is offline  
Old 03-12-2019, 04:17 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Schmaltz~Herring's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cruising Lake Titikacka On My 18' Bayliner Element With 60 HP Optimax's
Posts: 17,191
Default

Originally Posted by catch232 View Post
Agree. Rotate picture... cable on far left, looks like tag says, "engine interface", (abbreviated).

Thing is... why would you need a fuel flow sensor? Engine info already gives, (calculates) that.
Manufacturer installed.
Schmaltz~Herring is offline  
Old 03-12-2019, 07:09 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,353
Default

Yes, it would be one each for

Suzuki engine interface
C-10
fluid level sensor (from tank sender unit), this is not a “flow sensor”. On the C-10 will show as a gauge with a %
Network power source.

The connection second from left looks a bit crusty - what’s with that? If it is salty residue it needs to be cleaned off.
Moonlighter475 is offline  
Old 03-13-2019, 03:50 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location:
Posts: 675
Default

Originally Posted by Moonlighter475 View Post
The connection second from left looks a bit crusty - what’s with that? If it is salty residue it needs to be cleaned off.

Looks like gelcoat residue/powder, from cutting/installing.
catch232 is offline  
Old 03-13-2019, 03:56 AM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: South FL
Posts: 2,953
Default

Originally Posted by Schmaltz~Herring View Post
Presumably, 1 is the fuel sender, 1 is power, 1 presumably goes to the C10, what's the other?? Thanks. Nothing on the network but the C10 and the Fuel sender.

my Suzuki 300 has 3 network connections including the C10. Keep in mind they need to be power isolate with the yellow T.
JoseG is offline  
Old 03-13-2019, 04:56 AM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Schmaltz~Herring's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cruising Lake Titikacka On My 18' Bayliner Element With 60 HP Optimax's
Posts: 17,191
Default

Can I remove one of the end pieces and install a T with the end piece [resistor] and just connect a drop to the Garmin for engine data on the Garmin?
Schmaltz~Herring is offline  
Old 03-13-2019, 05:17 AM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location:
Posts: 675
Default

Originally Posted by Schmaltz~Herring View Post
Can I remove one of the end pieces and install a T with the end piece [resistor] and just connect a drop to the Garmin for engine data on the Garmin?
Yes.
catch232 is offline  
Old 03-13-2019, 06:04 AM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Schmaltz~Herring's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cruising Lake Titikacka On My 18' Bayliner Element With 60 HP Optimax's
Posts: 17,191
Default

Originally Posted by catch232 View Post
Looks like gelcoat residue/powder, from cutting/installing.
this, boat only used 4 times on lake.
Schmaltz~Herring is offline  
Old 03-13-2019, 08:58 AM
  #13  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: South FL
Posts: 2,953
Default

Originally Posted by Schmaltz~Herring View Post
Can I remove one of the end pieces and install a T with the end piece [resistor] and just connect a drop to the Garmin for engine data on the Garmin?
Do you have anything else other than the Garmin on the network?
JoseG is offline  
Old 03-13-2019, 09:59 AM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Schmaltz~Herring's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cruising Lake Titikacka On My 18' Bayliner Element With 60 HP Optimax's
Posts: 17,191
Default

No, the Garmin 942XS is standalone, only the transducer connected.
Schmaltz~Herring is offline  
Old 03-13-2019, 03:02 PM
  #15  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,353
Default

Originally Posted by JoseG View Post


my Suzuki 300 has 3 network connections including the C10. Keep in mind they need to be power isolate with the yellow T.
Why? Please explain the benefits for the OP’s network??
Moonlighter475 is offline  
Old 03-13-2019, 03:11 PM
  #16  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,353
Default

Originally Posted by Schmaltz~Herring View Post
Can I remove one of the end pieces and install a T with the end piece [resistor] and just connect a drop to the Garmin for engine data on the Garmin?
Yes, exactly. Actually you can insert the new T piece between any 2 existing T’s to achieve the same result.

Adding the Garmin will also allow GPS data (such as speed) to be shared with the network, and the C-10 will then show you live mpg, distance to empty etc.

When any new device is added to the network, its always a good idea to reset network data sources. This ensures all devices adjust their data sources to the logical settings given new data is available.

To do this:

Turn all network devices on including the Garmin.
On the C-10, open the menu, system/network and select the option to auto-select data sources. Select yes when it pops up message asking if you really want to. Done.

Moonlighter475 is offline  
Old 03-13-2019, 03:25 PM
  #17  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
THT sponsor
Thread Starter
 
Schmaltz~Herring's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cruising Lake Titikacka On My 18' Bayliner Element With 60 HP Optimax's
Posts: 17,191
Default

Thank you very much for the info.
Schmaltz~Herring is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread