Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Question on NMEA 0183 to NMEA 2K communications.

Notices
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Fwpratt

Question on NMEA 0183 to NMEA 2K communications.

Old 02-27-2019, 09:24 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: SW FL Tampa
Posts: 40
Default Question on NMEA 0183 to NMEA 2K communications.

I recently rewired and upgraded my electronics, Installed a new Fusion UD650 and networked it via the NMEA 2K network to my Garmin 7610XSV. Also installed a Garmin GXM-53 Sirius antenna done which is connected to the 7610xsv using ether net and the stereo out from the GXM-53 black box is the AUX 2 input into the Fusion UD650. The AUX out from the Standard Horizon 1700 VHF is connected to the AUX1 input on the UD650.

Running the Fusion through the media player function on the 7610xsv is great. A truly nice feature. It is also great to have the VHF sound running through the Stereo speakers. My ears are damaged from prior wildness in my youth.

My question is: How can I connected the NMEA 0183 wires from the SH-1700 to the NMEA-2k network? My goal is that if the coordinates from a vessel in distress are communicated via their VHF or DSC I would like the coordinates to show up on my chart plotter so I could see if I was in range and navigate to them to help. I’m not sure what sentences the SH-1700 would transmit to the NMEA-2K network. Do I just connect the NMEA0183 wires as indicated in some diagrams to a plug that connects to the NMEA-2K?

Any ideas here?

AndiamoFL is offline  
Old 02-27-2019, 09:28 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Beaufort, NC
Posts: 1,437
Default

NMEA 0183 and 2000 are not compatible.

Last edited by STIPulation; 02-27-2019 at 09:50 AM.
STIPulation is online now  
Old 02-27-2019, 09:41 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 428
Default

The Garmin 7600 has NMEA 0183 inputs and outputs. Wire your radio directly to the Garmin. It doesn’t need to be on the N2k network.
Tony Trak is offline  
Old 02-27-2019, 09:48 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5,594
Default

NMEA 0183 and NMEA 2000 do not directly interface with each other.

you can spend a couple hundred $ on a “gateway’ that will translate back and forth between them to get the VHF “on the NMEA 2000 backbone”


but it makes more sense IMO to simply directly connect the VHF with the Garmin via NMEA 0183
smccormick likes this.
Fwpratt is offline  
Old 02-27-2019, 02:54 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: SW FL Tampa
Posts: 40
Default

Thanks - I did not know the other network port was NMEA 0183. I'll just wire the VHF to that and see what happens.
AndiamoFL is offline  
Old 02-27-2019, 07:51 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,003
Default

I looked into this and found it was cheaper just to have a 0183 network and add a whole new 2000 network (even though some functions are duplicated) than to convert 0183 to 2000. It can be done, but it ain't cheap.
ssobol2533@aol.com is offline  
Old 02-27-2019, 07:59 PM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,855
Default

what do you mean you connected the vhf output to your fusion aux input?? the radio might have a high level speaker output, this would destroy the radio feeding it into a low lever rca.

the 650 probably already has a VHF tuner if you really want to listen to vhf. or maybe only the 750 does.
smac999 is offline  
Old 02-27-2019, 08:00 PM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,855
Default

Originally Posted by AndiamoFL View Post
Thanks - I did not know the other network port was NMEA 0183. I'll just wire the VHF to that and see what happens.
it's probbaly mixed in with power cable.
smac999 is offline  
Old 02-28-2019, 03:02 PM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: SW FL Tampa
Posts: 40
Default

I thought about the power level from the VHF speaker output wires. I did measure it and it came out as 150mv. The aux input on the UD650 can handle up to ~1V. I am worried about the fact that a DMV may not measure the true RMS voltage out from the VHF. I have disconnected the VHF-to-UD650 and am waiting for a response from Standard Horizon to my question about this.
AndiamoFL is offline  
Old 02-28-2019, 09:14 PM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,855
Default

the speaker is probably 25w. it is high level audio. the rca is low level audio. they make converters for this. lots if you google.

I still don't see the point though. does the 650 have a vhf tunner? the 750 does.
smac999 is offline  
Old 02-28-2019, 09:53 PM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location:
Posts: 679
Default

Originally Posted by AndiamoFL View Post
I thought about the power level from the VHF speaker output wires. I did measure it and it came out as 150mv. The aux input on the UD650 can handle up to ~1V. I am worried about the fact that a DMV may not measure the true RMS voltage out from the VHF. I have disconnected the VHF-to-UD650 and am waiting for a response from Standard Horizon to my question about this.
I've connected the vhf's ext. speaker line to the aux input on stereos before, (including Standard Horizon). it' works fine. Maybe others are thinking of the speaker output for a hailer?... much higher power. I believe the wires for the vhf's ext. speaker are just that, pig tail wires. If so, you'll need a male rca to pig tail to connect to the vhf. Easily gotten at Radio Shack.
catch232 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread