Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

GSD 26 transducer

Old 02-20-2019, 07:12 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Lanoka Harbor NJ
Posts: 98
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default GSD 26 transducer

I am thinking of buying a gsd 26 chirp sonar module. I currently have a airmar r299 transducer mounted in the boat. Will this transducer work with this blackbox?
Old 02-20-2019, 11:11 AM
  #2  
THT Sponsor
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Annapolis MD
Posts: 893
Likes: 0
Received 112 Likes on 80 Posts
Default

Yes it will. Are you deep dropping for daytime swords?
Old 02-20-2019, 03:51 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Lanoka Harbor NJ
Posts: 98
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Sword fishing and tuna.
Old 05-20-2019, 12:42 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Lanoka Harbor NJ
Posts: 98
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Nick, do you know if the gsd26 will recognize the r299 via the xid wire from the transducer? Just curious if it was worth connecting the xid wire to the sounder. If the sounder doesn't recognize a r299, should I manually configure the sounder for a r599?
Old 05-25-2019, 10:50 AM
  #5  
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: South Florida
Posts: 46
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Capt_BobL View Post
Nick, do you know if the gsd26 will recognize the r299 via the xid wire from the transducer? Just curious if it was worth connecting the xid wire to the sounder. If the sounder doesn't recognize a r299, should I manually configure the sounder for a r599?
I am also curious about this, I have a r399 with gsd 26 that I had to manually configure , also curious if I should turn chirp on in the manual configuration. Now itís turned off, it works and reads well but wondering if I am missing something .i also have a problem putting two screens of sounder on my 7608xsv only way is split sounder high and low .. (cannot put two high or low like one zoomed one full )
Old 05-29-2019, 11:24 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Lanoka Harbor NJ
Posts: 98
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by The rising sun View Post

I am also curious about this, I have a r399 with gsd 26 that I had to manually configure , also curious if I should turn chirp on in the manual configuration. Now itís turned off, it works and reads well but wondering if I am missing something .i also have a problem putting two screens of sounder on my 7608xsv only way is split sounder high and low .. (cannot put two high or low like one zoomed one full )
How did you manually configure your r399? I get a message indicating the transducer is disconnected and can't figure out how to get into the transducer configuration page to change it. The mfd I have is a garmin 8212
Old 05-29-2019, 10:47 PM
  #7  
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: South Florida
Posts: 46
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Capt_BobL View Post
How did you manually configure your r399? I get a message indicating the transducer is disconnected and can't figure out how to get into the transducer configuration page to change it. The mfd I have is a garmin 8212
this is the Garmin info for 7608xsv




How I did it
Old 05-29-2019, 10:52 PM
  #8  
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: South Florida
Posts: 46
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

I have the pics in reverse but this is how I have it working , I had the same error and it was not recognizing my transducer, Iím missing a lot I think doing this but it works , I got this info after many headaches and hours on the phone with both Garmin and Airmar
Old 05-30-2019, 02:05 PM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Lanoka Harbor NJ
Posts: 98
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Rising Sun, Thank you very much. The above procedure worked. I am now able to view the sounder even with chirp. I cant understand why Garmin didn't tell me about this in the first place. Again, thanks for your help
Old 05-30-2019, 02:31 PM
  #10  
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: South Florida
Posts: 46
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Capt_BobL View Post
Rising Sun, Thank you very much. The above procedure worked. I am now able to view the sounder even with chirp. I cant understand why Garmin didn't tell me about this in the first place. Again, thanks for your help
Trust me I can understand your frustration, it was driving me nuts. I searched everywhere on the Internet and couldnít find anything so Iím glad this has helped you , Question for you though you put it on chirp in the manual settings and itís working ?I have not attempted that yet .
Old 05-30-2019, 05:01 PM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Lanoka Harbor NJ
Posts: 98
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

It appears to be working on hi and low chirp. I need to go offshore to find out for sure.
Old 05-30-2019, 05:43 PM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5,303
Received 480 Likes on 273 Posts
Default

It may very well work but you are making a big mistake IMO. CHIRP generates a lot more heat than traditional and a traditional transducer does not have the heatsinks that dissipate the heat so it may be a year, may be two, it may be a month but eventually you're gonna burn up the piezos.

EDIT if you're using fixed frequency disregard.
Old 05-30-2019, 08:13 PM
  #13  
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: South Florida
Posts: 46
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by mstyle8517 View Post
It may very well work but you are making a big mistake IMO. CHIRP generates a lot more heat than traditional and a traditional transducer does not have the heatsinks that dissipate the heat so it may be a year, may be two, it may be a month but eventually you're gonna burn up the piezos.

EDIT if you're using fixed frequency disregard.
Are the the r599 and the r399 not the same heatsink ?they use the same tank and look the same, the r399 is referred to as chirp in some posts. Is this confirmed that I should not try to chirp my r399 with a gsd 26 ?
Old 05-30-2019, 09:18 PM
  #14  
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: South Florida
Posts: 46
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

I am asking this question Because I canít find info anywhere , and even Garmin and airmar-gemeco do not seem to have a confident answer . I ask this because I seem limited in function with it set up the way it is , I canít tune it in or change frequency without going through all steps above and I canít use split screen in any other format but one half screen high and one low . I canít use two high, like one showing whole water column and one showing only bottom 100 ft in 800 ft of water for say .
Old 05-31-2019, 06:43 AM
  #15  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5,303
Received 480 Likes on 273 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by The rising sun View Post


Are the the r599 and the r399 not the same heatsink ?they use the same tank and look the same, the r399 is referred to as chirp in some posts. Is this confirmed that I should not try to chirp my r399 with a gsd 26 ?
You can verify with Gemeco but I believe the CHIRP transducer line has additional heat dissipation over broadband line and there are internal thermistor that monitor element temp and will tell the gsd26 to lower output power if things get too hot.

The r399 was designed for Furuno and Raymarine to take advantage of their variable frequency professional sounder modules, not to be CHIRP'd.

Again, it may work for awhile, and the amount of misinformation on this forum makes the dozen or so of us here that actually know what we're talking about crazy, so don't believe everything you read.

The GSD26 will work just fine with that transducer in fixed frequency mode, we've done a few of them on older Furuno transducers, even some of the ones made in Japan, all with very favorable results

Good luck.
Old 06-03-2019, 07:24 PM
  #16  
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: South Florida
Posts: 46
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Thx. For the reply Mstyle , itís appreciated. I donít want to damage my equipment, but feel thereís more to be had with it . The gsd paired with the r399 works but is not tune-able in this use ,Iím considering getting a r599 in future or ditch the Garmin and get fcv 295 which Tune the r399 . This pairing I have is Def not ideal . Reads well yes for now ,hereís squid ?on the sword grounds
Old 06-03-2019, 07:25 PM
  #17  
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: South Florida
Posts: 46
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Wonít let me post pic now , posted a few Iíll try later
Old 06-03-2019, 08:29 PM
  #18  
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: South Florida
Posts: 46
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by The rising sun View Post
Wonít let me post pic now , posted a few Iíll try later

there we go

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.