Notices
Like Tree16Likes

New VHF Recommendation

Old 02-11-2019, 02:16 PM
  #61  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 1,670
Default

That makes the decision tougher. I called Simrad and they said the RS35 will display AIS on any brand of chartplotter. Can someone confirm that? Just to be sure.

They also said the 'Track My buddy' feature will only work if your buddies also have a radio that has the 'Track My Buddy' feature. That's not much help for me.
JB2C is offline  
Old 02-11-2019, 02:44 PM
  #62  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 7,884
Default

It will ... as will the ICOM or SH. AIS output is the product of the VHF. If you have your buddies mmsi # and he's has a DSC VHF which he should you can initiate position request using your radio. That position request will display on your not only on your radio but also on your MFD.

https://photos.smugmug.com/Simrad-NS...plays-1280.mp4

Last edited by bluewaterpirate; 02-11-2019 at 03:03 PM.
bluewaterpirate is offline  
Old 02-11-2019, 04:45 PM
  #63  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Central FL
Posts: 30
Default

Originally Posted by Parthery View Post
Email from Defender showed up this morning....the RS-35 is now $229...That's about the cheapest I've ever seen it.
I think all the lurkers watching this thread bought out Defender's inventory
F1shn4Dad is offline  
Old 02-11-2019, 05:51 PM
  #64  
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 91
Default

Originally Posted by JB2C View Post
gmed, is that the Icom 506-21??
I donít remember no longer have it. Changed it for 605. Itís the one that they offer with NMEA 2000 but without AIS receiver. Front mic.
Excellent radio. Wish the speaker was louder is my only complaint. Thatís the only reason I went for their new 605.
qmed is offline  
Old 02-11-2019, 06:47 PM
  #65  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 1,670
Default

Wonder how many they had available at that price? It doesn't mention how long it may be before they are back in stock. But at least they let you backorder it at that price.

I called Simrad tech support today and the fellow I spoke with had no clue. When I asked questions, all he did was pull up the info on the web page. It seems odd that you don't see any pictures of the RS 35 with the AIS screen displayed. I assumed it did not have AIS showing on the VHF. But their tech support told me (he had to research to find out) it does have the AIS display on the VHF. I think I'll pass on the RS35, even though that is a heck of a good price.

I also called SH tech support. He could not give me a clear answer as to whether the GX6000 would work with the splitter I have sitting here. But he did think it would work. So I'm torn between the SH and the Icom. SH is $60 cheaper and has a few extra features. The Icom is a better radio, and I don't have to worry about the separate antenna or using the splitter.
JB2C is offline  
Old 02-12-2019, 06:13 AM
  #66  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 8,112
Default

Originally Posted by Parthery View Post
Email from Defender showed up this morning....the RS-35 is now $229...That's about the cheapest I've ever seen it.
You should be able to take the ad to your local West Marine....good chance to test out their price matching policy....

The AIS will show up on the VHF display....however...it's small. I've never looked at a target on the VHF screen....mainly because it pops on my GO7 screen as well.
Parthery is offline  
Old 02-12-2019, 07:08 AM
  #67  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 1,670
Default

West Marine will match the Defender price.
JB2C is offline  
Old 02-12-2019, 07:16 AM
  #68  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Satellite Beach, FL
Posts: 644
Default

FWIW - I am on my 3rd Lowrance Link 8 and it will be my last. I like (not love) all my other Lowrance electronics, but I have had 2 replaced under warranty for the same issue. It works great for about 6 months to a year and then it has this intermittent issue where, one minute I can be heard loud and clear, and then literally the next Tx 10 seconds later, it sounds like a whisper. Have been told this by multiple friends when out, multiple times. Both returns the radio was deemed "defective" by Lowrance and replaced under warranty, and now my 3rd one is doing the same thing. If I had not had them checked out by Lowrance, I would think it must be something in my boat wiring, but I wont be replacing it with another one regardless of the fact even if I could do it under warranty with no cost.
chad.sfds is offline  
Old 02-12-2019, 07:20 AM
  #69  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 1,670
Default

Can anyone confirm the RS35 works with a Garmin chartplotter? Also, if you see an AIS target you want to call via DSC, do you have to enter the MMSI number on the RS35 in order to do so (again, when connected to a Garmin chartplotter)?
JB2C is offline  
Old 02-12-2019, 07:23 AM
  #70  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 1,670
Default

Nice that Lowrance stepped up and replaced them. Even though the particular product sounds like it has issues, the company just went up a notch on my esteem pole.
JB2C is offline  
Old 02-12-2019, 07:26 AM
  #71  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 7,884
Default

It works fine connected to a Garmin chart plotter you will see all the AIS targets the RS 35 receives. You will not be able to initiate a call from the Garmin however. I've indtalled a number of them on clients boats.

As to your RS 35 AIS displays:

I would strongly suggest you download or view on line the RS 35 user manual it explains everything you've asked in depth.

RS 35 users manual:
http://ww2.simrad-yachting.com/Root/...0259-002_w.pdf

You set your RS 35 up manually to view what data will be displayed.

Name:  RS351-XL.jpg
Views: 404
Size:  257.8 KB

Here's what your display could look like.

Name:  RS35.2-XL.jpg
Views: 405
Size:  294.7 KB

You cannot make a call from your GArmin chart plotter if it is connected to an RS 35. That would work only if you were connected to a Garmin VHF. You would have to make a DSC call from your RS 35 manually imputing the MMSI from your AIS contact.

Tom

Last edited by bluewaterpirate; 02-12-2019 at 08:51 AM.
bluewaterpirate is offline  
Old 02-12-2019, 11:04 AM
  #72  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Coltons Point, MD
Posts: 161
Default

Went to West Marine and had them price match the Simrad RS35. Not in stock in the store. He said 13 left in stock at the warehouse. Should arrive tomorrow.
Kfannin is online now  
Old 02-12-2019, 11:54 AM
  #73  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Southeast Michigan
Posts: 2,571
Default

Originally Posted by bluewaterpirate View Post
[An RS-35 radio] works fine connected to a Garmin chart plotter you will see all the AIS targets the RS 35 receives. [sic]
I have some doubt. Can you show us the Garmin displaying an AIS Aid to Navigation target? From what I have read, GARMIN chart plotters don't show AIS AtoN targets.

Cf.: https://www.panbo.com/ais-issues-gar...-amec-and-srt/

and see the subheading "Garmin still not displaying AIS AtoNs"

Also, here I am assuming the RS-35 can handle AIS AtoN targets. That might be an unknown, too.

Last edited by jhebert; 02-14-2019 at 06:00 AM.
jhebert is offline  
Old 02-12-2019, 12:19 PM
  #74  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location:
Posts: 7,884
Default

Whatever Jim .....
bluewaterpirate is offline  
Old 02-12-2019, 01:36 PM
  #75  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 105
Default

Ended up going with an Simrad RS-35. For $229, I don't think I could go wrong. In fact, almost ordered 2 as I was contemplating putting 2 of them on the boat.
MJRCPA is online now  
Old 02-12-2019, 02:38 PM
  #76  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 1,670
Default

Hard to beat that price. Since you have a Simrad plotter, I think you'll be happy with your choice.

Thanks BWP. Having to enter a long MMSI number manually on the VHF is a deal breaker for me. If I have a Garmin chart plotter and I don't want to buy a Garmin VHF (because I think they are way overpriced), do I have any good options? It sounds like I'm going to need to be able t identify targets on the VHF screen in order to not have to enter the MMSI manually. So the size and quality of that screen becomes important. Anyone compared the GX6000 and Icom M506-21 screens? I called West Marine but they don't have any on display.
JB2C is offline  
Old 02-14-2019, 04:01 AM
  #77  
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 91
Default

ď Anyone compared the GX6000 and Icom M506-21 screens? I called West Marine but they don't have any on display.Ē

GX 6000 is better. Much clearer and can be viewed at a much wider angle. M506 viewing angle sucks. GX 6000 screen feels bigger as well. Maybe it is, havenít looked at specs.
qmed is offline  
Old 02-14-2019, 05:50 AM
  #78  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Satellite Beach, FL
Posts: 644
Default

Originally Posted by MJRCPA View Post
Ended up going with an Simrad RS-35. For $229, I don't think I could go wrong. In fact, almost ordered 2 as I was contemplating putting 2 of them on the boat.
I know/beleive Simrad and Lowrance merged some time back....that looks exactly like my Link-8 as far as size, buttons, screen layout....do you know if its like the GMC / Chevy type thing, same guts different emblems?

Maybe I will try that one next. I hated the fact I would have to do something with the dash panel if I went with a different unit.....
chad.sfds is offline  
Old 02-14-2019, 06:00 AM
  #79  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 8,112
Default

Link-8 and RS-35 are identical with one exception....the RS-35 can drive a remote wireless mic.
Parthery is offline  
Old 02-14-2019, 06:03 AM
  #80  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Southeast Michigan
Posts: 2,571
Default

Originally Posted by chad.sfds View Post
I know/beleive Simrad and Lowrance merged some time back
SIMRAD and LOWRANCE are both NAVICO brands. See

https://navico.com/our-brands/

Lowrance and Simrad merged in 2006, about 13-years ago, and NAVICO was created as the parent company.

Simrad came originally from Kongberg Group, a commercial marine electronics company.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Navico

NAVICO is owned by ALTOR Equity Partners, Kongsberg Maritime, and other stakeholders.

Their radio products seem to have the most similarity.

In the USA you can get an idea of internal similarity in radio products by comparing the FCC ID associated with the radio device. Products that are very similar and sold under various brandings often carry the same FCC ID or will be identified as being equivalent to another FCC ID product.

Last edited by jhebert; 02-14-2019 at 06:11 AM.
jhebert is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread