Notices
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By davidwademarine

Simrad Go Plotter and Mercury Gateway

Old 12-23-2018, 06:31 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 8
Default Simrad Go Plotter and Mercury Gateway

Hi,

Hope someone might be able to help...I have updated to the latest firmware in two plotters that I have onboard, they are a Simrad Go9 and a Go5, I have Mercury Gateway attached to the 2k Network but when I turn on the ignition I have no Mercury icon appear in the home screen. When looking at items on the Network the Gateway is there and the Lights on Can and Nmea are both lit on the gateway device... Not sure what more I can do / try.

Only obvious thing... does the engine need to be running or just ignition turned on? The engine is winterised so have not turned it on.. just turn the ignition on.. The engine is a Verado 300

Many thanks...
weirdfish is offline  
Old 12-23-2018, 08:04 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 4,098
Default

Originally Posted by weirdfish View Post
Hi,

Hope someone might be able to help...I have updated to the latest firmware in two plotters that I have onboard, they are a Simrad Go9 and a Go5, I have Mercury Gateway attached to the 2k Network but when I turn on the ignition I have no Mercury icon appear in the home screen. When looking at items on the Network the Gateway is there and the Lights on Can and Nmea are both lit on the gateway device... Not sure what more I can do / try.

Only obvious thing... does the engine need to be running or just ignition turned on? The engine is winterised so have not turned it on.. just turn the ignition on.. The engine is a Verado 300

Many thanks...
You need a Vessel View Link in order to view the Vessel View screen (Mercury icon). When using the NMEA2000 Gateway, the info can be found in the Instruments icon.

Ignition only will allow you to view the info.
davidwademarine is offline  
Old 12-23-2018, 12:51 PM
  #3  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 8
Default

Hi, thanks for replying but I am not really sure what you are saying, what is the Vessel View Link? Is this hardware or a software setting, I thought all I needed was the Gateway which goes between the Smartcraft Hub and the Nmea2000 Backbone? Sorry if I am being thick!
weirdfish is offline  
Old 12-23-2018, 01:34 PM
  #4  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 8
Default

Ok, from reading some more I think I know the answer, I believe that the gateway device that I have is not appropriate for the Simrad machine I have and instead I need to buy the Vessel View Link square black box.. is that correct, What is the Gateway device I have actually for? Thanks...
weirdfish is offline  
Old 12-23-2018, 02:36 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 4,098
Default

Correct, you need the Vessel View Link module in order to open the VV capabilities of a compatible Simrad or Lowrance product.

The NMEA2000 Gateway is used to display SmartCraft data onto any other device capable of displaying engine data.
davidwademarine is offline  
Old 12-23-2018, 02:46 PM
  #6  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 8
Default

What confused me was Simrad appeared to say in the firmware upgrades they now supported Mercury Smartcraft data but what they perhaps didn't say was you still needed the Vessel View Link... bugger I thought I could save some money with the gateway instead wasted it buying it!
weirdfish is offline  
Old 01-12-2019, 05:46 AM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: 757 VB
Posts: 483
Default

Good thread and don’t want to highjack it.

What units it’s from Simrad are compatible with the VV link to act just as the VV 703 or 903?

i currently have a VV7 with the older Merc gateway device that transmits data to my Raymarine MFD’s. Will the gateway not work with newer 703/903 or compatible Simrad unit?

Thnaks.
vyper340 is offline  
Old 01-12-2019, 05:52 AM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 4,098
Default

Originally Posted by vyper340 View Post
Good thread and don’t want to highjack it.

What units it’s from Simrad are compatible with the VV link to act just as the VV 703 or 903?

i currently have a VV7 with the older Merc gateway device that transmits data to my Raymarine MFD’s. Will the gateway not work with newer 703/903 or compatible Simrad unit?

Thnaks.
VesselView® Link connectivity provides a fully integrated, easy-to-use touchscreen interface with Simrad® GO, NSS Evo2, NSO Evo2, NSS Evo3, and NSO Evo3 displays.

The NMEA2000 Gateway will work with the VV 703/903, but it will only allow the engine information to be viewed in the generic Instruments page. The Mercury Vessel View page will not be available without the VVLink.
vyper340 likes this.
davidwademarine is offline  
Old 01-12-2019, 06:31 AM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: 757 VB
Posts: 483
Default

Which Simrad unit is the equivalent of the 703 and also 903? Thinking about getting a Simrad instead of the Vessel View if there was a benefit (adding a separate transducer for added capability)
vyper340 is offline  
Old 01-12-2019, 06:35 AM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 4,098
Default

Simrad NSS7 Evo3 - VV703

Simrad GO9 - VV903

Pricing wise, the VVs are cheaper with the included VVLink. No differences between the units besides a Mercury logo and some wiring connections to the SmartCraft system. Once you install radar, transducers, etc. to a VV, they function all the same as the Simrad units.
davidwademarine is offline  
Old 01-12-2019, 06:55 AM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: 757 VB
Posts: 483
Default

Thanks!

pros cons on GO9 vs NSS9 evo3?
vyper340 is offline  
Old 01-12-2019, 08:39 AM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 4,098
Default

You’re welcome.

GO series is a touchscreen only and the Ethernet and networking capabilies are severely limited.

NSS has the hybrid screen (touchscreen/button combo) as well as full functionality of the Ethernet and networking capabilities.

The NSS always gets my vote.
davidwademarine is offline  
Old 01-13-2019, 11:00 AM
  #13  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: 757 VB
Posts: 483
Default

How about other data sharing like charts or soundings? Will the NEMA share those with the NSS or GO if they are on the Raymarine and it is NEMA hooked up?

I have two different chart cards used in my Raymarine MFD's and they share and curious if I have to buy another card if I want chart on the Simrad/VV unit.

Also, if transducer info is not shared between them, I need recommendations to add upgraded transducer capability for the Simrad/VV? I have a Airmar 265 currently with no CHIRP or other and thinking of a step mount external unit like the TotalScan
vyper340 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: