Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Sundancer 26 Missing GPS-anyone knows what will fit here?

Notices
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By mstyle8517

Sundancer 26 Missing GPS-anyone knows what will fit here?

Reply

Old 12-06-2018, 10:30 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 5
Red face Sundancer 26 Missing GPS-anyone knows what will fit here?

Hi Fellow Boaters, I have 2004 Searay Sundancer 26ft, has the cables and holder but missing the GPS. Can anyone identify what brand/model will fit?. My goal is to use the existing cables/transducer. Are these cables in the attached photos vendor specific or generic?



See photos below. Thanks a lot
Attached Images   
SundancerFL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2018, 06:38 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4,512
Default

100% Raymarine. Because the bracket is short, I would guess it was an RN300 or RC320, the only other unit that uses those plugs is the RC435 but the bracket seems too short to be an RC435. No sounder was ever installed with those 2 wires. All of the above referenced units are not really worth purchasing used and will do you minimal good. I would suggest a small Garmin echomap unit or similar, money way better spent.
UncleLuke likes this.
mstyle8517 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2018, 08:05 PM
  #3  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 5
Default

Thank you very much, Follow up question, can I use the existing transducer? I am assuming not. Can I install a new Garmin when the boat is in the water? According to the searay sundancer manual, there is a cut out for the transducer in the engine room next to the bilge.



Thanks!





Originally Posted by mstyle8517 View Post
100% Raymarine. Because the bracket is short, I would guess it was an RN300 or RC320, the only other unit that uses those plugs is the RC435 but the bracket seems too short to be an RC435. No sounder was ever installed with those 2 wires. All of the above referenced units are not really worth purchasing used and will do you minimal good. I would suggest a small Garmin echomap unit or similar, money way better spent.
SundancerFL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2018, 12:10 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4,512
Default

There was no transducer hooked to that unit. If you have a transducer on the boat, you either didn't show me a picture of the plug (unlikely) or it was or is hooked to something else (smartcraft maybe? A small depth instrument? )
mstyle8517 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2018, 08:19 PM
  #5  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 5
Default

OK, thanks. I understand. I am thinking of getting a Raymarine Axiom 7 and hook up to inhull Airmar 600 W transducer my friend is willing to part ways with. I hope this would work.?
SundancerFL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2018, 08:27 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 1,669
Default

Get the biggest that will fit in the area. The new Raymarine stuff is nicer now. Garmin is usually a good choice. Let me know if you need the name of someone to install it depending on where in Florida you are.
305seahunter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2018, 08:38 PM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 8,193
Default

isnt that metal clamshell installed upside down? not a big deal if its filled with silicone i guess?
mystery is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2018, 08:58 PM
  #8  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks you, it will be a 7 or 9 inch. Thanks for the offer to refer an installer. I will let you know if I need one.
SundancerFL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2018, 08:59 PM
  #9  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 5
Default

It should be correct, the photo was rotated automatically 90 degrees, when I uploaded it, not sure why.
SundancerFL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2018, 09:19 AM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Miami/Key Largo
Posts: 294
Default

I had the same boat and it came with a Raymarine GPS Plotter
Salt and Pepe is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: