Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Simrad NSS12 - stopped showing time in instrument bar

Notices
Like Tree12Likes

Simrad NSS12 - stopped showing time in instrument bar

Old 10-31-2018, 06:44 PM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Silver Spring, Maryland
Posts: 1,676
Default Simrad NSS12 - stopped showing time in instrument bar

I have a first generation Simrad NSS12. This week it stopped showing the time in instrument bar. The time field is still there but it shows three dashes instead of the time (---). I don't think I changed any settings. The unit seems to work fine otherwise.

I have no idea what the problem is. Any suggestions on what could be wrong? How do I fix it?
capt_matt is offline  
Old 10-31-2018, 07:38 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Tarpon Springs, FL
Posts: 2,729
Default

Have you lost battery power for a long time? If so, it may need to be set up again. Just guessing.
GaryDoug is offline  
Old 11-01-2018, 12:53 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,247
Default

It's related to the GPS chip used in first generation NSS.
abbor is online now  
Old 11-01-2018, 07:48 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Silver Spring, Maryland
Posts: 1,676
Default

Originally Posted by abbor View Post
It's related to the GPS chip used in first generation NSS.
Abbor, can you explain a bit more? Thanks!
capt_matt is offline  
Old 11-02-2018, 03:22 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,247
Default

Go to the Setting, System, Satellites and you will see that time, date and year are all incorrect. My HDS Gen2 is showing year 2099, I haven't looked at my first generation NSS but it has the same problem I've been told. The data is according to what I've heard incorrect from the GPS chip. Luckily the software in the MFD is recognizing something is wrong with the time and is displaying dashes instead of incorrect time.

HDS Gen 2 touch and the first generation NSS are the newest models in the HDS and NSS range affected, I think some Hook models are affected as well but I don't have the overview for Hook.
abbor is online now  
Old 11-02-2018, 06:59 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Silver Spring, Maryland
Posts: 1,676
Default

Thanks!

Will there be any software fix?

I had noticed the year 2099 on the satellites page. Makes more sense now.
capt_matt is offline  
Old 11-02-2018, 07:13 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,247
Default

I hope there will be a software fix, but I haven't yet heard what they plan to do.
abbor is online now  
Old 11-02-2018, 02:08 PM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 42
Default

Originally Posted by abbor View Post
Go to the Setting, System, Satellites and you will see that time, date and year are all incorrect. My HDS Gen2 is showing year 2099, I haven't looked at my first generation NSS but it has the same problem I've been told. The data is according to what I've heard incorrect from the GPS chip. Luckily the software in the MFD is recognizing something is wrong with the time and is displaying dashes instead of incorrect time.

HDS Gen 2 touch and the first generation NSS are the newest models in the HDS and NSS range affected, I think some Hook models are affected as well but I don't have the overview for Hook.
My HDS Gen 2 started doing the same last week, also showing the three dash lines and not the time and not displaying the correct tide information. I have called Lowrance tech support Monday and again today and both times they told me there is some kind of service being done to satellites and the time thing should go back to normal in a week or so. Hope that is true.
Flatsinated is offline  
Old 11-03-2018, 04:50 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Cape May Point, NJ
Posts: 507
Default

Reminds me of an issue with my Northstar 961. The owners manual says the tide tables are good until 2099, but they stopped working in 2006. Northstar (now navico) said the unit was beyond it's useful life and there was no way to correct. Maybe this is a subtle way of the manufacturer suggesting that it's time to buy a new one.
kurtzr is offline  
Old 11-03-2018, 08:47 AM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,906
Default

That's simrads way of telling you time for a new screen!
smac999 is offline  
Old 11-05-2018, 02:32 PM
  #11  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 17
Default

I have an NSE12 and a NSS12 networked with other stuff of course.
One of the Gps units (NSS) is showing correct time but 2099 as date.
Main impact is tide data now essentially inaccessible.
Gps sensor for NSE 12 shows correct time but year is 1999.
So no tide data available there either.(practically).
Simrad support in Oz said they'd had a couple of calls re issue.
I'll be pretty pissed off if the units can't be fixed.
OTOH it will be an opportunity to change brands.....
Anyone out there know of a fix yet?????
regards
Alun
obrien43 is offline  
Old 11-05-2018, 03:28 PM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,247
Default

You can manually set the date at the tides page.

I've seen reports at the BBC forum that some users have got the time back. I started up a HDS Gen2 and the satellite view is now correct again. Last time I checked all satellites were shown on top of each other straight north. I waited about 20 minutes to be sure the almanac was downloaded, but the problem still persists. I then did a full reset without fixing the problem, it's now bedtime so I will see tomorrow morning if downloading the almanac after the reset has fixed it.
abbor is online now  
Old 11-05-2018, 04:09 PM
  #13  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 17
Default

Yep, that's why I said it's essentially unusable.
The nse date can be changed one day at a time....
The Nss dates can be changed one month at a time...but that's EVERY TIME YOU OPEN THE PAGE.
I initially had the time problem, but switched between gps sensors a few times and fixed the time but kept the date problem.
I'm not game to play any more in case the whole thing crashes.
Thanks for the feedback any way.
I'm at sea for the next week or so, so it all seems quite immediate to me.
regards
Alun

Last edited by obrien43; 11-05-2018 at 04:10 PM. Reason: spelling
obrien43 is offline  
Old 11-06-2018, 12:49 AM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,247
Default

Still not working for my Gen2, I will contact Navico to try to get more information.
abbor is online now  
Old 11-06-2018, 11:53 PM
  #15  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 17
Default

Hi Abbor
your post is marked 18:49 yesterday, its 17:49 local (Australia) as I write this....
I to work out how long ago you made that post, but my head was going to explode��
Any luck with Navico, my stuff is still in 1999 and 2099.?
regards
Alun

Last edited by obrien43; 11-06-2018 at 11:56 PM. Reason: spelling
obrien43 is offline  
Old 11-07-2018, 02:17 AM
  #16  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,247
Default

I did the post 9:49 AM GMT yesterday.

I haven't had time to contact Navico yet.
abbor is online now  
Old 11-09-2018, 04:53 AM
  #17  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 5
Default

Originally Posted by abbor View Post
Go to the Setting, System, Satellites and you will see that time, date and year are all incorrect. My HDS Gen2 is showing year 2099, I haven't looked at my first generation NSS but it has the same problem I've been told. The data is according to what I've heard incorrect from the GPS chip. Luckily the software in the MFD is recognizing something is wrong with the time and is displaying dashes instead of incorrect time.

HDS Gen 2 touch and the first generation NSS are the newest models in the HDS and NSS range affected, I think some Hook models are affected as well but I don't have the overview for Hook.
My NSS8 chartplotters are exhibiting the same problem - no display of the time. However, if I go to Pages>Tools>Satellites, the correct time is shown. The date however is incorrect (3-26-2099).

Before seeing this thread, I had already started one over on Cruisers Forum on this same topic.

Cheers!

Steve
steve77 is offline  
Old 11-09-2018, 05:35 AM
  #18  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,247
Default

I will do some testing during the weekend to better understand the problem.
abbor is online now  
Old 11-09-2018, 06:27 PM
  #19  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 17
Default

Well, I,m nearly home from this trip. Just a quick update.The problem with the date is still there. So no tidal info for me. The fault has taken out tidal info on both my NSE12 and my NSS12.
Changing date manually is not an option.
It would take 365x20odd key presses on the nse and 12x20ish on the Nss.
And that's each time the page is opened.
Big thumbs down to Simrad for this.
regards
Alun
obrien43 is offline  
Old 11-10-2018, 12:19 AM
  #20  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 5
Default

Originally Posted by obrien43 View Post
Well, I,m nearly home from this trip. Just a quick update.The problem with the date is still there. So no tidal info for me. The fault has taken out tidal info on both my NSE12 and my NSS12.
Changing date manually is not an option.
It would take 365x20odd key presses on the nse and 12x20ish on the Nss.
And that's each time the page is opened.
Big thumbs down to Simrad for this.
regards
Alun
Sorry to hear about the lack of usefulness of tide information. Our issue is not as severe as yours. Although the date on the "Satellites" page is 2099, on the "Tides" page the date is frozen at 10-26-2018. For now, it is only a few key presses to change the date to the current date, although of course each day that goes by requires one more key press.

I'm hoping for a fix before this becomes a major chore. Cheers!

Steve
steve77 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread