Notices

Marinetek

Old 11-27-2002, 03:40 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: S.W. Ga./St James Island
Posts: 217
Default Marinetek

Anyone know anything about Marinetek loran units, esp model : way pointer 2G
Thanks
Slough is offline  
Old 11-27-2002, 04:42 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Skaneateles, New York
Posts: 5,483
Default Marinetek

NO! Stick with Garmin. www.garmin.com Buy at consumersmarine.com or www.GPSdiscounts.com Garmin is the state of the art both in customer service and product. You won't go wrong. [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif[/img]
Mumblerone is offline  
Old 11-28-2002, 05:02 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 3,877
Default Marinetek

Over the years I've had two of those things, well almost two of them. One of the ones I had was the G2 and the other was its predecessor, which had no model number that I recall. They work about as well as any other LORAN and I never had any problem with one breaking down on me. They are also just about as difficult to use as any other LORAN and no more or less accurate than any other. For whatever its worth when I sold the last one I had, which went on the block on E-Bay, I believe I got around $40 for it (complete and with a picture of it up and running in the ad) and I was happy as hell to get that much. Personally I wouldn't have paid more than about $25 for one complete. By the way, they don't seem to suffer from broken connectors inside the coupler near as often as most of the other old junk LORANs out there. I don't know who actually made the things but Dunk mentioned the manufacturer once. They, whoever they were, made the thing (Waypointer) under a good bunch of different brand names and sold them to any one who wanted to resell them. Right off the top of my head I can tell you that Shoreway Marine used to sell it under whatever their house name was and I think West Marine used to carry them under their own name as well.

On a more personal note, you know most all GPS units accept LORAN numbers and do the conversion internally now days. Its not all that accurate but its better than nothing if you have a bunch of old numbers laying around. With that in mind I don't know any good reason on this earth to buy a LORAN. But of course I was saying that 5 years ago and being told I was a fool "because LORAN was going to be around for decades to come".

Thom

"Just because you're on their side doesn't mean they're on your side."
(--Teresa Nielsen Hayden)
Thom is offline  
Old 11-28-2002, 07:40 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: S.W. Ga./St James Island
Posts: 217
Default Marinetek

I just bought a boat that has the unit on it along with a Gps (Lowrance). The manual was lost to the loran and was wondering if the unit was worth trying to get a hold of one.
Slough is offline  
Old 11-28-2002, 09:29 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 3,877
Default Marinetek

I'm not real sure on this but I used to have a VCR tape for running the MarineTec Waypointer LORAN. If I still have it the things yours if you want it.

Thom

"Just because you're on their side doesn't mean they're on your side."
(--Teresa Nielsen Hayden)
Thom is offline  
Old 11-28-2002, 10:34 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: S.W. Ga./St James Island
Posts: 217
Default Marinetek

That would be great.
Thanks : James
Slough is offline  
Old 11-29-2002, 06:48 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: San Diego, CA. USA
Posts: 118
Default Marinetek

Slough,
I have the same unit still installed on my boat and use it as a back up, it has never failed to boot up.
I do have the full opperators manual and would be happy to loan it to you to copy if intersted.
Marinetek is still around, might want to E-Mail them and see if they will send you a copy. [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif[/img]

marinetek@compuserve.com

John.M.

[This message was edited by johnm on 11-29-02 at 09:59 AM.]
johnm is offline  
Old 11-29-2002, 09:44 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 3,877
Default Marinetek

Slough,

Well, I'm sorry to have to tell you that I have the box it came in but not the tape itself. That's the bad news. The good news is that the box has some information on it that may be of some interest to you.

AAR Marinetek
448 South Abbott Avenue
Milpitas. CA 95035
(408) 262-2600, FAX (408) 262-1100

The box also says that the playing time on the tape was 20 minutes so I doubt that the ting could cost much of you could find another copy. Sorry I couldn't find the one I had, but now that I think about it the thing may have been taken when the house was robber several years ago - what the hell, they got everything else.

Sorry 'bout that ....

Thom

"Just because you're on their side doesn't mean they're on your side."
(--Teresa Nielsen Hayden)
Thom is offline  
Old 11-29-2002, 09:49 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: S.W. Ga./St James Island
Posts: 217
Default Marinetek

Thanks yall. Gona e-mail them and see if I can get a manual. If not I may be hollering back.

Thanks again.
James
Slough is offline  
Old 11-30-2002, 05:40 PM
  #10  
MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Land O Lakes, FL
Posts: 39
Default Marinetek

Slough

If you ever want another one for parts or whatever....let me know. I have one I just took off my boat...complete...

[img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_cool.gif[/img]

Fshndude
fshndude is offline  
Old 12-01-2002, 04:25 PM
  #11  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: S.W. Ga./St James Island
Posts: 217
Default Marinetek

Will Do dude.
Slough is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread