Notices

Ray marine axion

Reply

Old 10-11-2018, 02:55 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 29
Default Ray marine axion

can anyone tell me what else I need to buy to get everything to work if I buy an axion system and is the 16 pro worth the extra or would the standard 12 do the same
thanks
35 bert is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 05:23 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 20,742
Default

What do you mean by "everything"..are you talking about hooking the unit to a transducer....or to a radar etc?
semperfifishing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2018, 01:48 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 6,498
Default

Anytime that you can afford and fit a larger screen it's absolutely worth it, so that answers one of your major questions. What are your intended uses for the unit regarding sonar, how do you fish and where do you fish?
InternationalMarineBrian is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2018, 12:21 PM
  #4  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 29
Default

I fish inshore and offshore so sonar use is pretty wide range and yes radar but it says it does the ( bottom picture )
cartoon like picture do you need the 3 transducers or does it work with one it looks like they come with pre loaded charts
also it looks like it can be linked to I phone/ I pad via Bluetooth so I could read the screen from another position do I need something extra to do that ?
thanks
35 bert is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2018, 12:42 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: St Petersburg, Florida
Posts: 506
Default

The only difference between the look of Pro and the standard is the knob and buttons. The Pro has them and the standard does not.

I went with the Pro just because I didn't like the idea of only having touchscreen controls.

I also have the 3 in 1 transducer, works great even at cruising speed.

You can screen mirror as well, I don't think you can control from a remote screen though.

Last edited by Edselectric1; 10-12-2018 at 12:53 PM.
Edselectric1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2018, 12:47 PM
  #6  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: MoCo, MD
Posts: 17
Default

Originally Posted by Edselectric1 View Post
The only difference between the Pro and the standard is the knob and buttons. The Pro has them and the standard does not.

I went with the Pro just because I didn't like the idea of only having touchscreen controls.

I also have the 3 in 1 transducer, works great even at cruising speed.

You can screen mirror as well, I don't think you can control from a remote screen though.
the screen resolution is different and the pro has 1kw sonar vs 600w on the standard.
cbaymd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2018, 12:53 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: St Petersburg, Florida
Posts: 506
Default

Originally Posted by cbaymd View Post


the screen resolution is different and the pro has 1kw sonar vs 600w on the standard.
Edited...
Edselectric1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2018, 03:44 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 280
Default

Is the " standard" ie, non-Pro, even available in 12" ? Wasn't when I bought my 9 Pro.
ranmar850 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2018, 08:12 AM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Waterford, CT
Posts: 34
Default

Originally Posted by ranmar850 View Post
Is the " standard" ie, non-Pro, even available in 12" ? Wasn't when I bought my 9 Pro.
The Axiom 12 and Axiom 12 RV are available. They have the same screen as the 12 pro IPS 1280x800

The Axiom pro has two ethernet ports to the Axiom's 1
Pro has buttons
Pro has NMEA0183 Axiom does not
Pro has 2 wifi connections for use with tablet and wifi Radar simultaneously Axiom has 1 wifi connection
Pro has 2 front mounted chart slots, Axiom has 1 rear
Pro has 1000w dual channel chirp sonar compatible with Airmar transducers as well as raymarine RV transducers, Axiom has 600w dual frequency sonar and RV sonar capabilities.
Defender is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2018, 09:21 AM
  #10  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 25
Default

My opinion is, IF BUDGET ALLOWS, go with the Pro RVX to be able to have buttons and 1kw chirp. Always good to have buttons when under way or when conditions get choppy. Get a RV100 transducer (all-in-one transom mount). With this single transducer you get 1kw chirp sonar, side vision, and 3d. One transducer, one install, set and done. You can always get more creative later on, but I think you'll be satisfied with this.
ED_246 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2018, 10:12 AM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Waterford, CT
Posts: 34
Default

Originally Posted by ED_246 View Post
My opinion is, IF BUDGET ALLOWS, go with the Pro RVX to be able to have buttons and 1kw chirp. Always good to have buttons when under way or when conditions get choppy. Get a RV100 transducer (all-in-one transom mount). With this single transducer you get 1kw chirp sonar, side vision, and 3d. One transducer, one install, set and done. You can always get more creative later on, but I think you'll be satisfied with this.
The traditional sonar element in the RV-100 is not 1000w. Raymarine does not publish the specs on it. You will only get 1000w output when used with an Airmar dual frequency or chirp transducer capable of handling 1000w.

The regular Axiom can fully power the RV-100 transducer.
Defender is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2018, 11:40 AM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 13,187
Default

Only Axiom Pro supports Airmar CHIRP without external sonar module, it's even supporting dual channel CHIRP. The CHIRP sonar module is almost identical to the external CP470 module.
abbor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2018, 02:13 PM
  #13  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 440
Default

The built in sonar in the Pro is 1kw,which is very nice.The sounder in the CP470 is up to 2kw.They are not the same.If you have a 2kw transducer,the internal pro sounder will work and plug right in,but there not the same.There very similar but the CP470 has more power.Have used and tested them all.Capt.Mike
Daybreaker1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2018, 02:23 PM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 13,187
Default

I wrote they were almost identical, and used almost due to the different max transmit power which is not important for most users. I was told by Raymarine Norway that the Axiom Pro sonar and CP470 are identical except for max transmit power. Given that probably 99% or more of Airmar CHIRP transducers sold are 1kW or less they would for most users be identical in performance.
abbor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2018, 06:46 AM
  #15  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 25
Default

Originally Posted by Defender View Post
The traditional sonar element in the RV-100 is not 1000w. Raymarine does not publish the specs on it. You will only get 1000w output when used with an Airmar dual frequency or chirp transducer capable of handling 1000w.

The regular Axiom can fully power the RV-100 transducer.
Thanks for the clarification, I had been told differently and like you said the Raymarine website is super vague on transducer specs.
ED_246 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2018, 12:00 PM
  #16  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ct
Posts: 1,352
Default

Hey Defender (love your store btw) I'll be looking at stepping up to a Pro16 at some point but just for coastal cruising no fishing, can I just reuse my 2015 E127 Transducer or should I upgrade and to what?
Ctsearay is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2018, 01:18 PM
  #17  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 440
Default

You will love the 16 pro.I have used the 9, 12 and 16 extensively. Just finished testing the Axiom XL 22. I am pretty sure you can use your transducer with a adaptor cable. The transducer you have with the 127 is not chirp? Depends what you do as to transducer selection. Capt.Mike
Daybreaker1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2018, 01:20 PM
  #18  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ct
Posts: 1,352
Default

Sweet, I've just got to measure her up before the winter to make sure she will fit properly. I know the 12 does as its a direct replacement.
Ctsearay is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2018, 06:12 AM
  #19  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Waterford, CT
Posts: 34
Default

Originally Posted by Ctsearay View Post
Hey Defender (love your store btw) I'll be looking at stepping up to a Pro16 at some point but just for coastal cruising no fishing, can I just reuse my 2015 E127 Transducer or should I upgrade and to what?
Unfortunately you cannot re-use your e127 transducer. The transducers with "embedded" also called "A series style"connectors are non differential and will not work even with adapter cables. Only DSM300/CP370 style Airmar transducers will work with the Axiom Pro.

The regular Axiom CAN work with your e127 with the A80488 adapter cable.
Defender is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: