Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Simrad NSS7 Evo 3 to replace Yamaha gauges

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Simrad NSS7 Evo 3 to replace Yamaha gauges

Old 09-19-2018, 05:52 AM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 59
Likes: 0
Received 10 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Simrad NSS7 Evo 3 to replace Yamaha gauges

Hello all,

I am looking at ordering a new Robalo R207, they come with the circular Yamaha gauges and an optional Garmin unit, I was talking with the dealer about getting a Simrad NSS7 Evo 3 over the Garmin unit and also the possibility of having a second NSS7 installed instead of the Yamaha gauges. My thinking is I can use engine data on that to do everything the Yamaha gauges would do plus have the option to have maps on one screen and sonar on the other or any number of combinations. Is there anything I would be missing going this route? From what I am seeing I would have more data available than the Yamaha gauges but haven't found anything to confirm. I would be getting the digital F200 if that matters. Thanks in advance for the input!
Old 09-19-2018, 07:20 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 6,464
Received 946 Likes on 736 Posts
Default

you have two choices - with and without the Yamaha "Gateway":
Gateway kit

1. by connecting to the Yamaha via the Gateway and a NMEA 2000 network,
your Simrad will actually emulate a Yamaha Command Link display -
so that in addition to displaying all engine data, you can, on the Simrad, perform:
  • Tank calibration
  • Engine Trim calibration
  • Fuel Flow calibration
  • Alarm Config(limit setting/on/off)
  • Fault Code Reporting
  • Maintenance intervals
  • troll speed control
Link to a Navico document with some explanation:

http://ww2.simrad-yachting.com/Root/...-12016-001.pdf



2. If you don't spring for the Gateway,
but simply connect with a Yamaha-to-NMEA connector adapter cable
the Simrads will be able to display engine operating data -
but will not have all the above bulleted capability

Last edited by Fwpratt; 09-19-2018 at 09:50 AM.
Old 09-19-2018, 09:05 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 112
Likes: 0
Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

I believe fuel flow comes across either way
Old 09-19-2018, 09:54 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Marblehead, MA
Posts: 456
Received 51 Likes on 38 Posts
Default

One thing to note, as I was/am considering doing dual larger screens and eliminating gauges instead of one huge. Is that you are only one update away from having no engine data at all. You rely upon Navico and Yamaha software playing well together. In my personal opinion I think its fine but professionals have warned me of this.
Old 09-19-2018, 09:55 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 6,464
Received 946 Likes on 736 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by bubba102105 View Post
I believe fuel flow comes across either way
You are correct.
difference is, the emulated Yamaha gauge allows for adjustment of the value
Old 09-19-2018, 05:33 PM
  #6  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 59
Likes: 0
Received 10 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Fwpratt View Post
you have two choices - with and without the Yamaha "Gateway":
Gateway kit

1. by connecting to the Yamaha via the Gateway and a NMEA 2000 network,
your Simrad will actually emulate a Yamaha Command Link display -
so that in addition to displaying all engine data, you can, on the Simrad, perform:
  • Tank calibration
  • Engine Trim calibration
  • Fuel Flow calibration
  • Alarm Config(limit setting/on/off)
  • Fault Code Reporting
  • Maintenance intervals
  • troll speed control
Link to a Navico document with some explanation:

http://ww2.simrad-yachting.com/Root/...-12016-001.pdf



2. If you don't spring for the Gateway,
but simply connect with a Yamaha-to-NMEA connector adapter cable
the Simrads will be able to display engine operating data -
but will not have all the above bulleted capability
Thank you for the info! Exactly what I was looking for, do you happen to know if the "nmea 2000 package - Yamaha" listed as an option on the Robalo gives this capability? Or is that just for engine data without the gateway?
Old 09-19-2018, 05:34 PM
  #7  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 59
Likes: 0
Received 10 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Ncska21 View Post
One thing to note, as I was/am considering doing dual larger screens and eliminating gauges instead of one huge. Is that you are only one update away from having no engine data at all. You rely upon Navico and Yamaha software playing well together. In my personal opinion I think its fine but professionals have warned me of this.
That is a good point
Old 04-17-2019, 02:04 PM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Marathon Fl. (Sombrero Isle)
Posts: 3,046
Received 347 Likes on 239 Posts
Default

Sorry to bring up a older thread, but I got a question, a friend has a simrad evo, with a yamaha 200 on it. He started that he used to have a yamaha Icon and that he does have the kit installed (done by dealer) He said he was messing around on the screen and the Yamaha icon disappeared. IF I was to help hum out, Is there a software turn off/ on the yamaha icon or do you think it is a wiring issue. He does not even get the Yamaha icon any more, almost like the gateway is no longer connected. Just wierd on how it would fail while he was messing around with the touchscreen.


It does appear to be getting some engine data via the nema right now.

Highflier
Old 04-17-2019, 02:10 PM
  #9  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 59
Likes: 0
Received 10 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by highflier1 View Post
Sorry to bring up a older thread, but I got a question, a friend has a simrad evo, with a yamaha 200 on it. He started that he used to have a yamaha Icon and that he does have the kit installed (done by dealer) He said he was messing around on the screen and the Yamaha icon disappeared. IF I was to help hum out, Is there a software turn off/ on the yamaha icon or do you think it is a wiring issue. He does not even get the Yamaha icon any more, almost like the gateway is no longer connected. Just wierd on how it would fail while he was messing around with the touchscreen.


It does appear to be getting some engine data via the nema right now.

Highflier
I just took delivery of my boat yesterday so I haven't had a whole lot of time with the electronics yet, they did however show me that they have the gateway powered through an accessory switch, on my boat if that gateway is not powered on before the engine is started the Yamaha icon will not show up. Not sure if that is your issue or not but they other thing I would check is your wiring. Make sure the gateway is getting power and connected to the motor and the Evo. Hope that helps
Old 04-17-2019, 02:28 PM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Marathon Fl. (Sombrero Isle)
Posts: 3,046
Received 347 Likes on 239 Posts
Default

Hmmmm, he has switches that he does not know what it is used for.... Great idea of what to check, If I can see gateway I can see what it is wired to for power

Thanks !!!
Old 04-17-2019, 02:40 PM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Greater London UK
Posts: 1,082
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

IF the Yamaha icon was there before - he would have had an Alert saying something like "Yamaha Integration not available and will be switched off" - on the Simrad. At least I do with my Lowrance NOS 59 with Yamaha IF.

On mine the pigtail goes to Yamaha instruments and I think power flows from Pigtail/Yamaha side. The NMEA Len is VERY low (power consumption on NMEA network) for it to be the main driver - or Yamaha is very efficient...

Sounds like NMEA cable fail or pigtail fail.
Old 04-17-2019, 02:49 PM
  #12  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 59
Likes: 0
Received 10 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by highflier1 View Post
Hmmmm, he has switches that he does not know what it is used for.... Great idea of what to check, If I can see gateway I can see what it is wired to for power

Thanks !!!
Hopefully you get it figured out! Probably something simple, the hard part is just finding it haha. Let me know if you do figure it out in case it's something different and it happens to me lol
Old 04-17-2019, 04:42 PM
  #13  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Marathon Fl. (Sombrero Isle)
Posts: 3,046
Received 347 Likes on 239 Posts
Default

Well not my boat, so I will probably look for the simple stuff, I wired mine into my garmin myself and did not use the gateway, but I do get almost all the info.
I will post back, but will likely be days before I look at it.
Old 04-17-2019, 06:14 PM
  #14  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 129
Likes: 0
Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

Once the icon appears it will not likely "leave" the unit. Have him go to advanced setting and see if the checkmark for the Yamaha app turned off. If he doesn't know how to get there let me know and I'll give you directions to get to it. If it's totally gone, then I would do a soft reset (no waypoints, and tracks)and then when the unit sees the gateway for the first time again it should pop up again. Another thing he could try, if he's able to get the icon again and keeps having issues, is to reset the gateway through the yamaha settings. I'm curious if he can see the gateway in the device list, but the data list is incomplete...

Last edited by ED_246; 04-17-2019 at 06:21 PM.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.