Notices

SiriusXM Marine Weather Activation Time

Old 08-11-2018, 09:46 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 257
Thumbs down SiriusXM Marine Weather Activation Time

how long does it typically take to get the precipitation radar once the Marine Weather package is activated?

I recently installed a SR150 Raymarine XM receiver and antenna. I activated it yesterday, while I was at the boat. Shortly after I started getting Wind and Wave info, Lightning info and Noaa forecasts, etc.
However, i haven't received any of the precipitation radar mapping or animated views. I sent myself a refresh link that day.

Today I went back out to finish up some of the wiring and had the XM receiver on the whole time (about 3 hours) and sent a new refresh signal. By the time I was done with my tasks, it still had not received any of the precipitation mapping.

thoughts?
nicksterFL is offline  
Old 08-11-2018, 11:17 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Miami - Coral Gables (Islamorada, Abaco, GHC, Lucaya)
Posts: 701
Default

When the system is receiving data (which is sounds like your is) it should build the precipitation within one minute and then it will rebuild with each new rendering. You might be making a rookie mistake that I first did which is not seeing rain because ... well, there was no rain. Try zooming way out and then check. Compare it against a radar app that you might have on your phone and make sure that the area on your chartplotter is zoomed out to an area of rain.
MiamiJay is offline  
Old 08-11-2018, 11:20 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 257
Default

Originally Posted by MiamiJay View Post
When the system is receiving data (which is sounds like your is) it should build the precipitation within one minute and then it will rebuild with each new rendering. You might be making a rookie mistake that I first did which is not seeing rain because ... well, there was no rain. Try zooming way out and then check. Compare it against a radar app that you might have on your phone and make sure that the area on your chartplotter is zoomed out to an area of rain.
I wish that was the case, but it's been pouring rain here in west central FL. Actually had a few rain bands come through while I was at the marina trouble shooting this.
It shows the lightning strikes and storm arrows, etc. but just doesn't show the rain precipitation maps/animation.
nicksterFL is offline  
Old 08-11-2018, 11:40 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Stapleton, AL
Posts: 2,700
Default

Yeah yours definitely has problems. Mine takes about 5-7 minutes from power up before it shows storms cells. Then it takes about 30 minutes to have a full history so you can see which way the storm is moving.

you can go in the weather settings and there's a list of all the features (lightning, SST, wind, wave, etc) it will have a clock/timer next to each showing how old the data is (telling you the last time it received a signal for that data). I would be curious to see what yours says about radar.
mdees88 is online now  
Old 08-11-2018, 09:02 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: St. Petersburg
Posts: 356
Default

Make sure you have it turned on in the menu....
rltrbill is offline  
Old 08-11-2018, 10:27 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 257
Default

Originally Posted by rltrbill View Post
Make sure you have it turned on in the menu....
Yeah it's turned on.
nicksterFL is offline  
Old 08-12-2018, 05:58 AM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Indialantic,Fl/ Keys
Posts: 341
Default

I was having issues with mine recently doing the same, and had to send a refresh signal 3 times to get the data to start showing. Not sure why, but maybe its worth a shot.
karma74 is offline  
Old 08-12-2018, 08:35 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 257
Default

So I went back out to the Boat this morning and called Sirius. They sent two more refresh signals and same issue.
One thing i noticed though, on the data I did receive the wind forecasts showed a date of 9/26th! Over a month in advance? And the animation view of this forecast was only 8am and 10am starting on Sept 26th.
I checked the date/time on my MFD and it's all fine it gets this info from satellite I presume and then I can only set the offset from UTC.

I called Sirius again and they're now telling me to call Raymarine. I wonder if the issue is with my SR150 receiver?

I could see if I was having an issue with the receiver that i wouldn't get any data, but I am. just only some of it.
nicksterFL is offline  
Old 08-12-2018, 08:38 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 257
Default




nicksterFL is offline  
Old 08-12-2018, 01:48 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 354
Default

Update the SR150 software.
Where did you get it from? I saw this issue years ago but it was solved with an update. Was it an older unit you purchased or old stock?
The first 3 numbers of the serial number will give you build date.
MikeBador is offline  
Old 08-12-2018, 02:00 PM
  #11  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 257
Default

Originally Posted by MikeBador View Post
Update the SR150 software.
Where did you get it from? I saw this issue years ago but it was solved with an update. Was it an older unit you purchased or old stock?
The first 3 numbers of the serial number will give you build date.
I bought it on eBay, so possibly is an older unit.
Just looked, and the first three numbers on SN is 7016. So July 2016?

How would I update the software with an Axiom RV MFD? I looked online, but only saw directions on updating the SR150 from other MFDs.
nicksterFL is offline  
Old 08-12-2018, 02:26 PM
  #12  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 257
Default

Originally Posted by MikeBador View Post
Update the SR150 software.
Where did you get it from? I saw this issue years ago but it was solved with an update. Was it an older unit you purchased or old stock?
The first 3 numbers of the serial number will give you build date.
Part Number is part of the SN, so maybe that date I referenced is incorrect?

nicksterFL is offline  
Old 08-12-2018, 03:26 PM
  #13  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 354
Default

Serial number is 1130023, unit was made in November 2013
Perform the update... That's your issue.
SR150
You will need to Call Raymarine on how to update from an Axiom, you might need someone to connect to a compatible unit to update.
MikeBador is offline  
Old 08-12-2018, 04:27 PM
  #14  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 257
Default

Originally Posted by MikeBador View Post
Serial number is 1130023, unit was made in November 2013
Perform the update... That's your issue.
SR150
You will need to Call Raymarine on how to update from an Axiom, you might need someone to connect to a compatible unit to update.
Thanks MikeBador.
I'm going to look into updating the SR150 and will report back.
nicksterFL is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread