Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Garmin 7612xsv, Total fuel capacity resets

Notices
Like Tree3Likes

Garmin 7612xsv, Total fuel capacity resets

Old 01-08-2019, 07:38 AM
  #61  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 882
Default

Originally Posted by Joe View Post
Todd/Fwpratt-

Can you comment on not using J1939 and NMEA2K on the same unit? Did I make that up or did one of you post that?

Sounds like that isn't the issue for the OP however.
Joe, I think you may be remembering this statement I made on a different thread back in March:

If your unit does not have a J1939 connector then you need to either use a CL7 or a Gateway to provide engine data.

It is possible for a customer to have one J1939 unit directly connected to the bus and a second, non-J1939 unit using a gateway or CL7. However, a CL7 and a gateway cannot exist on the same network. They are essentially, the same thing and will conflict with each other.

Note that this information does not share over the Garmin Marine Network.
Todd Driscoll is offline  
Old 01-08-2019, 07:41 AM
  #62  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bahrain/Houma,LA
Posts: 222
Default

After reading a few Fwpratt's posts, I suspect my issue with the J1939 port is I am connected to a command link system, not command link plus. However I am getting engine data and the Yamaha emulation gauge on the MFD through the J1939 port. It is connected directly to the yamaha hub with no gateway. I have verified this by having only power and the J1939 port connected to one of my displays. I am overall happy with my setup now and can live with not having remaining fuel on both units. One is plenty, lol. Below is my setup and showing that is does work. Note, I did get rid of the navigation data bar on the sonar screen after the pic. That was one of the last settings I needed to get back to where I was before. The fuel consumed and fuel remaining readings between Yamaha and Garmin are slightly out of sync due to resetting everything after burning a little over a gallon of fuel after filling up. Primarily I wanted the yamaha gauge for troll mode, as I have no gauges installed.



getusummm is offline  
Old 01-08-2019, 08:49 AM
  #63  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 31
Default

Getusummm-

It's as you suspected, I disconnected my J1939 port and now the fuel remaining works as it should. It didn't even occur to me to check that, and it totally makes sense now. My old unit, a 7610xsv never had this problem until I replaced it with the 7612xsv. The difference was that the 7612 had the J1939 port and I had installed the cable that goes from the unit to the CL hub at the same time as installing the new unit.

Well done sir, and hopefully Garmin can out with a fix because the Yamaha "Troll" mode would be nice to use with my DEC system.
carlt2000 is offline  
Old 01-08-2019, 01:40 PM
  #64  
Joe
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Mt Pleasant, SC
Posts: 16,105
Default

That was it is. Thanks for the clarification.

Originally Posted by Todd Driscoll View Post
Joe, I think you may be remembering this statement I made on a different thread back in March:

If your unit does not have a J1939 connector then you need to either use a CL7 or a Gateway to provide engine data.

It is possible for a customer to have one J1939 unit directly connected to the bus and a second, non-J1939 unit using a gateway or CL7. However, a CL7 and a gateway cannot exist on the same network. They are essentially, the same thing and will conflict with each other.

Note that this information does not share over the Garmin Marine Network.
Joe is offline  
Old 01-24-2019, 06:54 AM
  #65  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 882
Default

Originally Posted by carlt2000 View Post
Getusummm-

It's as you suspected, I disconnected my J1939 port and now the fuel remaining works as it should. It didn't even occur to me to check that, and it totally makes sense now. My old unit, a 7610xsv never had this problem until I replaced it with the 7612xsv. The difference was that the 7612 had the J1939 port and I had installed the cable that goes from the unit to the CL hub at the same time as installing the new unit.

Well done sir, and hopefully Garmin can out with a fix because the Yamaha "Troll" mode would be nice to use with my DEC system.
carlt2000, please check your PMs. I need additional info from you. thanks
Todd Driscoll is offline  
Old 01-24-2019, 10:40 AM
  #66  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 31
Default

Originally Posted by Todd Driscoll View Post
carlt2000, please check your PMs. I need additional info from you. thanks

PM sent
carlt2000 is offline  
Old 01-24-2019, 01:41 PM
  #67  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 882
Default

Originally Posted by carlt2000 View Post
PM sent
Just checked, no PM, please resend
Todd Driscoll is offline  
Old 01-24-2019, 01:46 PM
  #68  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 31
Default

Originally Posted by Todd Driscoll View Post
Just checked, no PM, please resend
I think it didn't go through because my email address was in it. So i'm not really sure what the best way to give you my contact info would me...
carlt2000 is offline  
Old 01-24-2019, 02:04 PM
  #69  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 882
Default

Originally Posted by carlt2000 View Post
I think it didn't go through because my email address was in it. So i'm not really sure what the best way to give you my contact info would me...
Many others have sent me their email by PM with no issues. Phone number works fine too.
Todd Driscoll is offline  
Old 01-24-2019, 02:09 PM
  #70  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 31
Default

Originally Posted by Todd Driscoll View Post
Many others have sent me their email by PM with no issues. Phone number works fine too.
I must have missed it the first time I sent it, I tried again and got this message

"
  1. Todd Driscoll has exceeded their stored private messages quota and cannot accept further messages until they clear some space."
carlt2000 is offline  
Old 01-24-2019, 02:19 PM
  #71  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 882
Default

Originally Posted by carlt2000 View Post
I must have missed it the first time I sent it, I tried again and got this message

"
  1. Todd Driscoll has exceeded their stored private messages quota and cannot accept further messages until they clear some space."
Sorry, that's it, didn't realize my PM box was full. Resend now, thanks
Todd Driscoll is offline  
Old 01-29-2019, 10:16 AM
  #72  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 31
Default

Todd, it looks like version 14.20 has solved this issue. I have reconnected the J1939 connection and verified that I no longer have to re-enter the total fuel capacity, and the total fuel remaining status appears to be working fine, it doesn't blank out anymore.

Thank you very much for your assistance with this issue!
-Carl
carlt2000 is offline  
Old 01-29-2019, 11:18 AM
  #73  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 882
Default

Originally Posted by carlt2000 View Post
Todd, it looks like version 14.20 has solved this issue. I have reconnected the J1939 connection and verified that I no longer have to re-enter the total fuel capacity, and the total fuel remaining status appears to be working fine, it doesn't blank out anymore.

Thank you very much for your assistance with this issue!
-Carl
Thanks for the update!
Todd Driscoll is offline  
Old 01-29-2019, 11:39 AM
  #74  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bahrain/Houma,LA
Posts: 222
Default

Todd, when will 14.20 be released to the general public?
getusummm is offline  
Old 01-30-2019, 11:32 AM
  #75  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 882
Default

Originally Posted by getusummm View Post
Todd, when will 14.20 be released to the general public?
14.20 is now available for public download
Todd Driscoll is offline  
Old 02-11-2019, 08:21 PM
  #76  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bahrain/Houma,LA
Posts: 222
Default

Todd, the latest updates seems to have cured the fuel display issues. Now even the Yamaha page will show remaining fuel.

A couple of oddities.

If I "fill up all tanks", the Yamaha page will show full and stay there for a while. Initially I thought it wasn't working properly, so I switched back to fuel used. Later in the day I checked again and it was showing the actual remaining fuel. I will leave it here next time and see how many gallons have to be used before it actually goes from showing "full" to the number of gallons remaining.

The other odd thing is engine warnings. On my unit that is connected to only the nmea network only, I will get engine warnings. On the unit connected to the nmea network and J1939 port, I do not get them. For me, its not an issue, as I at least get them on one unit. I wonder if other guys that only have one screen and are connected to the J1939 port are missing engine warnings? My boat has twin 350 Yamahas, so if the engines are trimmed a touch too high, the engines can easily over rev when taking off, so its easy for me to test this. I havnt tried disconnecting it from the nmea network and only using the J1939 port. Any chance that this is the issue? I am running command link, not the plus. The J1939 port is connected to a device port on the hub. The nmea network is connected to the hub on a bus port to the end of my network tee, not a drop on the tee. There is a terminator on the Yamaha hub and one terminator on the end nmea network. No gateway is used.

If there is anything I should try to do, let me know. I have multiple cables and plugs available to hook this system up in any possible configuration.

Let me end by saying, I am happy with the system now and have no issues. It works fine for me, but there is the possibly someone else may be missing important info coming from the engine(s).
getusummm is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread