Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Can you transfer Garmin base maps unit to unit?

Notices

Can you transfer Garmin base maps unit to unit?

Old 07-03-2018, 06:11 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 2
Default Can you transfer Garmin base maps unit to unit?

So here is my dilemma, my Garmin Echomap 74sv (w/ Coastal base maps) has stopped working and will need service. I'd like to go out this weekend (Coastal NC) and wouldnt feel too comfortable without navigation/depth finder etc so Im thinking of buying a second smaller unit to use in the meantime utilizing my same transducer/wiring etc. And then when I get my Echomap 74sv, turn the smaller unit into a dedicated navigator/charter.

So my question is, if I bought a second unit w/ LakeVu (inland base maps), could I also transfer the coastal base maps from my original unit to it? And use either. I'd rather not spend the extra 150/200 for the HD maps garmin offers.

Thanks for any input.
jthomps123 is offline  
Old 07-03-2018, 08:12 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Watâ'gi Lake...TN
Posts: 277
Default

ost
bansil is offline  
Old 07-03-2018, 04:45 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Falmouth, MA
Posts: 5,529
Default

No
chainsaw42 is online now  
Old 07-04-2018, 06:50 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 354
Default

Definitely no.., they need to make money on their charts somewhere... :-)
MikeBador is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread