Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Raymarine E-80 Video Question

Old 07-25-2006, 06:43 PM
  #1  
MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location:
Posts: 54
Default Raymarine E-80 Video Question

I know that the video inputs on Raymarine's E-series can play television, DVDs -- even video games (go figure). Does anyone know if an E-80 can be used as a computer monitor, or if it can be configured to do so? I have a pair of E-80s on my fly and I'd love to run my network upstairs without buying another costly screen -- the E's were expensive enough -- or having to lug the laptop. Any advice is appreciated. Thanks.
Mainshipman is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 06:46 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,400
Default Re: Raymarine E-80 Video Question

don't think so.... that is ntsc or pal video input, not digital from a laptop unless yours outputs that way and I doubt that...
Glen E is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 08:25 PM
  #3  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location:
Posts: 10
Default Re: Raymarine E-80 Video Question

Yes it can be done.
For best results use the svideo inputs into the raymarine, and get a VGA to svideo converter.
The image will not be the best quality.
You will probably want an RF mouse as well. Look at the Interlink VP4810.
jgms is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 08:33 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,400
Default Re: Raymarine E-80 Video Question

jgms - 7/25/2006 8:25 PM

Yes it can be done.
For best results use the svideo inputs into the raymarine, and get a VGA to svideo converter.
The image will not be the best quality.
You will probably want an RF mouse as well. Look at the Interlink VP4810.
of course it can be done..... but that's not what he wanted to know...

you can do it via a workaround..but try it somewhere else before you invest 'caus the video out this way will not be the best...
Glen E is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 08:43 PM
  #5  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location:
Posts: 10
Default Re: Raymarine E-80 Video Question

Glen E - 7/25/2006 5:33 PM

jgms - 7/25/2006 8:25 PM

Yes it can be done.
For best results use the svideo inputs into the raymarine, and get a VGA to svideo converter.
The image will not be the best quality.
You will probably want an RF mouse as well. Look at the Interlink VP4810.
of course it can be done..... but that's not what he wanted to know...
Mainshipman - 7/25/2006 3:43 PM
Does anyone know if an E-80 can be used as a computer monitor, or if it can be configured to do so?


I know a you can convert vga to svideo (done it quite a few times), and I know the Raymarine can take svideo in. I told him the image would not be the best...
So can a Raymarine E-series be used as a display for a PC, yes
Will it be better than a true PC monitor, no
jgms is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 11:13 AM
  #6  
MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location:
Posts: 54
Default Re: Raymarine E-80 Video Question

This is really helpful. Thanks a bunch. Given the expense, it was worth checking out. But it seems like it is not worth the trouble to get marginal quality video. I'll find some other way...
Mainshipman is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 12:01 PM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bethesda, MD, USA
Posts: 554
Default Re: Raymarine E-80 Video Question

Marginal? No, not really but then again you're not going to be able to push more than 800x600 into it. Trouble is most laptop displays are running at at least 1024x768 and this really does not modulate well into an NTSC signal (be it composite or s-video). That and most programs are such pigs on wasting screen real estate that you can only BARELY use them on an 800x600 resolution screen.

Some schemes try to work around this using pan/scroll features. Where the display is only 800x600 but the virtual desktop behind it can be (much) larger. The video simply pans to the left/right/up/down to move that part of the desktop into view. This is better in that you can at least get a decent picture but then you've gotta pan all the danged time to get to the various screen widgets you need to use.

I'll be pushing a PC converted video display into our E-80 sometime later this month and will report the results. I'm not expecting anything better than 800x600 to be workable. I fully expect anything more than cursory use of it will require using an actual full-resolution LCD located belowdecks. But for secondary display of stuff like Nexrad weather graphics downloaded from the cell phone it'll probably be more than enough to use converted video into the E-80.
wkearney99 is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 06:57 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Westerly, RI
Posts: 4,801
Default RE: Raymarine E-80 Video Question

I have done it on an E-120 the picture was not very good. I do not think it would be worth your while.IMO
Rival1 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread