Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Garmin Dome swap - GMR 40 vs 41

Old 07-25-2006, 04:52 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,400
Default Garmin Dome swap - GMR 40 vs 41

Was able to pull a deal so I could swap my GMR40 for a smaller 41. Both are 4kw. My wife calls the 40 a "table for two" and the 41 a "table for one" and she's right - looks much better on my t-top which is only 6 feet wide. Performance looks the same in a quick test I ran this aft....

The old big one:

The new smaller one:

the overall look:
Glen E is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 04:55 PM
  #2  
Formerly AnthemCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,883
Default RE: Garnin Dome swap - gmr40 vs 41

Looks good Glen, nice balanced look.
LivingWaters22 is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 07:55 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,400
Default Re: Garmin Dome swap - GMR 40 vs 41

Thx..much better........
Glen E is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 11:10 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Palm Coast, Fl.
Posts: 1,446
Default RE: Garmin Dome swap - GMR 40 vs 41

Glenn, quick question. Some time ago on this forum it was mentioned that the Garmin radar connector was very large and difficult to run through a T-top. What diameter hole is necessary to get the connector and cable snaked through?
Team Ruby
Team Ruby is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 11:23 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,400
Default RE: Garmin Dome swap - GMR 40 vs 41

Team Ruby - 7/25/2006 11:10 PM

Glenn, quick question. Some time ago on this forum it was mentioned that the Garmin radar connector was very large and difficult to run through a T-top. What diameter hole is necessary to get the connector and cable snaked through?
Team Ruby
the cable is flat, white 1/2 inch type...one end is a network type weatherproof threaded type that fits in the dome...the other end looks like cat 5 ethernet stuff....but if you want to fish it, you need to cut that end and reapply a cat 5 connector with a special crimper at radio shack for $20 ..garmin gives you everything to reapply it with locking ring....do a search here for reapplying a cat 5 connector - do "ethernet" - I had no problem fishin it.......
Glen E is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 01:56 AM
  #6  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location:
Posts: 4
Default RE: Garmin Dome swap - GMR 40 vs 41

Looks good Glen.

The plug needs a 1.25" hole if you're not going to cut and re-fit.
Kuredu is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 04:11 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Palm Coast, Fl.
Posts: 1,446
Default RE: Garmin Dome swap - GMR 40 vs 41

Glenn - Thank you for that piece of information. I was leaning away from it based on what I had read some time ago but you have just put those fears away.
Thanks, Team Ruby
Team Ruby is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 10:56 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Downtown Miami Florida
Posts: 344
Default Re: Garmin Dome swap - GMR 40 vs 41

Glenn: i thought you were going to get the new open array radar from Garmin ?

How's the 41 working out for you? would you feel completely comfortable navigating in darkness or rain solely based on the GPS and Radar combo? can you track birds on the closed array?

I'm considering the 3210 but not sure on closed vs open array.
Thanks
intreppy345 is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 10:57 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Downtown Miami Florida
Posts: 344
Default Re: Garmin Dome swap - GMR 40 vs 41

Glenn: i thought you were going to get the new open array radar from Garmin ? How's the 41 working out for you? would you feel completely comfortable navigating in darkness or rain solely based on the GPS and Radar combo? can you track birds on the closed array? I'm considering the 3210 but not sure on closed vs open array. Thanks
intreppy345 is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 11:00 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,400
Default Re: Garmin Dome swap - GMR 40 vs 41

intreppy345 - 7/26/2006 10:56 PM

Glenn: i thought you were going to get the new open array radar from Garmin ?

How's the 41 working out for you? would you feel completely comfortable navigating in darkness or rain solely based on the GPS and Radar combo? can you track birds on the closed array?

I'm considering the 3210 but not sure on closed vs open array.
Thanks
open array was too tall and big for my t-top, and put me within inches of clearing my local bridge at hi tide...the 41 has the same perfomance as my 40... no disceranble diff in a sea trial last nite. Yes - I would feel comfortable using gps and radar at night/fog....
Glen E is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 11:44 PM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Downtown Miami Florida
Posts: 344
Default Re: Garmin Dome swap - GMR 40 vs 41

Glen: well i guess my decision is made. My boat is already pretty tall as it is but if you say the open is way taller then I'd hit everything in site. I'll probably wait for the next boat show to trial it and see if they have a deal. My ideal system would be a 3210 with GMR41 and the weather/xm radio service. I already have a separate fishfinder so might as well just keep that.
intreppy345 is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 11:50 PM
  #12  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,400
Default Re: Garmin Dome swap - GMR 40 vs 41

intreppy345 - 7/26/2006 11:44 PM

Glen: well i guess my decision is made. My boat is already pretty tall as it is but if you say the open is way taller then I'd hit everything in site. I'll probably wait for the next boat show to trial it and see if they have a deal. My ideal system would be a 3210 with GMR41 and the weather/xm radio service. I already have a separate fishfinder so might as well just keep that.
the open is at least 21 inches high....too much for me...the 41 with a 5 inch strut is about 10 inches....
Glen E is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 12:11 AM
  #13  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Downtown Miami Florida
Posts: 344
Default Re: Garmin Dome swap - GMR 40 vs 41

damn that's twice as big!!! in my situation, lower is definately better!
intreppy345 is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 02:28 AM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 108
Default RE: Garmin Dome swap - GMR 40 vs 41

Hello Glen E

have just installed the 3210 on my boat but i cant get my network to see the radar. Did you have any issues?

when i opened the box there was a piece of paper saying that my unit would need an update and that a card was included but it was missing. I did cut the network cable but put the new end on just as directions said.
exbailbonds is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 09:47 AM
  #15  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,400
Default RE: Garmin Dome swap - GMR 40 vs 41

exbailbonds - 8/3/2006 2:28 AM

Hello Glen E

have just installed the 3210 on my boat but i cant get my network to see the radar. Did you have any issues?

when i opened the box there was a piece of paper saying that my unit would need an update and that a card was included but it was missing. I did cut the network cable but put the new end on just as directions said.

I would call or email tech supprt and ask them. No I had no problem... it just fired right up when connected. If you cut the plug off you might want to check the connections again - do a search for "ethernet", it is very important that you get the wires really FLAT before you shove them into the new connector....
Glen E is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 10:00 AM
  #16  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
PLEDGER
 
HOTSPOT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 13,397
Default Re: Garmin Dome swap - GMR 40 vs 41

Did you pick up any speed Glen???
HOTSPOT is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 10:03 AM
  #17  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: S Fla
Posts: 23,400
Default Re: Garmin Dome swap - GMR 40 vs 41

HOTSPOT - 8/3/2006 10:00 AM

Did you pick up any speed Glen???

only when I wax it with woody.....
Glen E is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 04:56 PM
  #18  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 108
Default RE: Garmin Dome swap - GMR 40 vs 41

Found the problem i must have put to much dielectric grease in the network connection to the dome. sprayed some electronic cleaner in there and all is good now. Thanks for the advice.
exbailbonds is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread