Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Garmin/Sirius/Fusion

Old 06-11-2018, 09:13 AM
  #1  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 95
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Garmin/Sirius/Fusion

Hi All, I recently purchased a boat that has a Garmin 7162 and an XSV and is connected to a Fusion 750. For some reason, they connected the satellite radio to the AUX connection on the Garmin, so I can hear the XM preview channel but there is no option to change channels. When I click on the Sirius XM source it says "No Tuner". (The Satellite Weather is working fine).

Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated!!
Old 06-11-2018, 09:47 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: UsA
Posts: 1,476
Likes: 0
Received 331 Likes on 219 Posts
Default

Is it the GXM53 antenna? If so, the GXM53 black box RCA cables go to the aux input on the fusion.
Old 06-11-2018, 09:54 AM
  #3  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 95
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I have the GXM52 antenna
Old 06-11-2018, 02:02 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 937
Likes: 0
Received 44 Likes on 36 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by smilsom View Post
I have the GXM52 antenna
What halfwaythere says also applies to your GXM52. You select Aux instead of Sirius. Admittedly, this is confusing.

Note that with the new 12.00 software released today, you can link the GXM 51/52/53 to the Fusion AUX input. Doing so will show the Fusion audio controls with the SirusXM tuner controls on the Media page. You still must select the Fusion AUX source, but it will be renamed to AUX – GXM53 after the two devices are linked.
Old 06-11-2018, 10:19 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: UsA
Posts: 1,476
Likes: 0
Received 331 Likes on 219 Posts
Default

Todd,

How do you link the 2 devices, GXMxx and the Fusion Aux?
Old 06-13-2018, 07:08 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 937
Likes: 0
Received 44 Likes on 36 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by halfwaythere View Post
Todd,

How do you link the 2 devices, GXMxx and the Fusion Aux?
Note that you still must first select Aux instead of Sirius. Then with the 12.00 update, under the Fusion menu, you will see a "link to GXMxx" option. Selecting link will then show both the Fusion and SiriusXM controls together on the Media page.
Old 06-13-2018, 07:20 AM
  #7  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location:
Posts: 125
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

This may not be the issue but our boat had the "No Tuner" issue a year ago and the issue was the tuner connection. On the male side of the tuner plug the pins were receding and not fully entering the female side. It takes a fine pair of needle nose pliers to pull the pins back into place and they tend to pull hard. Fusion sent a junction plug to help correct the situation. If you unplug that connection you may see 3 of the pins have receded and if so that is likely your problem.
Old 06-13-2018, 07:25 AM
  #8  
Admirals ClubCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 95
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I updated the Garmin software with the new release (Version 12) and when I selected the AUX source, it asked if I wanted to connect to the GXM52 and I did and now it works fine!!! That option wasn't available with the previous software version.
Old 06-13-2018, 11:33 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: UsA
Posts: 1,476
Likes: 0
Received 331 Likes on 219 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Todd Driscoll View Post
Note that you still must first select Aux instead of Sirius. Then with the 12.00 update, under the Fusion menu, you will see a "link to GXMxx" option. Selecting link will then show both the Fusion and SiriusXM controls together on the Media page.
I did the update yesterday and see the new GXM53 option under devices. The Fusion is set to Aux. When you say under the Fusion menu, can you be a bit more clear on that? Accessing the Fusion menu by clicking the media button on the Garmin home screen?
Old 06-13-2018, 11:35 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: UsA
Posts: 1,476
Likes: 0
Received 331 Likes on 219 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Fish Tank View Post
This may not be the issue but our boat had the "No Tuner" issue a year ago and the issue was the tuner connection. On the male side of the tuner plug the pins were receding and not fully entering the female side. It takes a fine pair of needle nose pliers to pull the pins back into place and they tend to pull hard. Fusion sent a junction plug to help correct the situation. If you unplug that connection you may see 3 of the pins have receded and if so that is likely your problem.
The GXMxx doesn't connect the way a Sirius XM Tuner does. It is straight RCA cables.
Old 06-15-2018, 12:14 AM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Miami - Coral Gables (Islamorada, Abaco, GHC, Lucaya)
Posts: 969
Received 476 Likes on 253 Posts
Default

When using a Garmin GXM antenna, the SiriusXM feed is hooked up to the Fusion Aux input (as stated through RCA cables), and isn’t seen as XM which is why you don’t see a “tuner.”

The new Garmin 12.00 update is pretty sweet to now have the control on the 76XX series. You could change SiriusXM at the chart plotter before but could not see or control the Bluetooth feed. Now its all there and really convenient.


Old 06-15-2018, 10:40 AM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: UsA
Posts: 1,476
Likes: 0
Received 331 Likes on 219 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Todd Driscoll View Post
Note that you still must first select Aux instead of Sirius. Then with the 12.00 update, under the Fusion menu, you will see a "link to GXMxx" option. Selecting link will then show both the Fusion and SiriusXM controls together on the Media page.
Todd, what is meant by "under the fusion menu" to see the link to GXM
Old 06-15-2018, 10:30 PM
  #13  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: UsA
Posts: 1,476
Likes: 0
Received 331 Likes on 219 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by halfwaythere View Post
Todd, what is meant by "under the fusion menu" to see the link to GXM
Anyone can help?
Old 06-18-2018, 12:00 PM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 937
Likes: 0
Received 44 Likes on 36 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by halfwaythere View Post
Anyone can help?
With 12.00 software installed, go to the full Media page, select your Fusion device as "Device", select Source as Aux. Then, you should see a "Link GXMxx" option on the top half of the full Media page.
Old 06-18-2018, 12:56 PM
  #15  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: UsA
Posts: 1,476
Likes: 0
Received 331 Likes on 219 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Todd Driscoll View Post
With 12.00 software installed, go to the full Media page, select your Fusion device as "Device", select Source as Aux. Then, you should see a "Link GXMxx" option on the top half of the full Media page.
Toddd, really appreciate this!

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.