Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Help networking simrad products

Old 06-06-2018, 06:14 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 124
Received 16 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Help networking simrad products

I have the nss evo2 9” and the go free WiFi on my boat. I recently installed another nss evo2 7” in my tower along with a network expansion port and an XM weather antennae.
i have Ethernet cables from all the units run to the expansion port and need advice to link all together. I watched the simrad videos on YouTube to link the go free wi fi and I do not have the selection for a wireless connection on the original 9” screen, however do have one on the new 7” screen. I tried using my phone as a hot spot and WiFi to set up the 7” screen and it will not pick up any signal when I choose from the wireless selection. I’ve tried running the Ethernet direct from both units as well to the go free set up and have had no luck. Is there a particular order in which there need to be plugged into the ports? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Old 06-06-2018, 08:29 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,250
Likes: 0
Received 200 Likes on 163 Posts
Default

The go free is the hotspot. You connect your phone to it.

Is it powered up? The go free and hub need the yellow wire connected up.

do the Evo 2's not have built in wifi? I can't recall.
Old 06-06-2018, 11:37 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 294
Received 37 Likes on 26 Posts
Default

The Gofree WiFi module has three ethernet ports, so maybe buying an expansion network module was not needed. Try also installing the most recent software updates to all units and perform a hard reset, then power down the whole system for at least 30 seconds.
Old 06-07-2018, 04:25 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 124
Received 16 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
The go free is the hotspot. You connect your phone to it.

Is it powered up? The go free and hub need the yellow wire connected up.

do the Evo 2's not have built in wifi? I can't recall.
Wi fi has power. It will show on my phone, however cannot connection to the simrad. Only the newer simrad has a wireless setting to choose from and it still doesn’t show the device. Ethernet cables are wired.
Old 06-07-2018, 04:26 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 124
Received 16 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by hipath View Post
The Gofree WiFi module has three ethernet ports, so maybe buying an expansion network module was not needed. Try also installing the most recent software updates to all units and perform a hard reset, then power down the whole system for at least 30 seconds.
i have two Ethernet ports on mine, network one and two. The other open spots are the antennae and a spot for the power adapter.
Old 06-07-2018, 04:29 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,728
Likes: 0
Received 708 Likes on 563 Posts
Default

WiFi-1 has two Ethernet ports. Navico is recommending using only one of them, using both can cause Ethernet instabilities.
Old 06-07-2018, 06:18 AM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 124
Received 16 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by abbor View Post
WiFi-1 has two Ethernet ports. Navico is recommending using only one of them, using both can cause Ethernet instabilities.
I have one open port, have connected one of the units to it to see if I could get the wi fi to link but no luck. Any tips on connecting the gear.
1-9” nss
1-7”
1- go free wi fi
1-network expansion port
xm weather antennae
ethernet cables for all
Old 06-08-2018, 02:26 AM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North Texas
Posts: 722
Received 218 Likes on 78 Posts
Default

All 4 should plug into the NEP2. Don’t use the second port on the WIFi module as mentioned above.

That NEP2 will be full, no open ports left.
Old 08-07-2018, 05:10 AM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 124
Received 16 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

I have tried every which way but loose on connecting the units and have had no luck. All units aboard are updated with the latest software from simrad, and have spent more than a few hours on the phone with customer support and have hit a wall. Ive tried connecting all units to the NEP and or the NSS7 to the NSS9 via Ethernet and it will not allow the two to communicate. Any other suggestions?
Originally Posted by txtightline View Post
All 4 should plug into the NEP2. Don’t use the second port on the WIFi module as mentioned above.

That NEP2 will be full, no open ports left.
Old 06-25-2019, 07:52 AM
  #10  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Have you found a solution for this issue. seems like im having the same thing. I cant get my nss9 evo2 to recognize the wifi module.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.