Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

furuno 585

Old 07-22-2006, 06:10 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: wollongong australia
Posts: 15
Default furuno 585

haven't seen many reports on the furuno 585.is anyone using it yet?are you happy?if you run them in one kw setting do you need anything else other then the tranny.?i'm getting real close to buying one and was wondering what people think of them.thanks matt.
matt888 is offline  
Old 07-22-2006, 12:02 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Naples FL
Posts: 213
Default RE: furuno 585

Same here, trying to justify the 585 over the 620.............
brewski is offline  
Old 07-23-2006, 09:28 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fall River, MA 02720
Posts: 356
Default RE: furuno 585

I'm running one. I don't know what to tell you. I know its a world better than the Raymarine unit I was using. Easy to operate, clear big screen. It is coupled with a M260 Shoot thru. I ohave only used mine to striper fish so I can not tell you about deep water performance.
atom is offline  
Old 07-23-2006, 09:54 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: OIB NC
Posts: 2,160
Default Re: furuno 585

Great unit. I fished on a Contender this past Friday that had one. It was networked with a Furuno 1650 gps/plotter. The sounder I really liked-easy to use, easy to see in any light, easy to read the soundings. The gps was nice too but unbelieveably difficult to see with Polarized lenses on. The sounder was the exact opposite. Easy too see from any angle, in any light, with/without glasses on. I liked the networking also. The sounder had a nav data screen that you could dial up so you had a hwy view on your gps, nav data window and sounder window on the on the 585.

I personally own the FurunoGP7000F and the sounder on it is outstanding. I think that is common among Furuno bottom machines. Great technology.
originalsin is offline  
Old 07-23-2006, 10:09 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: On my boat
Posts: 1,569
Default RE: furuno 585

I upgraded to the 585 from a 600L and LOVE it !
I've been on other boats with Raymarine digital units and they don't come close to my 585 !!!
People who go out on my boat are allways amazed with it !
Raider Ron is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 06:13 AM
  #6  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: wollongong australia
Posts: 15
Default RE: furuno 585

Thanks for the replys .sounds like everyones happy.has anyone upgraded from a 582 ?
matt888 is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 07:37 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Obamalamadingdongland
Posts: 1,125
Default RE: furuno 585

Read about this before buying one.


http://www.thehulltruth.com/forums/t...111807&posts=1
bradmd is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 08:51 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: On my boat
Posts: 1,569
Default RE: furuno 585

bradmd - 7/25/2006 6:37 PM

Read about this before buying one.


http://www.thehulltruth.com/forums/t...111807&posts=1

I've had no problem with fogging at all!!!
But I have a pilothouse and the unit is inside !!!
Raider Ron is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 12:20 PM
  #9  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Charleston, S.C.
Posts: 346
Default RE: furuno 585

I replaced a 600l with the 585. Haven't gone past 130 feet but it did an outstanding job marking the bottom there. I have the tilted unit as a transducer (only 600watts), and can't utilize the 1 KW feature, but at 600 watts it is much, much better than my other unit which was 300 watts. Larger screen, better picture, and unlike my 600l...no fog on the screen.
John
lrobalo is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 01:29 PM
  #10  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sparta MI USA
Posts: 25
Default RE: furuno 585

I replaced a 582L with the new 585. I tried to use the shoot thru transducer but didn't work.... I ended up with a transom mount airmar 1000 watt transducer. The transducer is made to lower into the water.. Has 2 positions. I have noticed no difference in the positions so I leave it in the up position.

I am extremely pleased with the unit. I am able to see my downriggers, Thermocline and Bait. I am able to see the fish movement.

I too have experienced a slight fogging of my unit. I called furuno and will be sending the unit back after fishing season is done.

Would buy the unit again...

GoneAgain
goneagain is offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 07:17 AM
  #11  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: wollongong australia
Posts: 15
Default RE: furuno 585

thanks for the help.dont think fogging will be to much of an issue here as it rarely gets below 12 degrees(celsius).im thinking of the same setup gone again so great to here its working well.
matt888 is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 06:35 PM
  #12  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Jupiter, Florida
Posts: 235
Default RE: furuno 585

Which dealer did you get the MB1100, the Tranducer Matching Box?

CaptRobMaz is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 09:12 PM
  #13  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location:
Posts: 19
Default RE: furuno 585

Just took my albemarle 28 to the northeast canyons with my new furuno 585 with the m260 shoot thru transducer. Could not be happier with the machine and transducer. Went over the edge at the canyon and machine worked perfectly at 1200 feet deep. Read thermoclines and ever marked fish at a 25 knot cruise. Great upgrade from my raymarine 600 watt machine wich I still presently have installed and was able to compare units. Would recommend this machine. Unit reads well in sunlight. Have it interfaced with my raymarine units and get large navagation info on the furuno which is much easier to see while running.
joey
strikezone
strike zone 2 is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 12:51 AM
  #14  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Obamalamadingdongland
Posts: 1,125
Default RE: furuno 585

Just wanted to post an update. Got my 585 unit back from Furuno today. I'm planning on using it this weekend. The turn around time was only a wk and a day. Hopefully I wont have any moisture/fogging issues.

I also want to set the record straight for Bethel Marine Electronics. Since I last spoke with them they did contact Furuno on my behalf and Furuno authorized them to replace my unit with a new one. They even called me to straighten things out, and I appreciate that. My faith is restored in using a local business instead of mail order. Hopefully I wont even have to take 'em up on their offer.

I still think Furuno should consider covering the shipping during the first few (2-3) months if it turns out that an item was defective from the day it came out of the box. From what I understand, no manufacturers do that, but it's certainly a level of customer care that surpasses others, seems like the right thing to do---and encourages you to be a repeat buyer.
bradmd is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 10:33 PM
  #15  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Jupiter, Florida
Posts: 235
Default RE: furuno 585

thanks!
CaptRobMaz is offline  
Old 08-07-2006, 04:06 PM
  #16  
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Neptune Beach, Fl
Posts: 92
Default RE: furuno 585

To strikezone.. I have a Furuno 582L depth finder & Raymarine A65 chartplotter (without the depth finder), & a Raymarine Pathfinder SL72 Radar. I just hooked up the NMEA jacks to the
depth finder to the chartplotter in the driveway so it hasn't been tested. Local electronics guy says i can only send data in one direction so i opped to dend depth finder info to the chartplotter.
My question is can it be wired to send data both ways and do you know if the radar can be interfaced as well?
Thanks
Halacious is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread