Notices
Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By kswis001

Raymarine axiom 3D problem

Old 05-28-2018, 06:35 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 25
Default Raymarine axiom 3D problem

On the display in west marine the 3D display would plot out a chart of the bottom and build on that chart as the boat turned or covered new ground.. that seemed like an awesome feature. But now that we’ve installed and started using ours it does not do that. It only shows us what is currently under us. It won’t build on to the image if we turn around and scan new ground. Does any one else have the axiom with this problem? Does any one know a way to fix this? Thank you
Fisherman257 is offline  
Old 05-28-2018, 10:07 AM
  #2  
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 68
Default

Originally Posted by Fisherman257 View Post
On the display in west marine the 3D display would plot out a chart of the bottom and build on that chart as the boat turned or covered new ground.. that seemed like an awesome feature. But now that we’ve installed and started using ours it does not do that. It only shows us what is currently under us. It won’t build on to the image if we turn around and scan new ground. Does any one else have the axiom with this problem? Does any one know a way to fix this? Thank you
I am just learning my Axiom as well. Did you try and adjust the range on the 3D menu?
will40 is online now  
Old 05-28-2018, 01:17 PM
  #3  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 25
Default

Will40 I did, that just widened the “trail” if you will beneath the boat. It still doesn’t build a map. Does yours?
Fisherman257 is offline  
Old 05-29-2018, 12:46 PM
  #4  
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 68
Default

I believe mine does if I understand you correctly. I didn't spend a lot of time on the 3D display last weekend, Maybe I am not sure what you are referring to with building a map. I hit the follow button after I am moving and it creates the trail of where I have been and it allows me different views of the trail looking from the stern, to either side, or from the bow.

I have been troubleshooting the water temperature feature currently but I will surely take a closer look at the Realvision 3D this week when I get out and I will report my results back.
will40 is online now  
Old 05-30-2018, 05:43 AM
  #5  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 6
Default

When the Axiom first came out, it didn't leave the trail as you rode around, it only left a straight line showing what was under you. Make sure you have the most recent software update which added this feature.

Once you have the newest update, there is a setting to enable the gps tracking in the 3d section.
Amity83 and will40 like this.
kswis001 is offline  
Old 05-30-2018, 08:55 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Ct
Posts: 154
Default

The Axiom 3d does build a map of the bottom. If you run parallel tracks you will see that detail if you are close enough. Ray suggests that you do an overlapping search pattern go N-S then over the same area go E-W. Stay close enough that you overlap and you should have a good image of the bottom in that area.

Sounds great but there is a catch, this data is not retained for future use, it is not stored on the memory card and when you turn off the mfd it is gone. This is per Ray tech support.
scott06903 is online now  
Old 05-30-2018, 09:58 AM
  #7  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 25
Default

Originally Posted by kswis001 View Post
When the Axiom first came out, it didn't leave the trail as you rode around, it only left a straight line showing what was under you. Make sure you have the most recent software update which added this feature.

Once you have the newest update, there is a setting to enable the gps tracking in the 3d section.
How do I update the software?
Fisherman257 is offline  
Old 05-30-2018, 10:49 AM
  #8  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 6
Default

Easiest way is to connect it to wifi if available (can use a hotspot from your phone if you need to). Once connected, in the settings menu, select update and it will download the update file, then update itself and restart.

If a wifi connection is not available, you can download the update file from the support section of Raymarine's website, save that file to an SD card, then insert the card into the unit and update from that.
kswis001 is offline  
Old 05-30-2018, 04:05 PM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 354
Default

This feature is Sonar Chart Live and it is not a 3D feature. It just takes depth data and redraws the contour lines.
Your Navionics chart needs to be up to date and still active for this feature to work as well.
MikeBador is offline  
Old 05-30-2018, 06:44 PM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Ct
Posts: 154
Default

sonar charts live is a feature of the Navionics charting package. This is available once you register and select this cartography in the properties for that view. The 3d depiction is a Ray marine feature separate and apart from the live charts.
scott06903 is online now  
Old 05-31-2018, 05:42 AM
  #11  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 6
Default

I dont think he's talking about the sonar charts live option on the Navionics charts.

The realvision 3d on the Axiom will draw a live map of the bottom structure as you drive around in real time.
kswis001 is offline  
Old 05-31-2018, 09:25 AM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,741
Default

on the sonar page click menu, then settings, then change from "scrolling image" to "GPS track mode"
Amity83 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread