The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum

Go Back   >
Search


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-07-2003, 06:54 PM   #1
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 247
Default Yamaha digital gauges

Ok,

My speedo rarely works on my 97 ox 66 200. Once in a while works at 5mph, tried cleaning out a hole on lower right, no change. Ideas?

Also, my trim gauge never changes from 2 bars. Ideas here?

Thanks!
kynan is offline  
Old 06-07-2003, 07:12 PM   #2
CD
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Rumson, N.J.
Posts: 148
Default Yamaha digital gauges

Try blowing out the clear tube that hooks into the gauge. Most of the time, debris gets caught inside the tube. As for the trim, it seems like your trim gauge lever is stuck. When you tilt the engine up, their is a lever by the upper portion of the tilt motor. Spray the lever with all purpose white grease and hopefully that solves the problem.
Good Luck
CD
Regulator 26
CD is offline  
Old 06-08-2003, 05:12 PM   #3
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 247
Default Yamaha digital gauges

Clarification, do I blow out the tube from the back of the speedo, even if it looks clear? And for the life of me, I can't find that trim switch on the outboard!!!
kynan is offline  
Old 06-09-2003, 05:49 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location:
Posts: 1
Default Yamaha digital gauges

I am having a similar problem with my digital gauge. The gas meter (always reads full) and even, mileage. Certain people told me that it needs to be calibrated, but when I took it to a certified Yamaha dealer, they said there is no calibrating it. That it is a computer reading an analog signal, so it is distorted. My question is ....why even put a digital gauge on the boat? Chris
chris 1104 is offline  
Old 06-09-2003, 07:03 PM   #5
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Bluewater 2350
Posts: 1,385
Default Yamaha digital gauges

Kynan, the trim lever is located on the starboard side. Trim your motor up and look under there. You will see a black plastic lever. CRC that baby and all will be well. Just loosed mine up yesterday!

Chris, it most likley is not the gauge, I would first check the sending unit and the actual actuator arm in the tank. It often gets stuck. Now if you do remove the actual guage from the tank make sure you DO NOT use silicone anywhere near gas. You will need to buy some Permetex at your local auto parts store and make sure it is for Fuel when you seal the guage!


Mako Madness
www.classicmako.com
Mako Madness is offline  
Old 06-09-2003, 07:03 PM   #6
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Bluewater 2350
Posts: 1,385
Default Yamaha digital gauges


Mako Madness
www.classicmako.com
Mako Madness is offline  
Old 06-10-2003, 09:13 PM   #7
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 247
Default Yamaha digital gauges

mako, Tanks for the feedback, but I see NOTHING!

I have manual that shows the loop over the transom, but still nothing...is there a wire I can chase...? Isee the ones going to thetrim pump....??
kynan is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:17 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
©2009 TheHullTruth.com

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.9.3.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.