Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Simrad 4G “Doppler” Radome

Old 03-15-2018, 11:52 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: LBI, NJ
Posts: 923
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Simrad 4G “Doppler” Radome

Guys,
I know that Simrad Halo has Doppler available. But when will the 4G Radome have it?
Or does it already and I am missing something?
Thanks all!
Old 03-15-2018, 01:00 PM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Falmouth, MA
Posts: 5,856
Received 503 Likes on 324 Posts
Default

4g uses a different technology than halo and cannot get a 'doppler upgrage'

perhaps simrad will redesign the domes to allow doppler but that would be a new model.
Old 03-16-2018, 05:19 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: LBI, NJ
Posts: 923
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Ok. Thanks.
Does anyone know if they are planning on coming out with a new Radome?
Old 03-16-2018, 06:18 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,720
Likes: 0
Received 703 Likes on 559 Posts
Default

A FMCW radar expert posting at Panbo is stating it's possible with doppler processing for a FMCW radar like 3G and 4G. He has been doing this for military FMCW radars for decades.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.