Notices

Need Raymarine expert advice

Old 03-12-2018, 08:41 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Boston
Posts: 240
Default Need Raymarine expert advice

Hi,

I am buying a new boat and it comes with a Raymarine package:

4 a125
2 VHF 260
ACU 300
EV-1
2 p70r
2 i70
DST800
VCM 100
HS-5
2 RMK-9
Open array HD 4kw 48" color

I want to add AIS transmit and receive, and the FLIR M100.

One how is the factory set up I described?
What unit do I need for the AIS?
Can I add the M100 and how is it?
What charts should I use? I am coming out of a GARMIN 7616 set up?

Thanks!
ZBWcontroller is offline  
Old 03-12-2018, 11:43 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 339
Default

Just a question
Why the A series screens and why 2 VHF260S?
chocolatemoose is offline  
Old 03-13-2018, 08:09 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Boston
Posts: 240
Default

A series is what is already on the boat and 2 vhf, one on flybridge and one inside helm
ZBWcontroller is offline  
Old 03-13-2018, 08:49 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,741
Default

If it is a new boat then see if you can get the a series upgraded to Axiom. a-Series is discontinued.
Amity83 is offline  
Old 03-13-2018, 07:43 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Boston
Posts: 240
Default

Thanks
ZBWcontroller is offline  
Old 03-13-2018, 09:31 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 11,857
Default

Originally Posted by ZBWcontroller View Post
Hi,

I am buying a new boat and it comes with a Raymarine package:

4 a125
2 VHF 260
ACU 300
EV-1
2 p70r
2 i70
DST800
VCM 100
HS-5
2 RMK-9
Open array HD 4kw 48" color

I want to add AIS transmit and receive, and the FLIR M100.

One how is the factory set up I described?
What unit do I need for the AIS?
Can I add the M100 and how is it?
What charts should I use? I am coming out of a GARMIN 7616 set up?

Thanks!
thats some old equipment for a new boat...

whats pricing to have that package? it may make sense to forego factory electronics and purchase/install after you take delivery. that way you can also stick with garmin if you so choose.

raymarine has their products on their website so you can look at the AIS models

sure you can add the M100 but it will work better with the latest MFDs

charts are up to you, probably worth buying two and trying. i historically have used navionics.
mystery is offline  
Old 03-14-2018, 02:09 AM
  #7  
ML1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 33
Default

You don't need 2* VHF 260 only a second station on the flybridge. Send receive AIS is AIS 650.
ML1 is offline  
Old 03-14-2018, 04:35 AM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4,840
Default

4 a125's?
mstyle8517 is offline  
Old 03-14-2018, 08:30 AM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Boston
Posts: 240
Default

Originally Posted by mstyle8517 View Post
4 a125's?
yes two on the flybridge and 2 at inside helm
ZBWcontroller is offline  
Old 03-14-2018, 08:30 AM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Boston
Posts: 240
Default

Thanks
ZBWcontroller is offline  
Old 03-14-2018, 08:31 AM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Boston
Posts: 240
Default

Originally Posted by ML1 View Post
You don't need 2* VHF 260 only a second station on the flybridge. Send receive AIS is AIS 650.
thanks
ZBWcontroller is offline  
Old 03-15-2018, 05:33 PM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Maine
Posts: 993
Default

go to this http://www.raymarine.com/view/?id=5537 there is a lot of information . My last upgrade and added a 2nd MFD with a flir, I had to get a network switch sense I didn't have any ports to add anything else .
freddy063 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread