Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Garmin 3206 losing depth while running???

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Garmin 3206 losing depth while running???

Old 07-05-2006, 10:27 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Elkridge, MD
Posts: 517
Default Garmin 3206 losing depth while running???

Installed my 3206 back in may and had no problems reading bottom while running. All of the sudden it stopped reading depth while running yesterday. Made sure the transducer was clean, it was. It was knocked back off its bracket, I pushed it back and it still wouldn't read bottom. I adjusted gain etc. Anybody have any suggestions?
bigrockhunter is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 12:10 PM
  #2  
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location:
Posts: 89
Default RE: Garmin 3206 losing depth while running???

Are you getting the normal sounder display with a zero depth reading ? When you power on the unit, does it come up saying GSDxx status: Normal ? Is the status area enabled in your display so you can see any error message that the unit is trying to display ? What about the status of LEDs on the sounder unit ?
Cloud9 is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 12:20 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 3,914
Default Re: Garmin 3206 losing depth while running???

If "it" (transducer) came off the bracket and spun it may have damaged the cable.
Ludicrous is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 12:36 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Elkridge, MD
Posts: 517
Default Re: Garmin 3206 losing depth while running???

Unit is operating normal. It reads depth and then when I speed up it loses depth and then flashes the last depth read. I don't think it spun it wasn't completly off it was just in the up position almost like it is made to breakaway when hitting something? Does this make sense.
bigrockhunter is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 12:45 PM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 3,914
Default Re: Garmin 3206 losing depth while running???

Gotcha. Possibly bad placement of the transducer. Sometimes you have to move it around to find that "sweet spot" or clean water for it to work at high speeds. On some boats this can be difficult or impossible. Trial and error deal. Gel coat repairs on the small holes is not difficult. (it sucks drilling several holes though)
Ludicrous is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 12:48 PM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Elkridge, MD
Posts: 517
Default Re: Garmin 3206 losing depth while running???

Ludicrous - 7/5/2006 11:45 AM

Gotcha. Possibly bad placement of the transducer. Sometimes you have to move it around to find that "sweet spot" or clean water for it to work at high speeds. On some boats this can be difficult or impossible. Trial and error deal. Gel coat repairs on the small holes is not difficult. (it sucks drilling several holes though)
Transducer has been installed for 4 years without any problems.
bigrockhunter is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 12:55 PM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 3,914
Default Re: Garmin 3206 losing depth while running???

Dang. I tried. Bad transducer? Used to go through transducers like crazy in my bassboat days. They would hit submerged trees and debris, break them off the boat, get knocked out of postion all the time. Maybe try a new one.

Good luck. Let us know what the fix was when you figure it out!

If you went 4 years with the same transom mount transducer you have done well.
Ludicrous is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 02:31 PM
  #8  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Elkridge, MD
Posts: 517
Default Re: Garmin 3206 losing depth while running???

Any recommendations on a replacement transducer?
bigrockhunter is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread