Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Adding Bluetooth to Clarion Head Unit

Old 03-01-2018, 09:12 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 158
Likes: 0
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Adding Bluetooth to Clarion Head Unit

We have a Whaler with no Bluetooth. Our remote control to the Clarion headunit has a shot USB and 3.5mm input port in the helm. Rather than just replace the ports (or entire head unit), I was thinking about swapping the helm remote controller for one that has Bluetooth.

Now the dumb question, can I just buy a remote helm controller that has Bluetooth in it without replacing the head unit also? Will the head unit support a new controller (assuming plugs match, etc.)? I think our remote is a MW1 now but no BT connectivity...

If the answer is yes (I'm assuming it is), any suggestions on a good replacement control w/BT? It also looks like some places sell simple BT adapters that plug and play ($40 bucks versus $140). The concern there is if my MW1 controls will work with it and quality / range of the add ons... Input appreciated.
Old 03-01-2018, 09:16 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 158
Likes: 0
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

I believe our head-unit is a CMD8, if that helps.
Old 03-01-2018, 09:53 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: New England
Posts: 714
Received 177 Likes on 130 Posts
Default

You could use a bluetooth adaptor such as this one http://a.co/d8cCGZa
I've been searching for a minimalist way of doing music on my boat but don't listen to radio ever so a head unit doesn't add much. I like this one because it is bluetooth 4.0.

Option B http://a.co/cTNOCOW
Old 03-01-2018, 10:41 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 158
Likes: 0
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

Ditto, we have an old iphone loaded with music so we either play from the library via hard wire it (which works horribly) or use pandora (which almost never works longer than 10 minutes before it cuts out).

I ordered a fusion BT dongle similar to the one you posted. Hopefully it works. Will find out in a week or two.
Old 03-02-2018, 07:26 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tampa Florida
Posts: 6,545
Received 3,108 Likes on 1,779 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by StateRoad42 View Post
Ditto, we have an old iphone loaded with music so we either play from the library via hard wire it (which works horribly) or use pandora (which almost never works longer than 10 minutes before it cuts out).

I ordered a fusion BT dongle similar to the one you posted. Hopefully it works. Will find out in a week or two.
if that fusion dongle is the one that is wired to a 12v supply, you will be very happy. the small ones that plug into small jacks have no distance on them.
Old 03-02-2018, 08:22 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 158
Likes: 0
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

That's the one. At BT-100, directions show a 12v hook up.
Old 03-02-2018, 08:56 AM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Mandeville LA / Orange Beach AL
Posts: 4,421
Received 427 Likes on 266 Posts
Default

I have had very good success with the Fusion BT 100
Likes:
Joe

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.