Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Does anyone know how to import Saltwater Central GPX data into Homeport SUCCESSFULLY

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Does anyone know how to import Saltwater Central GPX data into Homeport SUCCESSFULLY

Old 02-23-2018, 01:54 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Oak Island NC
Posts: 2,184
Likes: 0
Received 811 Likes on 428 Posts
Default Does anyone know how to import Saltwater Central GPX data into Homeport SUCCESSFULLY

I've tried removing all of the single quotes, as was suggested, but I always get "An unknown error has occurred" message.
Old 02-26-2018, 02:21 PM
  #2  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I struggled with this for a long time and finally found the answer (at least it worked for me). Go to GPSies.com and sign up. Download the file from Saltwater Central to your desktop. It should be a GPX file. Now I know this seems redundant but....open GPSies.com and proceed to the conversion page. Convert the GPX file you downloaded from SC to a new GPX file and import the newly created file into Homeport. Make sure the "waypoints" box is checked when you convert in GPSies. I think "routes" is the default. I DID NOT remove the single quotes before I did this so I don't know if that will cause a problem or not.
Old 02-27-2018, 03:57 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: South FL
Posts: 3,523
Received 641 Likes on 391 Posts
Default

I have a similar issue with GPX files from Simrad to Homeport. I use GPS visualizer to convert the GPX into a GPX and that fixes the problem.

GPS Visualizer: Convert GPS files to plain text or GPX
Old 02-27-2018, 06:22 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Oak Island NC
Posts: 2,184
Likes: 0
Received 811 Likes on 428 Posts
Default

Thanks to both of you. I tried comparing the contents of GPX files from SWC and exported from Homeport, and manual conversion looked like a real PITA.
Old 02-28-2018, 08:21 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Oak Island NC
Posts: 2,184
Likes: 0
Received 811 Likes on 428 Posts
Default

Tried the GPS Visualizer, and it worked like a charm! No manual mods needed.

Thanks again.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.