Notices
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By NRGarrott

Airmar b175M questions

Old 01-21-2018, 02:32 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 124
Default Airmar b175M questions

I just installed a b175M for my Garmin 1040 and I have a few questions. It seems to read worse in the river (under 15í) then my 600w did. It also will loose bottom from time to time at this depth while I am on plane. My 600w never did that. Also in our inlet at a slow speed against the current at 15í it would not read bottom. Plug the 600w in and itís fine. I was not about to test it out in the ocean yet but I wasnít sure if because itís a 1kw it will not read as well at these shallow depths. I had a bead of 5200 around it that may have cause some turbulence but I just cleaned that up. Would a GSD help this issue? I know itís mounted in a good spot with nothing in front of it what so ever just not sure what the problem is.
eastcoastfloyd is offline  
Old 01-21-2018, 02:39 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21,773
Default

Is the B175 in the same exact spot as the 600W?


.
semperfifishing is offline  
Old 01-21-2018, 02:59 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 124
Default

Exact same location just on the starboard side of the boat
eastcoastfloyd is offline  
Old 01-21-2018, 03:43 PM
  #4  
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location:
Posts: 66
Default

Similar issues with the B175M when installed with my New Garmin 7600 XSV product. Replaced a 5200 series installed with a B164 and the GSD24. Worked well and never lost bottom on plane. Upgraded to the product mentioned above
..Never regained a lock on plane and even attempted installing a GSD in series as well. The B175 sits on the opposite side of my B164 installed in the lame location. We had attempted to plug my B164 into the new XSV product and now changes. Garmin was very helpful but bottom lock was never acquired again on plane at 25 MPH plus. Attempted numerous software updates as well. Pursuit OS315.
hwbjr is offline  
Old 01-22-2018, 12:37 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 643
Default

What interference settings are you running? Garmin will drop bottom in a perfect install at a high interference setting I have noticed. Try manually setting the lower depth also and see what happens.
NRGarrott is offline  
Old 01-23-2018, 05:24 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 124
Default

I will try updating my machine and the interference setting was on low when I was testing it but I will turn it off and see if it makes a difference.
eastcoastfloyd is offline  
Old 02-02-2018, 05:12 AM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: SE NC
Posts: 831
Default

This concerns me as I just purchased a NSS Evo2 and a B175M from Gil. My old P66 transom mount held on plane even at 50 mph+. Granted it was a transom mount and wasnt super clear but it held... I am about to drill a huge hole in my boat. I do need to see shallow depths often navigating somewhat shallow water (5'). Are the 1kw transducers worse at reading shallow?

Last edited by DOYAM; 02-02-2018 at 05:41 AM.
DOYAM is online now  
Old 02-02-2018, 09:01 AM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: CT
Posts: 1,486
Default

Make sure your 1040 software is up to date. The only problem I have is real shallow(under 3 ').
gundog61 is offline  
Old 02-02-2018, 09:06 AM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: SE NC
Posts: 831
Default

Originally Posted by CME View Post
Many times a transom mount will outperform a tilted element thru hole. I ALWAS TELL A GUY THAT. Its due to clean water being obtained from the LOWEST point off the boat and the ability to obtain that clean water by lowering the unit further below the transom. A hole in a boat is a BIG decision. When a transom mount works, I STICK WITH IT. .....In my opinion.
I was on the fence about a B175m or a TM275m I believe is the equivalent and was talked into it by Gil because he claimed I wouldnt get good/steady readings on plane. Thoughts?
DOYAM is online now  
Old 02-02-2018, 09:07 AM
  #10  
CME
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3,844
Default

do your software update first
CME is offline  
Old 02-02-2018, 09:07 AM
  #11  
Senior Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 1,482
Default

I'm on board with the software update. I have seen sonar performance change quite a bit when software is updated. This is not always the fix but is the first place I would recommend to start. If software is current then we may want to look into what the setting your running on the sonar setup as there could be something out of adjustment there as well.
Chris@BOEmarine is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread