Notices

Loran on garmin plotters

Reply

Old 01-08-2018, 05:48 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: SWFL
Posts: 2,315
Default Loran on garmin plotters

I have fallen into a ton of Loran numbers. Lucky me.

Each Loran # has a converted GPS number and I can see my comparing the converted GPS #s for a few public reefs that the GPS #s are off by hundreds of yards. Soooooo I was thinking if I switch to Loran on my 7612 (Settings-Positions-Units-Formats-Loran) that I could just input the Loran #s directly, navigate to them and inspect what is there.

Is it that simple? I've never touched Loran anything.

Presumably once I inspect each spot I can just mark the spot using GPS in the usual way.

Does this sound like the right way to go about this?
NEBassMan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2018, 06:04 PM
  #2  
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Merritt Island, FL
Posts: 92
Default

I have done it both ways. Need to have the proper offset and chain.
CanaveralOffshore is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2018, 06:12 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: DeFuniak Springs, Florida
Posts: 1,167
Default

If you have one or more "know" places in both loran and gps, you can compare known gps to the loran conversion with the Garmin. Likely most of the loran numbers will have similar offsets.
Sea-r-cy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2018, 11:01 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: SWFL
Posts: 2,315
Default

Ok, will figure out the offset between actual location and converted location and assume that applies to all converted points. Thx.
NEBassMan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2018, 04:17 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Central Left Coast FL.
Posts: 159
Default

Garmin offsets for west central fl for the 1 line...........minus 2.0
4 line...........Plus 0.2
Will probably be a bit different futher south.
Left Coast Retriever is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2018, 04:24 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: CT
Posts: 1,144
Default

Anyone have offsets for the northeast?
gundog61 is online now  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread