Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

SH GX1700 and NMEA 2000

Old 12-26-2017, 08:19 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 224
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default SH GX1700 and NMEA 2000

I'm a newbie with NMEA 2000/0183 networks. I have a NMEA 2000 GPS antenna that I want to use as an external GPS source for the Standard Horizon GX1700 VHF and other systems on the boat. The GX1700 has a NMEA 0183 pigtail.

Can this work? Do I need some sort of adapter/ converter to connect the GX1700 to the NMEA 2000 network?

Thanks!
Old 12-26-2017, 08:34 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7,484
Received 558 Likes on 376 Posts
Default

Actisense -NGW-1-ISO

Last edited by InternationalMarineBrian; 12-26-2017 at 10:21 AM.
Old 12-26-2017, 08:34 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 6,291
Received 897 Likes on 697 Posts
Default

I'm confused.
The GX1700 has built-in GPS - yes? so why do you want to connect an external source?

to answer your question, there is such a thing as a dedicated NMEA 2000 - 183 convertor device. such as

https://www.thegpsstore.com/Actisens...er--P3595.aspx

but what is the N2K GPS connected to now? I'm guessing to an MFD?

that itself may have an 0183 output
Old 12-26-2017, 10:15 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 224
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Don't be confused! I plan to install the GPS antenna with clear view of the sky, i.e on Ttop., rather than rely on internal GPS sensors buried in the helm station.

Garmin 94sv does not have a NEMA 0183 port that I can find (just received from Santa). It does have a NEMA 2000 port.

Just got a reply from Standard Horizon tech support. They don't have a NEMA 2000 radio, but they did mention the Actisense products as a possible solution. Looking at the Actisense site, it seems like the NGW-1-ISO, rather than the NGW-1-USB is the correct adapter.

Everything is on paper right now as I create the electrical schematics for this boat.

thanks
Old 12-26-2017, 10:30 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 6,291
Received 897 Likes on 697 Posts
Default

echoMAP 94sv:

Name:  Echomap_94sv.jpg
Views: 642
Size:  73.1 KB
Old 12-26-2017, 12:12 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 224
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

OK. Are you saying I can connect directly between Garmin and VHF? Garmin gets GPS from NMEA 2000 and makes it available to VHF via the NEMA 0183 Tx (blue wire) output?

Starting to make sense!

thanks
Old 04-14-2018, 04:27 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 397
Likes: 0
Received 94 Likes on 63 Posts
Default

tell me how it all worked out.
I planned on building a NMEA2000 network myself and bought a
Simrad GS25 antenna.
& Standard Horizon GX1700.GX1700.to network to my Simrad GO9XSE.
From speaking with Simrad tech thru email they said it "would" work if I installed the 0183/2000
converter BUT if I was expecting AIS to display on my GO9 maps then it would NOT work for that. THEN thats when I discovered the GX1700 VHF did NOT have AIS capability after all. I thought it did when I purchased it. Now I need to sell the VHF never installed and purchase a NMEA2000 VHF.
Old 04-14-2018, 07:31 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,741
Likes: 0
Received 51 Likes on 49 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by CamB25 View Post
OK. Are you saying I can connect directly between Garmin and VHF? Garmin gets GPS from NMEA 2000 and makes it available to VHF via the NEMA 0183 Tx (blue wire) output?

Starting to make sense!

thanks
Yes. No need for an external if your Garmin is located in a spot that gets a reliable GPS fix.
Old 04-14-2018, 09:18 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Southeast Michigan
Posts: 2,715
Likes: 0
Received 179 Likes on 147 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by CamB25 View Post
...Do I need some sort of...converter to connect the GX1700 to [a] NMEA 2000 network?
Since the GX1700 lacks a NMEA-2000 interface, if you want to get data from the GX1700 onto a NMEA-2000 network you will have to use the NMEA-0183 interface and a purchase and install a device called a protocol converter.

Using a protocol converter will bring more problems:

--protocol converters are expensive; they cost a significant portion of the price of a new radio that already has a NMEA-2000 port

--protocol converters have limited scope for conversion of data from one protocol to another. There is no device made that is universal, that is, can convert every possible NMEA-0183 sentence into a corresponding NMEA-2000 PGN, and vice versa

--the range of sentences availableis often limited in scope and must be chosen to have particular sentences, which are sometimes mutually exclusive, that is, you cannot get all the protocol conversions you would like in one device.

With regard to a DSC radio, the radio will output the NMEA-0183 sentences DSC and DSE. These are the most important data from the radio to be converted to the chart plotter.

Last edited by jhebert; 04-14-2018 at 09:25 AM.
Old 04-14-2018, 09:23 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Southeast Michigan
Posts: 2,715
Likes: 0
Received 179 Likes on 147 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by zash View Post
...I need to sell the VHF [radio that does not have NMEA-2000 and an AIS receiver, and].. purchase a VHF [with NMEA-2000 and an AIS receiver].
Yes, that is probably the preferred solution for your situation, since the radio you purchased lacks two important features you want:

--NMEA-2000 interface
--AIS receiver

You could add both features with external devices, but the cost of the devices and the clumsy implementation they would provide would not be a good solution.

An important aspect of trying to sell a used DSC radio: if the radio has already been set to have an MMSI, that radio must be returned to the manufacturer to have the MMSI reset. A used radio that already has an MMSI set into it is really another clumsy problem to resolve.
.
.
.
.

Last edited by jhebert; 04-14-2018 at 11:56 AM.
Old 04-15-2018, 06:06 AM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club MemberPLEDGER
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 8,326
Likes: 0
Received 166 Likes on 123 Posts
Default

The easiest and most cost effective fix is to sell or return the GX 1700 and buy the Simrad RS35 / Lowrance Link 8 VHF. They are virtually identical with the only difference being the Simrad is remote wireless mic capable.

These VHFs have both NMEA 2000 and a built in AIS receiver. And since you already have an N2K backbone, installation and connection will be plug and play.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.