Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Dual Garmin 76112xsv

Old 12-21-2017, 04:05 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 68
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dual Garmin 76112xsv

I will be installing two 12" displays 7612xsv. I will also be installing the GT51 transducer and the B60 transducer. The question that I have is it better to connect the two transducer to one display or connect one transducer to each display?
Old 12-21-2017, 05:41 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7,482
Received 558 Likes on 376 Posts
Default

I suggest one transducer to each and then network them. This way you have redundancy in the event that one unit is out or off for any reason.
Old 12-21-2017, 06:27 PM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Falmouth, MA
Posts: 5,808
Received 486 Likes on 312 Posts
Default

I would suggest the opposite--both to one display. this way you can split screen the two transducers on the same screen (either screen btw) if you so choose. if you put one into each screen then you cannot display signals from both transducers on the same screen at the same time.

in the extremely rare circumstance you lose a display you could move a transducer cable easily enough if you had to.
Likes:
Old 12-21-2017, 09:40 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Miami - Coral Gables (Islamorada, Abaco, GHC, Lucaya)
Posts: 885
Received 418 Likes on 224 Posts
Default

First thing is not to buy two 7612XSVs. Get one 7612XSV and one 7612 because only one XSV unit is needed to create the network. Once the NMEA2000 backbone is in place, the transducers will feed into that and you can run them on either or both 7612 units.
Old 12-21-2017, 09:59 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 22,440
Likes: 0
Received 1,442 Likes on 717 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by MiamiJay View Post
First thing is not to buy two 7612XSVs. Get one 7612XSV and one 7612 because only one XSV unit is needed to create the network. Once the NMEA2000 backbone is in place, the transducers will feed into that and you can run them on either or both 7612 units.
Sorry, NMEA 2000 cannot be used for sonar info....numerical data only.
But you are on the right track...the op can use a network cable (ethernet) between the two units..and share sonar images that way.


.
Old 02-02-2018, 03:49 PM
  #6  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 68
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the info. I like the redundancy with the two xsv ( more money I understand)

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.