Notices

Airmar r599 in a 35ST contender

Old 12-21-2017, 05:43 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: St. Amant, La
Posts: 641
Default Airmar r599 in a 35ST contender

Iím looking at the feasibility of installing an Airmar R599 in a 35ST contender. The boat currently has a B260 mounted under the console, forward of the steps. I want to leave the existing transducer in the boat. This will require putting the R599 either directly to either side, or just forward (on keel) of the current transducer.

According to the dimensions this is going to be a VERY tight fit, and Iím not sure if itís possible with the limited space I have to work with.

If anyone has done similar on a 35st contender Iíd love to see pictures.

Thanks,
Jay
JayLeto is offline  
Old 12-21-2017, 05:45 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: St. Amant, La
Posts: 641
Default

Picture of current transducer. Left is towards the bow.
Attached Images  
JayLeto is offline  
Old 12-21-2017, 06:00 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4,840
Default

Originally Posted by JayLeto View Post
Picture of current transducer. Left is towards the bow.
Why not pocket mount, I think the CM599? I just pocket mounted a r509lm (same elements as 599, I had a used one) in a 35 Seahunter on the keel pad, replaced a b260 and b258 with it. How much width is the flat pad the b260 is on?

I did a similar situation 2kw in hull like you want to do in a 26 glacier bay, the bottom of the sponson was very similar to that keel and it ended up working out well.
mstyle8517 is offline  
Old 12-23-2017, 08:53 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: St. Amant, La
Posts: 641
Default

When I looked at the dimensions of the CM599, it’s MUCH larger than the existing B260. It appears it would take a good bit of fiberglass work to make it fit. Do you have any pictures of your before and after install?

Thanks,
Jay
JayLeto is offline  
Old 12-23-2017, 09:50 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21,775
Default




semperfifishing is offline  
Old 12-25-2017, 06:53 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4,840
Default

Originally Posted by JayLeto View Post
When I looked at the dimensions of the CM599, itís MUCH larger than the existing B260. It appears it would take a good bit of fiberglass work to make it fit. Do you have any pictures of your before and after install?

Thanks,
Jay
Jay,

I don't have anything before, you can see what was cut out of the keel. Splashed the boat Friday and ran to Bahamas Saturday - Sunday. Deep drop bite was slow but the transducer helped immensely. Unreal marking stuff in 1400, 1600. No comparison to a B260. DO IT!
Attached Images      
mstyle8517 is offline  
Old 12-25-2017, 07:04 PM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 1,354
Default

So what's the trick to placement for thruhulls on stepped hulls? Trying to spec out a 36 Inv and there are no wide-chirp in hulls which is what they reccomend. Figure I'll do a R599 (in hull)for deep work and some thruhull for wide shallow work.

I can also say that at this point, anything is better than a B260. I removed a keel flushed one out of my Ricky and put a B275 HLW, it was like night and day... make the switch!
Lead Change is online now  
Old 12-26-2017, 05:07 AM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4,840
Default

talking about 2kw and up

On stepped, they've gotta be in front of the first step, no ifs ands or buts. If there is any sort of a flat keel pad forward of the step, you can pocket mount there and that will yield best performance. If not, you've gotta tank mount, as anything in this transducer class can't be external mounted due to size.
mstyle8517 is offline  
Old 12-26-2017, 05:27 AM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 1,354
Default

I'm not too familiar with the INV hull but I don't think there are any flat spots on the keel aside from the pad. I'll see what INV says but I've heard they only do in-hulls so I might be on my own for any kind of wide chirp install.

Sorry to hijack OP.
Lead Change is online now  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread