Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Transom mount ducer on boat left in water?

Notices

Transom mount ducer on boat left in water?

Old 04-15-2003, 08:26 AM
  #1  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Miami, Florida USA
Posts: 632
Default Transom mount ducer on boat left in water?

How do you handle growth ? Or is a transom mount out of the question for a boat left in saltwater? I understand there is a ducer paint for through hulls..

If can't transom mount would consdiershoot thru - would I loose some signal strength? Thanks..
rayos is offline  
Old 04-15-2003, 08:32 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brookhaven, LI, NY
Posts: 15,755
Default Transom mount ducer on boat left in water?

You can paint a transom mount with the same paint.

Birdman, Capt of

Scout Abaco 280 Click here!
Birdman is offline  
Old 04-15-2003, 08:55 AM
  #3  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Miami, Florida USA
Posts: 632
Default Transom mount ducer on boat left in water?

Thanks Birdman.
rayos is offline  
Old 04-15-2003, 09:28 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Moriches Bay, Long Island
Posts: 788
Default Transom mount ducer on boat left in water?

I paint everything except the bottom surface and if you use your boat enough, no growth.
Richie is offline  
Old 04-15-2003, 10:25 AM
  #5  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Key Largo, FL, USA
Posts: 593
Default Transom mount ducer on boat left in water?

This topic was beat-up a couple of weeks ago and the consensus, including the transducer mfg, was that a water based anti fouling paint should be used.
Gil Morgan is offline  
Old 04-15-2003, 10:50 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Miami, Florida USA
Posts: 632
Default Transom mount ducer on boat left in water?

Thanks again. Timely - heading out to get the ducer now
rayos is offline  
Old 04-16-2003, 09:28 AM
  #7  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Englewood, FL
Posts: 637
Default Transom mount ducer on boat left in water?

I do the same thing that Richie does but I still get a little growth which is no biggie......I just take a stiff bristle brush and brush it off every once in awhile when I am at the dock.

..............Booby

Booby Trap is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread