Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Can I connect two transducers to one gps/depthfinder

Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Can I connect two transducers to one gps/depthfinder

Old 12-10-2017, 07:44 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: SE florida
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Can I connect two transducers to one gps/depthfinder

I ordered my new boat with an airmar thru hull transducer connencted to a Garmin echoMAP 94sv. In addition, the boat builder also put in a transom mounted transducer even though I did not specify it. But now I would like to have the option of using either transducer since the transom mount will support the SideVu function but the thru-hull doe not spport the SideVu. Is there some sort of switch or will I have to manually do this on the back of the unit?
Old 12-10-2017, 07:56 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,706
Likes: 0
Received 54 Likes on 33 Posts
Default

Arimar does make a switch but not sure if it will work for you application. I would also guess you would have to find adapter cables to match to the airmar from the garmin plugs.

http://www.imarineusa.com/airmarsb260switchbox.aspx
Old 12-10-2017, 10:31 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,609
Likes: 0
Received 665 Likes on 530 Posts
Default

You need a 7608xsv or 7610xsv instead of 94sv to use two transducers.
Old 12-10-2017, 10:37 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7,482
Received 556 Likes on 375 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by fishingdds View Post
I ordered my new boat with an airmar thru hull transducer connencted to a Garmin echoMAP 94sv. In addition, the boat builder also put in a transom mounted transducer even though I did not specify it. But now I would like to have the option of using either transducer since the transom mount will support the SideVu function but the thru-hull doe not spport the SideVu. Is there some sort of switch or will I have to manually do this on the back of the unit?
To do this you need a 7600xsv unit and use the 8 and the 12 pin connections.
Likes:
Old 12-10-2017, 10:56 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 22,439
Likes: 0
Received 1,442 Likes on 717 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by fishingdds View Post
I ordered my new boat with an airmar thru hull transducer connencted to a Garmin echoMAP 94sv. In addition, the boat builder also put in a transom mounted transducer even though I did not specify it. But now I would like to have the option of using either transducer since the transom mount will support the SideVu function but the thru-hull doe not spport the SideVu. Is there some sort of switch or will I have to manually do this on the back of the unit?
abbor's suggestion is very good.

Anther option if you have room...and a lot less $ than a 7608xsv or 7610xsv is keep the 94sv and add a Garmin Striker sv for the transom ducer.
And there are also Garmin 74sv / 94sv units on close out most everywhere..they will work also.


.

Last edited by semperfifishing; 12-10-2017 at 11:16 AM.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.