Notices

OK to Mount Simrad GS25 Inside Console?

Old 12-07-2017, 02:44 PM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 480
Default OK to Mount Simrad GS25 Inside Console?

Would the GS25 work if installed inside the console?
Spacemaker is offline  
Old 12-07-2017, 02:47 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 1,893
Default

It should, I've mounted several like that without any problems, but you should test it first to make sure it's getting a good reading but it should read just fine even with a hard top above it.
mahimahi99 is offline  
Old 12-07-2017, 06:20 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 712
Default

Mine is mounted on my dash of my walkaround boat.......I have a large hardtop also......works great
boatymcboatface1 is offline  
Old 12-07-2017, 06:40 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 712
Default

If you look on the top right of my dash you can see it
Attached Images  
boatymcboatface1 is offline  
Old 12-07-2017, 07:18 PM
  #5  
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Long Island Sound, NY
Posts: 81
Default

Originally Posted by Spacemaker View Post
Would the GS25 work if installed inside the console?
I recently tested mine in several spots and ultimately decided to mount it behind/inside the helm. I saw little to no reception difference and eliminated the need to run a wire through the hull and to the hardtop. I may still decide to mount it on the hardtop though in the spring when the weather changes. Purely because thats where it belongs and not anticipating any changes in performance.

hope that helps.
Egrzan is offline  
Old 12-08-2017, 08:39 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 217
Default

Originally Posted by Spacemaker View Post
Would the GS25 work if installed inside the console?
I have my precision 9 mounted inside the console. Works perfectly
arich is offline  
Old 12-09-2017, 10:08 PM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Tampa/Clearwater, FL
Posts: 302
Default

Originally Posted by arich View Post
I have my precision 9 mounted inside the console. Works perfectly
The Precision 9 should be inside the console to obtain near water lever and as close to the center of the boat as possible. The Precision 9 has no need to be outside since there is no GPS component to it. The GS25 is a GPS antenna and should have a clear view of the sky but like mahimahi99 said, and he is THE BEST, it should work just fine in the console.
pmgia is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread