Notices

Mercury NMEA 2K Network

Reply

Old 12-06-2017, 11:05 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: PA / DE
Posts: 307
Default Mercury NMEA 2K Network

Anyone currently using their GPS / Fishfinder to monitor Mercury engine stats? I was going to get the MercMonitor installed but I am also looking to move to a larger screen fishfinder / GPS so I am researching units that will display engine info as well. Wondering what gps/ finder units you might be using.


thanks

Last edited by ermill99; 12-15-2017 at 10:22 AM.
ermill99 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 11:39 AM
  #2  
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 32
Default yes sir!

Originally Posted by ermill99 View Post
Anyone currently using their GPS / Fishfinder to monitor Mercury engine stats? I was going to get the MercMonitor installed but I am also looking to move to a larger screen fishfinder / GPS so I am researching units that will display engine info as well. Wondering what gps/ finder units you might be using.


thanks
I use the simrad evo3 and they can show all of the mercury info on them once I installed them with the vesselview 703. Any info can be on any screen... pretty cool.
Attached Images  
1BadHellcat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 12:39 PM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Pineville, LA
Posts: 4,808
Default

I believe the Simrad GO series units have the Mercury and Yamaha software built into thrm.
cwhite6 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 12:41 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: PA / DE
Posts: 307
Default

Thanks!

I was reading some more and as I understand it I can add the Mercury NMEA 2000 gateway, connect it to my NMEA backbone and the motor info will display on the plotter (I'm looking at Simrad GO9 XSE) that is connected to the backbone without the need for vessel view.

Once i get the boat winterized and covered I can work under the cover to run the NMEA cabling so I have time to pick a plotter/ FF.

Thanks again!
ermill99 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 12:43 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: PA / DE
Posts: 307
Default

Originally Posted by cwhite6 View Post
I believe the Simrad GO series units have the Mercury and Yamaha software built into thrm.
That is what I read, which eliminates the need for the MercMonitor and / or vesselView and instead the data displays on the plotter.
ermill99 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 02:33 PM
  #6  
Edd
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Inland Waters of California
Posts: 1,861
Default

I'm thinking you still need the VesselView Link.
Edd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 02:35 PM
  #7  
Edd
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Inland Waters of California
Posts: 1,861
Default

In partnership with Mercury®, the full line of Simrad® GO, NSS evo2 and NSO evo2 multifunction displays will soon receive a new software upgrade that adds powerful functionality with the recently introduced Mercury VesselView® Link module, providing boaters with fully integrated Mercury engine data combined with their chartplotter, sounder or radar display.'
Edd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 04:09 PM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: PA / DE
Posts: 307
Default

ok, so does this mean you can skip the merc nmea gateway if you use the VV link module?
ermill99 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 04:25 PM
  #9  
Edd
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Inland Waters of California
Posts: 1,861
Default

Originally Posted by ermill99 View Post
ok, so does this mean you can skip the merc nmea gateway if you use the VV link module?
YES just use the VVL
Edd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 05:49 PM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: PA / DE
Posts: 307
Default

Ok, Thanks again!

If I understand it correctly, I need the following items to build my NMEA 2K network

1) smartcraft cable (from engine to VV link module)
2) VesselView Module link (tie into NMEA network)
3) NMEA network backbone
4) Simrad GO9 XSE (tie into NMEA nextwork)

would also like to tie in my SH 1600 Explorer VHF to network

1) 0183 to 2000 adapter - I like the idea and peace of mind of a distress call automatically sending GPS coordinates / being able to see received distressed call locations on plotter.

Am I missing anything?

Last edited by ermill99; 12-06-2017 at 05:54 PM.
ermill99 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 06:35 PM
  #11  
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
Posts: 94
Default

You can do it either way. I have the mercury engine data on my Simrad GO 7. I use the mercury gateway cable that feeds into the NMEA2K network.

I chose not to go down the Vessel View Link path, for the cost of the Vessel View Link, I couldn't see the advantage for the same data to be provided.

On the Simrad, I have 12 items of data displayed in a 3 x 4 grid, all numerical, instead of guage looking devices. You can clearly see all lot of data this way

With the Simrad GO or the HDS 3 (I have both), I can use the Overlay function that allows you see (for example) RPM whilst looking at chartplotter screen etc.

You dont need the Vessel View Link, I think the data presents better using the gateway and the MFD alone.

Regards Adam
MadWill is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 06:39 PM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: PA / DE
Posts: 307
Default

Thanks Adam. That was what my research earlier lead me to believe. Thanks for confirming.

Can you view fuel economy and trim on your GO 7?
ermill99 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 06:47 PM
  #13  
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
Posts: 94
Default

Fuel economy - yes, eg liters/hour. Also eco gps eg gallons / nm. You can also get fuel used per trip, per season, fuel remaing in tank. (For these you need to add the EP85 fuel data manager to the backbone). About $80 bucks.

In relation to trim, I have a 350 MPI with Alpha 1 outdrive. It reads but is all over the place. I need to install a digital trim sender, costs about $200. Have to take leg off to fit though, so that will be after next service.
MadWill is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2017, 02:05 PM
  #14  
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
Posts: 94
Default

The parts required for my system are:

Part # 84-8M0105243 Mercury Gateway

Part #: 84-879982T20 Harness Assembly

Part #: 84-892452T01 Male to Male Adaptor (only needed if you dont have have the junction bx installed

NMEA2K Starter Kit

It was all plug and play, the Go 7 auto loaded the data when all turned on.
MadWill is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2017, 02:32 PM
  #15  
Edd
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Inland Waters of California
Posts: 1,861
Default

Just remember that with the gateway you can only view the Mercury data, but with VesselView Link you can also CONTROL it's functions.
Edd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2017, 06:03 PM
  #16  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: PA / DE
Posts: 307
Default

Thanks everyone! My main desire is the be able to monitor fuel efficiency/ economy. With a 70 gal tank and making runs to Masseys canyon, I want to see how much fuel I'm burning and at what rate.
ermill99 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2017, 08:28 AM
  #17  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: PA / DE
Posts: 307
Default

OK, most components have arrived. I just want to check to make sure I have everything. Does this looks right?




Last edited by ermill99; 12-15-2017 at 10:21 AM.
ermill99 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2017, 10:57 AM
  #18  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 984
Default

Originally Posted by Edd View Post
Just remember that with the gateway you can only view the Mercury data, but with VesselView Link you can also CONTROL it's functions.
Engine alarms and faultcodes also?
keizerh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2017, 12:21 PM
  #19  
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
Posts: 94
Default

That looks right to me. Did you get the Fuel Data Manager for total fuel used, fuel remaining in tank etc.?

You will still get gallons / hour etc without it.

Cheers Adam
MadWill is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2017, 12:33 PM
  #20  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: PA / DE
Posts: 307
Default

Originally Posted by MadWill View Post
That looks right to me. Did you get the Fuel Data Manager for total fuel used, fuel remaining in tank etc.?

You will still get gallons / hour etc without it.

Cheers Adam
Thanks Adam. I did not get the fuel data manager. Does that fall into the Mercury network before it ties into the NMEA 2K?
ermill99 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: