Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Where's best to buy NMEA 2000 components?

Notices
Like Tree5Likes

Where's best to buy NMEA 2000 components?

Old 12-06-2017, 10:47 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 312
Default Where's best to buy NMEA 2000 components?

Hi All,

I have a Garmin 840XS on order from SemperFi ... made the choice based on being unable to make a more complicated and expensive choice :-). Will decide later which larger touchscreen I want.

I need to put together an NMEA 2000 backbone - will likely use the 120-37 cable that everyone writes about to get data off the mechanical 250 Yamaha.

Where does everyone buy their N2K components? I noted there are different shapes for the actual fittings from different manufacturers ... which manufacturer has the cleanest, cheapest installability?

Thanks!!
stephenson is offline  
Old 12-06-2017, 11:31 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Pineville, LA
Posts: 5,145
Default

I used Amazon. A NMEA 2k tee and patch cable is same no matter who it comes from. The Lowrance backbone starter kit is a good one that is pretty cheap. The cable to connect to the Yamaha will need to be made for the Yamaha. You will need a hub also. Call Andy at SIM Yamaha and he can tell you everything you will need to connect your motor to a network.
cwhite6 is offline  
Old 12-06-2017, 01:40 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,777
Default

It is far cheaper to buy a NMEA2000 starter kit than the individual parts that the kit contains. It is like half or quarter the price!

Lowrance, Simrad and Garmin all have such kits available, and their kits include all the bits required to make up most basic networks.
Moonlighter475 is offline  
Old 12-06-2017, 02:02 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lakeville Ma
Posts: 5,077
Default

Hodgesmarine.com

I bought a Garmin starter kit there. Best price I could find.
Stickbo is online now  
Old 12-06-2017, 02:09 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
tcpip95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Posts: 2,192
Default

eBay.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Lowrance-00....c100854.m4779
tcpip95 is offline  
Old 12-06-2017, 03:22 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 312
Default

Thanks, All.

cwhite6 - there is a standard cable that Lawrence makes (120-37) that hooks direct to the Yamaha, then to the NMEA backbone through the usual method. I don't think this part is any more complicated than that.

My general question on components is that while they all work with the data the same, and the connections are the same, the outside size/shape of the components is not the same - i.e. I had read one report where a fellow got different components that worked together, but he was exasperated because they would not lay flat for his install. A common manufacturer should make the install cleaner and easier. Which one is most commonly used?

The other component of my question is simply a price question .... :-)

Thanks!!
stephenson is offline  
Old 12-06-2017, 05:37 PM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Pineville, LA
Posts: 5,145
Default

Originally Posted by stephenson View Post
Thanks, All.

cwhite6 - there is a standard cable that Lawrence makes (120-37) that hooks direct to the Yamaha, then to the NMEA backbone through the usual method. I don't think this part is any more complicated than that.

My general question on components is that while they all work with the data the same, and the connections are the same, the outside size/shape of the components is not the same - i.e. I had read one report where a fellow got different components that worked together, but he was exasperated because they would not lay flat for his install. A common manufacturer should make the install cleaner and easier. Which one is most commonly used?

The other component of my question is simply a price question .... :-)

Thanks!!
I believe I used Garmin tees simply for the fact I found them the cheapest. I am aware of the cable you speak. I was more talking about if you have two Command Link gauges like I do and you want to add the ability to connect to a backbone. To do that you need a gateway.
cwhite6 is offline  
Old 12-06-2017, 11:46 PM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,777
Default

Just dont mix Gamin and Navico T pieces as they have different offsets and wont sit flat. Thats the only difference in practical terms.

Other than that, either of those brands will do the job comfortably for you.
Moonlighter475 is offline  
Old 12-07-2017, 05:59 AM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Pineville, LA
Posts: 5,145
Default

If you do not need the long patch cable in the Lowrance kit, you can buy the tees, terminators, power cord and short patch cables cheaper on Amazon and eBay. I bought all of mine for probably half of what the kit costs. I didn't need the long cable as I had two long Suzuki cables to my motors.
cwhite6 is offline  
Old 12-07-2017, 06:12 AM
  #10  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Halfmoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 3,472
Default

Originally Posted by Moonlighter475 View Post
Just dont mix Gamin and Navico T pieces as they have different offsets and wont sit flat. Thats the only difference in practical terms.

Other than that, either of those brands will do the job comfortably for you.
Lowrance Ts and Garmin Ts won't sit flat too. Stick with one brand




.
pmgia likes this.
Halfmoon is online now  
Old 12-07-2017, 06:29 AM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 628
Default

The Lowrance NMEA starter kit worked fine for me with my Garmin and everything is flat. $59.99.

The Yamaha cable is currently $94.
rickboat is offline  
Old 12-07-2017, 11:42 AM
  #12  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 312
Default

cwhite, I don't think I need the long cable ... I will need the 120-37 and the components to set up the N2K backbone ... what is the really long cable in the kit for?
stephenson is offline  
Old 12-07-2017, 12:48 PM
  #13  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Pineville, LA
Posts: 5,145
Default

Originally Posted by stephenson View Post
cwhite, I don't think I need the long cable ... I will need the 120-37 and the components to set up the N2K backbone ... what is the really long cable in the kit for?
To connect to a motor using a port on the motor. All you need is the cable from your motor to the backbone, a backbone power cable, two terminators, a patch cable to your MFD, and three tees. You simply add a tee for every other thing you want to connect to the backbone. My network had six tees since I had two gauges, a MFD, two motors, and one power cord.
nsh likes this.
cwhite6 is offline  
Old 12-07-2017, 03:43 PM
  #14  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 312
Default

OK - so the long cable in the starter kit is for some form of generic NMEA plug on the motors? Do other motor manufacturers use standard (generic) NMEA 2000 plugs - unlike Yamaha which uses a proprietary plug?

Any particular supplier/vendor used on Ebay?
stephenson is offline  
Old 12-07-2017, 04:41 PM
  #15  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Pineville, LA
Posts: 5,145
Default

Originally Posted by stephenson View Post
OK - so the long cable in the starter kit is for some form of generic NMEA plug on the motors? Do other motor manufacturers use standard (generic) NMEA 2000 plugs - unlike Yamaha which uses a proprietary plug?

Any particular supplier/vendor used on Ebay?
Some people set up an extension of their network to a place close to the motors and connect the motors there. I chose to get cables that went to my motors that were long enough to make it to my console. Just make sure when you buy your components that you get name brand Tees like Garmin or Lowrance. Price them out, it may be cheaper now to just buy the starter kit. You can always coil up the long cable and use it as a shorter patch cable.
cwhite6 is offline  
Old 12-08-2017, 03:56 PM
  #16  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Miami FL
Posts: 3,060
Default

My suggestion is when buying Nmea T's stay with the same make - Garmin & Lowrance T's do not have the same positioning so when your mounting them some will be up & down and other will be 30deg or so lifted
pmgia likes this.
Castrohasanafro is offline  
Old 12-08-2017, 04:06 PM
  #17  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
creditcardguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Slidell, LA
Posts: 4,040
Default

Ok experts - is this what I need to set up the NMEA network from my 2005 etec 200 to my Garmin 740s?? Thanks.

https://www.amazon.com/Lowrance-Evin...ct_top?ie=UTF8

https://www.amazon.com/Garmin-010-11.../dp/B0030EMZYW
creditcardguy is online now  
Old 12-08-2017, 04:13 PM
  #18  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Miami FL
Posts: 3,060
Default

Originally Posted by creditcardguy View Post
Ok experts - is this what I need to set up the NMEA network from my 2005 etec 200 to my Garmin 740s?? Thanks.

https://www.amazon.com/Lowrance-Evin...ct_top?ie=UTF8

https://www.amazon.com/Garmin-010-11.../dp/B0030EMZYW
As long as 05's have nmea out then yes that is all. I had 07's and it worked great, well worth the small investment
creditcardguy likes this.
Castrohasanafro is offline  
Old 12-08-2017, 04:48 PM
  #19  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Virginia
Posts: 124
Default

Be careful because not all Garmin tees are alike. I recently found the grey Garmin tee does not align with the usual black Garmin tee. The grey Garmin tee fits the competitors tee with the notch at around 7 o'clock inside the connector. The black Garmin tee has this notch at 6 o'clock.
pooleman is offline  
Old 12-08-2017, 07:27 PM
  #20  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21,878
Default




For Furuno users..

A new NMEA 2000 starter kit from Furuno
AIR-033-745


This kit is used to start a NMEA2000 network. It includes an NMEA2000 drop cable (2 meters), backbone cable (6 meters), power “T” cable (8 meters), 2 each T-connectors, and 2 each male terminator connectors. All cables follow the standard Micro size used in the Furuno line of products. This flexible network can be expanded with optional items as your system needs grow. This is the recommended starter kit for all Furuno NMEA2000 compatible devices.

AIR-335-654 NMEA2000 Backbone Cable
(6 meters), 2x Female Connector

AIR-335-655 NMEA2000 Micro Drop Cable
(2 meters)

AIR-052-531 (2ea) NMEA2000 T-Connector,
Female/Female/Male

AIR-335-791 (2ea) NMEA2000 Micro
Terminator, Male

AIR-335-661 NMEA2000 Power Tee Cable
(8 meters)


.

Last edited by semperfifishing; 12-08-2017 at 07:35 PM.
semperfifishing is online now  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread