Go Back  The Hull Truth - Boating and Fishing Forum > BOATING FORUMS > Marine Electronics Forum
Reload this Page >

Question regarding Garmin chartplotter maps

Notices

Question regarding Garmin chartplotter maps

Old 12-03-2017, 10:34 AM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 31
Default Question regarding Garmin chartplotter maps

I have never been too thrilled with the map that came with my Garmin GPSmap 740s,

The map installed says "US Marine Detail G2". Is this the same as their Bluechart G2?
Attached Images  
ctmtb is offline  
Old 12-03-2017, 11:41 AM
  #2  
Admirals Club
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 60
Default

Looks to be an older version of same perhaps?

Can you get a map update to the current version?

That said, you probably won't like the current version either. I've been very disappointed with the accuracy of their product where I fish (PacNW). They are just way the hell off. I did get the HD update, so they at least look good if you're perusing them for structure, but for the most part they're just inaccurate.

They should scrap their marine maps and give folks the Navionics card option in their plotters. Sorry, I know that rant didn't help you out much.

fb
fishbadger is offline  
Old 12-03-2017, 12:29 PM
  #3  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 31
Default

Thanks for the reply. Garmin's website is so confusing but I'll keep looking. I agree though, Navionics seems so much better. And I thought Garmin bought Navionics so I don't see the rationale for them not being compatible.

The reason for my post though was that last night I was going to buy a Bluechart G2 map thinking it would be a lot better, then when checking what I currently have, I realized I may already be using it.
ctmtb is offline  
Old 12-04-2017, 06:22 PM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Falmouth, MA
Posts: 5,472
Default

you've already got bluechart g2. you can get an HD chip and it will add more detailed contours for fishing.

garmin just bought navionics so it will take some time to see how they roll that data out to the garmin units but it is obviously coming...
chainsaw42 is online now  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread