Notices
Marine Electronics Forum

Lowrance LGC-2000 and a VHF Radio

Old 12-02-2017, 07:46 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: California North Coast
Posts: 388
Likes: 0
Received 75 Likes on 48 Posts
Default Lowrance LGC-2000 and a VHF Radio

I have two VHF's on my boat. Both reading GPS data through my network. I would like one of them to be stand-alone with an un-used Lowrance LGC-2000 GPS antenna that I already have. The idea is if my network were to die off-shore, one VHF for comm, DSC, etc., would still have data. How would I wire this ? I do not have the installation manual for the GPS antenna.

Thanks,
Old 12-03-2017, 08:00 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Eatonville, WA The nearest neighbors are cows
Posts: 184
Likes: 0
Received 61 Likes on 44 Posts
Default

If your VHF is capable of utilizing standard NMEA 2000 output, then the answer is perhaps.

The LGC-2000 also requires a terminated and powered NMEA 2000 network. And since it has the pre-standard connector, the Lowrance Blue Connector, some adaptation would be required.

I still see NMEA 0183 using RS232 or RS422 on many radios in service. For these Radios ,the answer would be no.

A simpler way might be to buy a usedGPS with NMEA RS232 output.
Old 12-03-2017, 08:08 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 6,181
Received 844 Likes on 663 Posts
Default

or replace one current VHF with a model that has built-in GPS
Likes:
Old 12-03-2017, 08:16 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Southeast Michigan
Posts: 2,715
Likes: 0
Received 179 Likes on 147 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by ReelTime3979 View Post
I have two VHF's on my boat. Both reading GPS data through my network.
I am a bit skeptical that you have a "network", that is, a NMEA-2000 network, unless you happen to have purchased the two VHF Marine Band radios very recently. Typically a VHF Marine Band radio older than a year or two would not have an NMEA-2000 interface.

Can you confirm that your two radios are both getting their position data from a NMEA-2000 network connection?
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
Old 12-03-2017, 08:26 AM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: California North Coast
Posts: 388
Likes: 0
Received 75 Likes on 48 Posts
Default

Yep, everything is on a NMEA 2000 network backbone. Point-1 GPS (heading sensor), MFD, two iCom radios, engine interface, gauges, fuel tank, fuel flow, radar, sounder, and on and on. Yep, it's a network.

What I would like to do is remove one radio from the network and have it be a stand-alone radio with its own GPS antenna. I happen to have an LGC-2000 sitting here and thought to myself: "Wonder what it would take to have just a GPS antenna - vhf radio here as an independent communications device capable of DCS (etc, etc) without being part of the network". Redundant communications in case the network were to fail for some reason.
Likes:
Old 12-03-2017, 08:27 AM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: California North Coast
Posts: 388
Likes: 0
Received 75 Likes on 48 Posts
Default

And I thought about the radio with built in GPS. But my iCom 506's are new. Drat...
Old 12-03-2017, 09:44 AM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Washington State
Posts: 299
Likes: 0
Received 50 Likes on 43 Posts
Default

I didn't know any LGC 2000s (or 3000s for that matter) still worked.
Old 12-03-2017, 09:54 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 6,181
Received 844 Likes on 663 Posts
Default

since your Icoms are NMEA 2000, you can set one of them up with the LGC-2000

you have two choices/degrees of "redundancy"

- set up a new separate N2K backbone, with just one Icom and the LGC, and of course power and terminators.

or slightly less "redundant": add a Garmin power isolator to your current backbone

https://www.google.com/shopping/prod...SABEgKTnfD_BwE

on one side of the isolator is everything on your current network
on the other side is one Icom, the LGC, separate power Tee, and a terminator.
Old 12-03-2017, 10:11 AM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: California North Coast
Posts: 388
Likes: 0
Received 75 Likes on 48 Posts
Default

I thought about the second backbone with just the gps and radio, and I have all the parts (even better).
Old 12-03-2017, 10:48 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 6,181
Received 844 Likes on 663 Posts
Default

as KG7IL mentioned, you need a Lowrance blue-to-red adapter...

is this the one?
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Lowrance-NA...0AAOSwJa1ZtFqR
Likes:
Old 12-03-2017, 12:25 PM
  #11  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,546
Likes: 0
Received 645 Likes on 515 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by jhebert View Post
I am a bit skeptical that you have a "network", that is, a NMEA-2000 network, unless you happen to have purchased the two VHF Marine Band radios very recently. Typically a VHF Marine Band radio older than a year or two would not have an NMEA-2000 interface.



Simrad RS35 and Lowrance Link-8 started shipping early spring 2013. Garmin already offered a VHF with NMEA 2000 at that time
Likes:
Old 12-04-2017, 09:45 AM
  #12  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Eatonville, WA The nearest neighbors are cows
Posts: 184
Likes: 0
Received 61 Likes on 44 Posts
Default

I use my LGC-2000 on my black network by using the blue device to red/black network adapter.

It is select able by my MFD (HDS Carbon with internal GPS) They all seem to play just fine on a single network. The diagram at the end shows my setup.

The Lowrance Knowledge Base has a 000-127-04 adapter specified for Blue GPS (LGC-2000) to Red/Black Network.

http://support.lowrance.com/system/s...RTICLE_ID=2185



NOTE: I'll have to check the adapter part number I used since I mistakenly ordered the wrong one the first time for my installation.

But the requirement I had was driven my LGC-2000 connector and the Blue terminator.

These can be figured out using the Lowrance intelligent identifier.

Lowrance 000-0127-04 NAC-MRD2MBL ( Male RD/blk to Male BLue )
Adapter cable to enable connection of a blue NMEA 2000® device to a red or black network

Lowrance 000-0127-05 NAC-FRD2FBL ( Female ReD to Female BLue)
Adapter cable to enable connection of a red or black NMEA 2000® device to a blue network

Lowrance 000-0127-06 NAC-MRD2FBL (Male ReD to Female BLue)
Hard to find

I used the black network power cable for applying power to the mixed network.
Attached Images  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.