Notices

Powering Up MFD Out of Water

Old 12-01-2017, 02:05 PM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Tampa Bay
Posts: 4,664
Default Powering Up MFD Out of Water

OK, time to get my stupid question of the week in....

I know you can burn out transducers by running them out of the water, but for the shoot-through transducers that have the antifreeze in them, is it OK to run those out of the water?

Last edited by Commocean; 12-01-2017 at 04:07 PM.
Commocean is offline  
Old 12-01-2017, 06:21 PM
  #2  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
Marine Advertiser
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21,752
Default

The tank units will be fine.
But with most MFD's you can select to use the chart.. and shut off the sonar.


.
semperfifishing is offline  
Old 12-01-2017, 06:26 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 975
Default

Stupid answer of the week....

MFD shouldn't be in the water - :p

But on the more serious note, yes what kills transducers out of the water is overheating, if it's in a puddle of antifreeze it should be fine, and just like semperfishing says, you can disable it....
mickt243 is offline  
Old 12-01-2017, 06:44 PM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 1,741
Default

you can also unplug it from the back of the MFD.
Originally Posted by mickt243 View Post
Stupid answer of the week....

MFD shouldn't be in the water - :p

But on the more serious note, yes what kills transducers out of the water is overheating, if it's in a puddle of antifreeze it should be fine, and just like semperfishing says, you can disable it....
boating blind is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread