Notices
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By smac999

Raymarine hs to ng

Old 11-30-2017, 07:07 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 117
Default Raymarine hs to ng

I recently purchased a sr100 weather module ( Ethernet hs) and want to attach it to my c127 mfd through the seatalk ng network. I called a couple of marine factory outlet stores and got the overseas sales folks that wanted to sell me stuff I knew were the wrong cables. Need help on what I need from people who know. All my connections on the back of the mfd are taken so need to go through the network. Suggestions ?
sallysea is offline  
Old 11-30-2017, 07:15 AM
  #2  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Marco Island, FL
Posts: 3,311
Default

You can always call Raymarine tech support. I've found them to be very helpful.

I'm not entirely sure the SR100 will work with your display. The SR50 might work, I believe it has Seatalk ng built in. Ask Raymarine.
HDRyder999 is online now  
Old 11-30-2017, 07:18 AM
  #3  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,824
Default

If you ethernet ports are full. You're need an network hub. They make them both in hs and raynet (Assuming the product works with your screen, the above poster seems unsure).

No way to convert to ng.
Amity83 likes this.
smac999 is offline  
Old 11-30-2017, 08:20 AM
  #4  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Marco Island, FL
Posts: 3,311
Default

Come to think of it, I have an SR6 that I'm not currently using. It has Sirius weather built in and 6 Ethernet ports. I don't know if it works with your display. You'll have to check with Raymarine for that information.
HDRyder999 is online now  
Old 11-30-2017, 11:56 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 117
Default

According to raymarine it will work too. But the Ethernet side is not the problem.
Not sure what differences there are between an sr100 and an sr6 but they can't be much.
sallysea is offline  
Old 12-01-2017, 07:32 AM
  #6  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Marco Island, FL
Posts: 3,311
Default

Sorry, I'm a little slow at understanding your issue, It sounds like the Ethernet port on your display is already in use. If that's the case, I'd think you'd just add an Ethernet switch and plug everything into the switch. That's the way it's designed to work, anyway.

I suggested the SR6 because it has a built in Ethernet switch.

If I'm misunderstanding, I apologize.
HDRyder999 is online now  
Old 12-01-2017, 07:58 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,741
Default

You need an HS5 to get more ethernet ports. the newer HS5 uses raynet connections, so you may need an HS to Raynet adapter as well.
Amity83 is offline  
Old 12-02-2017, 07:27 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 117
Default

I may be trying to do something that is just not possible. The back of my display has one seatalk ng and two raynet network connections (circular). I do no have an Ethernet connection on the display. I also have an Ethernet hub that has six Ethernet female plugs. I need to get from Ethernet to the circular raynet or seatalk ng to communicate with the display. In reading related material on the forum, they talk like it is possible. Perhaps the sr100 I have is too old to make the transition. The tech folks at raymarine must be really busy, in several attempts of being on hold for long periods, I gave up.
Don't get me wrong, I love my Raymarine stuff and the forum has been the best source of information and central to buying Raymarine products.I never thought this would be this difficult, I expected there was a cable to go from Ethernet to seatalk ng and all I needed was a part number and price. But I have not found one yet.
sallysea is offline  
Old 12-02-2017, 08:11 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,741
Default

Raymarine calls Ethernet SeaTalk HS (High Speed.) For a while, they used standard RJ45 connectors(what you are referring to as Ethernet connectors) on SeaTalk HS cables. As these weren't very secure or waterproof and required large locking rings, they switched to using a new RayNet connector on their SeaTalk HS cables/devices. It's all the same ethernet, just different connectors.

You can purchase cables with RJ45 connector on one side and raynet on the other.
Amity83 is offline  
Old 12-02-2017, 03:17 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 117
Default

Thank you that is what I needed. The HS attached to both network designs was confusing. Looks like I need a rj45 to Raynet cable and a hub. Price for both about $342, still cheaper than the Sr150 at over $600. Oops I forgot, still have to buy an antenna and a subscription.
Good thing all this is under the console where my wife can't see it.
sallysea is offline  
Old 12-02-2017, 06:02 PM
  #11  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Marco Island, FL
Posts: 3,311
Default

You can buy that cable on ebay for around $50. I'm not sure you need a hub.
HDRyder999 is online now  
Old 12-02-2017, 07:35 PM
  #12  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 117
Default

Think so, both network ports are in use. so I need to unplug one, plug two cables to the hub and the hub to the display. I think.
sallysea is offline  
Old 12-03-2017, 07:07 AM
  #13  
Senior MemberCaptains Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Marco Island, FL
Posts: 3,311
Default

Why do you have an Ethernet switch if it's not connected to your display?
HDRyder999 is online now  
Old 12-03-2017, 09:28 PM
  #14  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 117
Default

When purchased the sr100, it was part of the package along with several rj45 cables.
sallysea is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread