Notices
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By abbor

Axiom pro 16 RVX

Old 11-30-2017, 05:47 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 663
Default Axiom pro 16 RVX

Any shipping date. Will it work with an M260? If so, will it run in chirp mode, or would I need a different transducer?
DIVER2 is online now  
Old 11-30-2017, 06:00 AM
  #2  
Senior Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 1,482
Default

Looking like these will be shipping out in the next week or so possibly. This is not a concrete time frame but is what we have to go by for now. The M260 will work with these units but will not run Chirp. In order to use the Chirp features in these units you would need a Chirp transducer as well. I would look into the M265LH as comparable substitute to the M260 with Chirp technology.
Chris@BOEmarine is offline  
Old 11-30-2017, 10:04 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,021
Default

The resolution in continuous wave mode (fixed frequency) will be losy so upgrading the transducer to M265LH will be a good idea.

M260 will be slightly worse than M265LH at fixed frequencies


Here is CP570 with B265LH at 160 kHz. Axiom Pro RVX has CP470 integrated.





Here is the same using low CHIRP


StevoWA likes this.

Last edited by abbor; 11-30-2017 at 10:18 AM.
abbor is offline  
Old 11-30-2017, 10:18 AM
  #4  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7,140
Default

Originally Posted by abbor View Post
The resolution in continuous wave mode will be losy so upgrading the transducer to M265LH will be a good idea.

M260 will be slightly worse than M265LH at fixed frequencies


Here is CP570 with B265LH at 160 kHz Axiom Pro RVX has CP470 integrated.





Here is the same using low CHIRP


These images above really show you the capability of CHIRP. The separation and clarity are awesome.
InternationalMarineBrian is offline  
Old 11-30-2017, 05:07 PM
  #5  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
OffshoreApparel.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,366
Default

Amazing detail in those images. The biggest thing I’ve noticed with the Axiom Pro is the speed and refresh rate as compared to the newer Simrads. The Axioms are blazing fast, where the simrad seem to hang up a lot.

.
OffshoreApparel.com is offline  
Old 11-30-2017, 11:49 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,021
Default

Originally Posted by OffshoreApparel.com View Post
Amazing detail in those images. The biggest thing I’ve noticed with the Axiom Pro is the speed and refresh rate as compared to the newer Simrads. The Axioms are blazing fast, where the simrad seem to hang up a lot.

.


All Simrad MFD's became faster and smoother with the update released a couple of days ago. The difference is really noticeable.

From the release information:
Improvements
Simrad Multifunction displays should appear to run smoother and faster with this software compared to earlier 56 and 57 versions. Chart redraw speeds and speed moving from page to page has been improved.
abbor is offline  
Old 12-01-2017, 04:33 AM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 663
Default

The axiom pro 16 is 1KW right, not 2KW. Is that picture from 1 KW chirp.
DIVER2 is online now  
Old 12-01-2017, 04:39 AM
  #8  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7,140
Default

Originally Posted by DIVER2 View Post
The axiom pro 16 is 1KW right, not 2KW. Is that picture from 1 KW chirp.
Yes it's 1kw unless an external sounder is attached.
InternationalMarineBrian is offline  
Old 12-01-2017, 04:45 AM
  #9  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 663
Default

What depth will I get to using the m265LH with the Axiom pro?
DIVER2 is online now  
Old 12-01-2017, 05:09 AM
  #10  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7,140
Default

Up to 2500 feet based on conditions
InternationalMarineBrian is offline  
Old 12-01-2017, 05:26 AM
  #11  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 663
Default

So for 3,000 ft I would have to go with a Seperate CP470 and R111LH?

Last edited by DIVER2; 12-01-2017 at 05:43 AM.
DIVER2 is online now  
Old 12-02-2017, 01:50 PM
  #12  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 663
Default

Any input on this
DIVER2 is online now  
Old 12-04-2017, 12:34 PM
  #13  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Fort Myers, Fl
Posts: 1,660
Default

You would need to move to a CP570.
veikx is offline  
Old 12-04-2017, 01:04 PM
  #14  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,741
Default

Originally Posted by veikx View Post
You would need to move to a CP570.
Not true. CP470 can output 2000w. It only has one module though so if you want to run two channels it switches back and forth and your scroll speed slows considerably.

CP570 has two independent channels so it can drive 2 2kW elements simultaneously.
Amity83 is offline  
Old 12-04-2017, 06:55 PM
  #15  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 14,021
Default

The difference between driving a R111LH with 1 or 2kW is minimal. If Axiom Pro is supporting R111LH without an external module you should give it a try.
abbor is offline  
Old 12-05-2017, 05:57 PM
  #16  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 663
Default

Originally Posted by abbor View Post
The difference between driving a R111LH with 1 or 2kW is minimal. If Axiom Pro is supporting R111LH without an external module you should give it a try.
Raymarine said I should get 5,000' and it would recognize it. So I think I'll go that route. They said an m265 would get about 3500'.
DIVER2 is online now  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread