Notices
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Amity83

EVO 2 Stopped Reading Bottom

Old 11-28-2017, 05:27 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 130
Default EVO 2 Stopped Reading Bottom

Have an EVO 2 running thru nema 2000 with a B164 with temperature sensor and the bottom function stopped working....anyone have this problem?
GTWillie is offline  
Old 11-30-2017, 10:33 AM
  #2  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 9
Default

Yes, I have the Airmar B164 running on my NSS12 EVO2 along with 3-D transducer which I was told by Simrad tech would work as long as the B164 was not a chirp. When I first set it up NEMA 2000 connection it worked but, would never read deeper than 400ft then started reading in and out. Now doesn't read at all. Was told by Simrad that the B164 is probably not working? Surprising as it work great while running on my old Furuno 585.
Overly frustrated. Ready to hire a tech to come try and figure it out.
Seaboy is offline  
Old 11-30-2017, 11:15 AM
  #3  
Senior Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 1,482
Default

Originally Posted by GTWillie View Post
Have an EVO 2 running thru nema 2000 with a B164 with temperature sensor and the bottom function stopped working....anyone have this problem?
The NMEA2000 network should have nothing to do with your B164 or sonar functions on the Evo2. Is the correct transducer selected in the echo sounder installation setup? There should be two options for the B164 in the transducer list. B164(5K) and B164(10K). I would make sure you have the correct transducer selected there. The difference between the 5k and 10k should only effect your Temp readings, but if the transducer is set as unknown or generic then that could be part of the problem. I would also try running the latest software update through your display. You never know what that may help clean up.

* Backup your waypoints before running the update just in case. Every so often we hear about stories of them being deleted. While this usually is not an issue its better to be safe and back them up.
Chris@BOEmarine is offline  
Old 11-30-2017, 11:22 AM
  #4  
Senior Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 1,482
Default

Originally Posted by Seaboy View Post
Yes, I have the Airmar B164 running on my NSS12 EVO2 along with 3-D transducer which I was told by Simrad tech would work as long as the B164 was not a chirp. When I first set it up NEMA 2000 connection it worked but, would never read deeper than 400ft then started reading in and out. Now doesn't read at all. Was told by Simrad that the B164 is probably not working? Surprising as it work great while running on my old Furuno 585.
Overly frustrated. Ready to hire a tech to come try and figure it out.
Are you trying to connect the B164 to the Evo2 via NMEA2000? If so I would recommend using the 7-Pin bare wire adapter available from Airmar. I am not aware of the B164 transducers being compatible with connecting via NMEA2000 as they are not "smart transducers". Airmar also makes a splice box for connecting bare wire transducers to pigtail adapters that will make the connection process easier.
Chris@BOEmarine is offline  
Old 11-30-2017, 12:57 PM
  #5  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 9
Default

Chris, thanks for the reply and help. I tried both B164 5K & 10K installations and nothing? My mistake on connection. I purchased a splice box from airmar and connected straight to the unit not via nema. Any other help would be welcomed.
Seaboy is offline  
Old 11-30-2017, 01:18 PM
  #6  
Senior Member Admiral's Club Member
THT sponsor
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 1,482
Default

I would double check the connections and verify everything is connected properly and has solid contact. I know the shield wires can be a bit tricky to decipher sometimes and its always possible something may have wiggled out a little bit over time. I hate to be that guy to say check your connections, but it is the most common cause we see in spliced transducers not performing properly.

*Airmar is an absolutely great resource for working out these issues as well. I would highly recommend contacting them while on the boat trouble shooting this as they are a wealth of great advice and information. Please let us know how you make out with these issues after checking the wiring and confirming color connections with Airmar.
Chris@BOEmarine is offline  
Old 11-30-2017, 02:13 PM
  #7  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 9
Default

Sound advice thanks, I'll do just that. Yes, Airmar is great and Jen is a personal friend that can always be counted on plus a world of knowledge
Would you advise welding the wire connections?
Seaboy is offline  
Old 11-30-2017, 05:05 PM
  #8  
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 75
Default

ok so it was working and then stopped correct? the 5k and 10k settings in the transducer install menu impact temperature and nothing else, 5k if original blue connector Lowrance/SimRad version of b164, use 10k setting for anyone else's. have you tried changing from 200khz to 50khz and is there any change? Try setting range manually to one step deeper than what bottom should be (so if in 15ft go 0-20ft), then start increasing gain, do you see anything around where the bottom should be and/or are you at least getting noise in the water column?
SeaSwirler is offline  
Old 12-01-2017, 04:08 AM
  #9  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 9
Default

Correct. I've tried everyone one of these also and nada. I'll try the connections and see if that's the reason. Thx
Seaboy is offline  
Old 12-01-2017, 01:52 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,741
Default

have you tried switching to 50kHz when going deep?
GTWillie likes this.
Amity83 is offline  
Old 12-02-2017, 09:59 AM
  #11  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 9
Default

Yes, I did when it was reading and was having trouble reading deeper than 400 Ft. The only thing I can think of that Chris brought up was about checking the connections in the switch box.
Seaboy is offline  
Old 12-04-2017, 04:08 AM
  #12  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 130
Default

Thanks for the response...will be checking this weekend
GTWillie is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread