Notices
Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By 50c
  • 1 Post By bwstein

C12 Cats and NMEA2K interface

Old 11-27-2017, 10:10 AM
  #1  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Gibsons, BC Canada
Posts: 232
Default C12 Cats and NMEA2K interface

I am looking at a boat with C12 Cats (2007) and can't find if these motors have NMEA 2K interfaces, or do I need to use a Noland RS11 or equivalent?

Thanks,
Blues Traveler is offline  
Old 11-27-2017, 02:37 PM
  #2  
50c
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: phila,pa,usa
Posts: 83
Default

Does the boat have the CAT MPD's for the gauges?
If yes, then the engines are outputting J1939 which can be converted to N2K. We used Maretron J2k100 converter boxes along with a Maretron "Y" adapter. Unplug the 12 pin Deutch plug (female) from the MPD, plug that plug into the male plug socket on adapter cable, plug the Maretron female plug into the MPD, plug the N2k plug into J2k100, attach N2K drop to J2k100. It was relatively easy to setup our Simrad EVO2's and IS35's to display the CAT data. If the engines have the older CAT EMS gauge panels the communication is via CDL (CAT Data Link) there may be a converter, can't help as I haven't researched CDL. There are some good threads on THT about converting J1939 and also converting from analog senders/gauges.

You can learn a lot from this CAT document about their various electronic gauges, etc.
http://s7d2.scene7.com/is/content/Ca...13-53120-37605
Maretron 12 pin Deutch adapter for CAT
https://www.maretron.com/support/kno...cle.php?id=306
wkearney99 likes this.
50c is offline  
Old 04-04-2018, 05:41 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bethesda, MD, USA
Posts: 550
Default

So it's one J2K100 bridge ($395) and one MCF-2M-D12CAT Y-cable ($110) for EACH engine, correct? That gets spendy in a hurry. Any other options out there?
wkearney99 is offline  
Old 04-05-2018, 03:47 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Cape May Point, NJ
Posts: 501
Default

As far as I know, the solution presented by 50C above is the only way to do it. I would have liked to do it for our 3196's, but not worth $1000 to me.
kurtzr is offline  
Old 04-05-2018, 10:34 AM
  #5  
50c
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: phila,pa,usa
Posts: 83
Default

Garmin has some MFD's that now have a J1939 port, not sure if there are 1 or 2 J1939 ports included. Once 1 manufacturer adds something like this they all will have to match, the $2000 in conversion parts should go a long way towards the purchase of an MFD.
50c is offline  
Old 05-04-2018, 04:29 PM
  #6  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 95
Default

Originally Posted by wkearney99 View Post
So it's one J2K100 bridge ($395) and one MCF-2M-D12CAT Y-cable ($110) for EACH engine, correct? That gets spendy in a hurry. Any other options out there?
I'm the US distributor for Yacht Devices. You could use a Yacht Devices YDEG-04N at $199 and a Cat Display cable per engine at $39 for a total of $238 per engine. Let me know if you need any help putting this all together.

Ben
wkearney99 likes this.
bwstein is offline  
Old 05-04-2018, 09:41 PM
  #7  
Admirals Club Admiral's Club Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,836
Default

Originally Posted by wkearney99 View Post
That gets spendy in a hurry. Any other options out there?
yah, keep the current gauges instead of trying to install gimmicky stuff you don't need. leave the plotter space for charts
smac999 is offline  
Old 05-05-2018, 10:58 AM
  #8  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bethesda, MD, USA
Posts: 550
Default

The existing Cat displays are hard to read. They're black & white, low-res and have a terrible contrast angle. I mean, you can see the data, but there's many easier ways to keep tabs on things since these came out. That and whoever programmed them before didn't set them both up the same, so you can't easily scan them to detect engine status. I've got the Cat screen setup software to design new pages, but I'll still have to get a Cat tech to upload it. Which I may do since they need firmware updates anyway. But that'll only give me equally configured but still hard to read screens. So not really much progress.

I've got two engines and two helm stations. So that's four chartplotters and four engine displays. It'd be pretty spendy to replace chartplotters just to get engine data on the bus. That and I'm a bit leery of how Garmin's been handling the marine market lately.
wkearney99 is offline  
Old 05-06-2018, 06:48 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bethesda, MD, USA
Posts: 550
Default

Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
yah, keep the current gauges instead of trying to install gimmicky stuff you don't need. leave the plotter space for charts
I have two 12" displays at each helm position. I'm not lacking for space to see charts. That and I'm probably going to use a separate 4" type of display to rotate through some pages of data. I'll be replacing the two black & white B&G displays on the lower helm. The upper already has a pair of color B&G Triton displays.


wkearney99 is offline  
Old 05-06-2018, 08:25 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bethesda, MD, USA
Posts: 550
Default

Kinda like this pic from a longer youtube clip. Not these specific values, of course, but perhaps a combination of similar data boxes on pages set to automatically rotate.

Using a digital screen would offer a lot more flexibility on how to show the data.

In my last boat it was nice having old-school analog gauges for rpm, oil and water temps. All you needed to do was scan for the needle positions. Especially when they were set up flanking the chart plotter. Scan oil, temp, rpm from the port gauges, depth & speed on the plotter, then oil, temp and rpm for starboard. All along one plane, at an angle only slightly lower than watching the water.

Right now I've got too much engine data only visible when looking almost straight down at it, which is then not presented in a quickly scannable format. Made worse by requiring the bifocal section of my glasses. Moving some of it up to displays alongside the plotters would be helpful. It'd also let anyone else onboard, that knows what they're seeing, to help. My wife's familiar enough with engine data to be helpful in keeping a watchful eye. Can't do that at all with the current set of Cat screens being down on the lower part of the panel.



www.youtube.com/watch?v=bXIVl59x36Y
wkearney99 is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread